We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moroccan House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and it proved an absolutely perfect base for all of our travels. Yes there a few things that could be updated in the rooms but by and large the hotel has a beautiful interior and ticked all of the boxes for people that want somewhere that is not a chain or soulless home away from home experience. Staff were very friendly and helped with restaurant booking, trip booking, etc.

It is a little distance from the old town but as two single women travelling, we felt the location was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    208
    83
    33
    16
See reviews for
61
190
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel as part of a holiday booked via The Adventure Company. We stayed for three nights and found it a good alternative to the characterless international hotel chains. The rooms were acceptable, there was plenty of hot water for showers (something not be assumed in Morooco) and there was a chef making fresh omellettes at breakfast. Staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

It is about 20 mins leisurely walk to the gate into the old town.

Past reviewers have criticised the hotel and indeed their comments about the building and its surroundings are factually correct. However it is important to set your expectations depending on the price and the country. This is Morocco, a north African country. If you want Hilton style accomodation, go to a Hilton. I would prefer to return to the Moroccan House Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 on the first floor was OK for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked this hotel for a short 3 night break, 4 rooms for people. Lets get the negatives out of the way first. Yes bathrooms could be updated. The lighting in some rooms is rather dim. The street is rather daunting when first observed. Room 59 has only 2 single beds, would have been nice to sleep with my husband on my 60th birthday. The rooms on the 5th floor do suffer excessive noise from 7am due to the tables and chairs on the roof terrace being moved.
Now the rest.......We arrived at 10.30am and asked if we could leave our luggage until check in and lovely lady on reception quickly sorted 2 rooms which were ready so we could use them and take all our luggage up to them. Mothing was too much trouble for the staff. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets and towels were very clean. There were lifts to all floors except the roof terrace. The hotel is off the main Gueliz area so is quieter than some of the hotels right in the main area. It is 35 minutes walk from Jemma Fna, 15 minutes walk to the Jardin Majorelle and there are quite few restaurants and banks within 10 minutes walk. Also the number 1 bus drops in Gueliz and takes you to the square. The pool is nice, yes its cold but so are all of the pools in Marrakech, you dont heat a pool in 30+ temps. The breakfast was good, not sure what some people expect, but there were omlettes, fried eggs, lovely fresh bread, toast, fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereals, pancakes, jams, cake...... and I am sure I forgot some things. Tea, coffee and juice. Over all for a good value short break this ticks all the boxes, you are there to see Marrakech not stop in the room. We would stay again no problem, we would just ask for a room not on the fifth floor, Room 2 our friends was light and airy and had a double bed and overlooked the pool, I would choose that if I had a choice.

Room Tip: Not the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On arrival for our 7 day stay the hotel sign was very poorly lit (see photo of Hotel) and located in a side street with rubbish littering the road and pathways. Despite having pre-paid for two double twin balcony rooms on high floors we were given rooms in the basement and told no other rooms were available.

The hotel bedrooms were tired and needed upgrading having dated bathrooms and a television ( one B&W) with a poor reception that must have been at least 20 years old (see photo). There was no units to store clothing and therefore I had to work from my case throughout the week’s stay. The air conditioning unit had to be switched off because the noise and vibration created a disturbance to other guests in the hotel at night.

Breakfast was very limited with no fresh fruit, no toast (the two bar toaster was too small for the 120 guests present) they even ran out of bread. Although the hotel was clean the way staff handled food at breakfast was unhygienic there being no evidence that they washed their hands between clearing plates, wiping tables and cooking/handling the food etc..

The staff remained friendly throughout but they were late serving the evening meals and tended to rush you through the courses when they did. Before we left they put pressure on us for a tip.

The Moroccan decoration at reception and within the hotel was very impressive but one needed to look beyond this at the maintenance etc. they also had low level, low wattage, energy saving lights throughout making it dark inside the hotel.

Other guests who had front facing rooms complained about the noise in the early hours from the nightclub a few doors away.

The hotel does not really appear ideal for certain elderly, infirm or disabled people by having to climb steps to the rooftop at breakfast etc.

The unheated swimming pool located at the rear of the hotel is considered to be unsuitable for unsupervised young children or even single swimmers. If there is a problem, once this is noticed on the security cameras in reception, it would have taken too long for someone to summon help then travel down steps to the basement. Considering just how deep the pool is depth indicators around the pool edge is considered essential.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere or insist on a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just arrived back from a short break at this Hotel - Very friendly helpful staff, clean bedlinen & towels, rooms cleaned every day although they need a little TLC. Room was quite dark as the windows are quite small and the lighting very dim, but overall very good for the price.The breakfast was ok although same every morning - no alternative. We used the pool most mornings but come 1.30am the sun leaves the area as it is very built up therefore the water in the pool stays "freezing" the childrens pool is even colder!!!
There is a bank just around the corner (could not change money in Hotel) and lots of coffee/snack bars fairly local especially "Le Nostalgique" the owner Jamal Taarji was very hospitable. The Jardin Majorelle Gardens (includes Memorial to Yves Saint Laurent) is a short walk away (15/20 mins) and very interesting and well worth a vist 350dh if you want to enter the Berber Museum (the former painting studio) this will cost another 250dh.
Please be aware of man on moped he will watch and approach you to go with him as he works at Hotel - do not as he is a con.

.















,

Room Tip: We had room 38 (on 3rd Floor overlooking the Pool) which has 2 single beds and was adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good if you want a quiet place to stay away from the Medina, which is about 35 minutes walk away. The hotel is comfortable and clean, with Moroccan decor that borders on kitsch or even "tart's boudoir." The staff are helpful and the breakfast is OK, though not exceptional (for example, the orange juice is not freshly squeezed). It is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from staying in this little colourful hotel, where the staff are friendly and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms were very clean, cleaned daily, and the towels, although well used, were changed frequently. The location was for us ideal, since it was only a few minutes walk from the tourist bus - the 2 day ticket was excellent value for money, just over £11, and there is a large figure-of-eight bus route, which takes you round all the sights. We , as did many others, went round the first half first, which took about an hour, and then went round again, getting on and off as we wanted.
The hotel provided evening meals for us, which was plentiful and tasty, five courses in all, and as has been mentioned in other reviews no alcohol is served.
We did not use the pool, so cannot comment on that.
As in other reviews beware of the man on the moped who wants to take you to the tannery, and also the man who tells you he works security or cook at your hotel, and always tells you that the place you are going to is shut, he tries to get you into a taxi to go to the market.
The Majorelle garden is only about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel, and is well worth a visit, as is the garden opposite the McDonalds about 10 minutes away. There is a supermarket selling a variety of goods about 15 minutes away, or a little shop opposite the hotel where it is easy to buy water.
The only disappointment was the fact that there is no where to sit outside, other than on the roof in the sunshine, or round the pool. Our room had a balcony, so we made use of blanket on the floor .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moroccan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.