We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

With a small noisy room in the basement and not very nice breakfast on the roof terrace, there isn't much nice to say about the experience at the hotel. It doesn't have much to offer by way of entertainment / dining either so we only came back to sleep really. The staff are nice and were very helpful by way of telling you things to do etc. It's also got a very charming traditional style/look and the location is in a safe neighbourhood in the nice part of town yet a 25min walking distance away from Medina and Jemma el-Fna square and the souk markets.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    235
    92
    41
    18
See reviews for
67
210
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We are actually at the hotel now been here since tuesday arrived at 6 pm we were told by hotel staff we couldnt eat there as we have to book 24 hours in advance !! We asked to change money we were told no we dont change money !!! We were taken to our room which i can only describe as a brothel type room it is freezing the drapes around the beds stink the room is in desperate need of a good clean the breakfast isnt to good and the room is freezing we returned back at the hotel yesterday to find my friend has had expensive makeup stolen out of her makeup bag we reported it to reception who called the cleaner she was shouting in morroccan we have called our travel company who want us to call the police the hotel staff and manager are not interested they dont want to know we dont leave until saturday night we have tried getting flights home today but none are available we have told the reception if the makeup isnt returned in 2 hours we are calling the police. Hate the hotel and the lousy staff would never return here or recommend it to my worst enemy x

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am really impressed with this hotel.
The staff greeted us well on arrival and they could not of possibly been more friendly throughout our stay. After we checked in the security guard took our cases and us up to our room and explained how everything worked and where everything was in the hotel.
The moroccan themed rooms are of a great size with the beds being four poster. The rooms are very clean and well looked after by the maids.
Breakfast in this hotel is served on the roof where you have the choice to eat inside in a Moroccan themed tent-like room or to eat out in the open in the sunshine. There is a wide choice of food for breakfast (no fry up though, but no issue for us). All the choices are very nice and filling, so you go out on the town full of energy. We chose to eat in the sunshine most mornings as it was nice and warm, which was very scenic as we gazed over at the mountains in the distance.
Dinner (if you go half board) is a set menu, different every night, of Moroccan style food. This is served downstairs in the restaurant. Every night was a delicious meal, which from me is good as I am a fussy eater.
Also in this hotel is the spa in the basement, which my wife visited for an hour long massage, which she thoroughly enjoyed.
The hotel has a medium sized pool, but due to the time of year it was a bit on the chilly side so we didn't use it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Moroccan House Hotel is a clean and well managed budget location. We were well greeted on arrival and shown to our 5th floor room, it was clean and well presented with a doulble and single 4 poster. The decour was dated, but we had not booked here to languish in our room so was functional and was adequate for our needs.
Breakfast was a buffet eaten under canvas on the roof or outside in the sun ( but not when we went in January as far to cold). Plenty of choice which included omletes on demand and plenty of mint tea.
We also ate dinner which was 5 courses each night of the fixed menu, this did open us up to food we probably would have stayed away from so was eye opening.
The staff were very helpful particularly when on our last night we found we had handed our return flight details in on our arrival as on the reverse of our accomadation voucher. After a few calls by the reception the confirmation was brought to our room.
Only down side was further than I had expected from the Medina, was a twenty minute walk as oppossed to a ten minute as I expected.

All in all very reasonable for price

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very characterful hotel! Rich in colour and style ..in a twin room we had a double and single fourposter bed with lacy drapes and hand-painted Moroccan furniture, slightly overdressed but very exotic.
We used this as a base for a week in Marrakech. The location is in a relatively quiet street, in the 1930's new town area. The Medina easy to reach, walking, or on the local bus (No 1) or by taxi, though we never needed one, there were plenty available. The Majorelle Gardens (designed for Yves St Laurent) are 10 mins walk away too. Local shops ranging from boutiques to sell everything corner shops, indoor market, restaurants and bars etc all a few minutes away.

We stayed here on a half board basis - thinking we would eat out on several evenings - we ate out only once. The 5 course evening meal was excellent, and the chef went to great lengths to cater for my friend's gluten free,coeliac diet.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and relaxed enough to make the welcome genuine, making it a place you want to go back to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week over Christmas. The hotel is decorated throughout in the style of 1001 Arabian nights with painted wood and wrought iron everywhere you look. It is slightly tired looking in places however and would benefit from some TLC in certain areas to freshen it up.

We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room had a double and single four poster bed with drapes. The bathroom and plumbing worked fine and the chambermaids did a good job everyday. The lighting in the room wasn't very good and lack of a bedside light made it impossible to read in the single bed. We could also have done with more space to lay stuff out but we managed ok with the storage there was. The TV worked fine and the BBC news channel was very welcome.

Breakfast was served on the roof and was a help yourself unlimited buffet operation with a good selection of the usual stuff plus eggs and omelettes cooked to order from a griddle by the staff.

We had dinner the first night and the cost was 159 dhirams for 5 courses. The food was ok but I wouldn't recommend it for every night as there are plenty of interesting places nearby to eat at similar or cheaper prices.

We liked the location of the hotel. It was easy to get to the main square by taking the No 1 bus which only cost 4 dhirams per trip (pay the driver as you get on). We didn't use the Hamam or the pool so can't comment on those. The Majorelle Gardens is only a short walk away and is a must see for Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a twin room as it was the joining point for our Intrepid trip. The decor in the foyer is amazing. Breakfast was convenient on the rooftop terrace offering quite a selection. We took advantage of visiting the hammam on the lower floor which was a treat (catch the lift down). It is not in the Medina but cafes are within walking distance and there is a taxi rank in the same street. There is a corner store for snacks and water opposite the hotel and there are ATMs on the main street just a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#253 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#399 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#203 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#366 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ryad Mogador Hotel
Ryad Mogador Hotel
#425 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#271 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.