We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a life time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amssaffah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Amssaffah to your Saves list
Riad Amssaffah
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #354 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Trip of a life time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having read various reviews on this Riad, I started to doubt my choice. It was my partner's 40th Birthday and I wanted to mark the ocassion and I was not disappointed with the Amssaffah! The location is perfect, right in the thick of things but once behind the grand wooden doors, it was like an oasis, perfectly quiet and peaceful. The rooms were large and comfortable, as was the bed! Typically, the plumbing left something to be desired but certainly was not a deal breaker! The staff (Fatima, Aziz and Mohammed) were wonderful and helped me arrange a lovely surprise breakfast for my partner's b/day. We also arranged a day trip to the mountains through the hotel and it could not have been better planned. The dinner, wow, better than some of the restaurants we went to in the Jamaa el Fna. In all, would absolutely and without doubt, recommend this lovely Riad and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    80
    39
    20
    29
See reviews for
22
118
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is definitely an Hotel with old world charm and in the rushed life we all lead now it has a peace all of it's own. Forget the concrete blocks found in every city in the world and enjoy this completely different place to stay with very obliging staff (especially Fatimah, who runs the place) and with beautiful architecture it is very relaxing to sit and enjoy a drink after a hard days sightseeing.
The room my wife and I had was quite basic and the bathroom was not the best I have ever had but for a long weekend it was fine. The sheets were changed every day and the room was always kept very clean. Breakfast was mainly bread with jams and butter with either pancakes or boiled eggs and could be classified as adequate.
Riad Amssaffah is fantastic but when you go through the front door you end up in a completely different place with the dust and bustle of the souks all around and the excitement really grabs. From the Hotel it takes about 15/20 minutes to reach the main square but that walk through the souks is always different and entertaining.
It is about a seven minute walk to the hotel from where the transfer bus drops you off and in the heat that could be daunting to some although I found it fascinating.
It is perhaps not for everyone although I found the whole experience very uplifting and would tell all my friends about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This riad is a very ornate, authentic Morrocan guesthouse. The communal areas were elaborately decorated and fitted with Morrocan style fittings and fixtures, which made for a good chill out area and meeting place. The communal areas were the only places we found to escape the intense heat of Morroco. The pool is decorative at best but you definitely would not swim in it!
The staff in the most part were really helpful, especially Aziz who is jack of all trades and always a source of a smile.
The breakfast was passable - yogurts, bread, spreads and jams, coffee, orange juice and some random cooked item (croissant, pancake etc).
The room was a major let down - the mattress sagged a lot in the middle which meant for an uncomfortable nights sleep. The air conditioning unit did not work which meant that the room was permanently hot, even during the night. There was a hole in the wall stuffed with a tissue, which after further examination turned out to be hiding a bare wire! The doors and windows were old and poorly fitting and so didn't give a sense of security. The bathroom was ok and cleaned each day - the light above the mirror was gaffa taped to the wall though!

Location wise, the riad is ideal if you want to be in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. It is literally yards away from the main souks. The downside to this is that you can't leave the hotel without getting confronted by the locals which we found really tiring after 5 days.
This Riad is so central that you have to walk the last 10 minutes to get there as only bikes and mopeds can get down the narrow streets.

Personally we would not return to the Riad, we did enjoy aspects of it and appreciate it could be really nice but it lacked too many comforts that we look for in a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is NOT a 4* hotel, its a 1-2 stars at the most. The hotel itself is ancient, the swimming is tiny (like a little pond without fish) and the water in it is filthy! No-one ever used the swimming pool whilst we were there. The food was far too expensive, and very poor quality which was cooked and served by a guy called Aziz who seemed to do all sorts of other chores around the hotel. The rooms were very dark, and the cushions were ripped and dirty. The hotel itself is just a shambles and the terrace had two sun beds which were broken, so if more than two people wanted to sunbathe they couldn't, because they had nothing to sit on. Also as soon as you get out of the hotel you get kids trying to get you to show you directions for money, and the little roads to and from the hotel stink that we almost threw up on at least 5 occasions. People also look at you as if you are an alien, you don't feel comfortable wearing anything westernized because they will perv on you. We had to pay 800 Dirhams just to go to a different hotel to use the swimming pool because the swimming pool at Riad Amssaffah was a disaster. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL, EVER!!!

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel-you will be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

That is not a swimming pool! It is an algae infested plunge pool. It is not on the roof terrace which is poorly equipped. If you're on a budget try somewhere else. However, despite the damp room the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This Riad really gves you the authentic experience. Tucked away in the northern end of the Souks it is an oasis of calm in the chaotic but fascinating world beyond. As others have said you really need to know how exactly you are going to get to it initially as a) its not obvious and b) few maps cover the full detail required to be able to navigate confidently in the Souks, especially at night. The staff really were first class; both in terms of the general level of service but also the help, advice and orientation they were able to provide, especialy for a first time visiter to Marrakech. For example they were willing to show you the best way into the Souks by day and the best ways back by night.

Whilst its clear from reading some of the other reviews some people have an unrealistic view of what a Morrocan Riad is and has to offer, i.e its not a North American or European Marriot, Hilton etc but that said it clearly isn't 4 star by any stretch of the imagination. The architecture and layout of the building is superb but there are just too many things that need fixing, replacing or even repainting to really do it the justice it deserves, However if you go in with open eyes and an open mind you will not be disappointed.

Location wise its about a 10/15 minute walk to teh main square but thats no bad thing and its a very very interetsing walk both by day and night.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a lot so make sure you try and have a look at one or two before you finally decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and me had a pleasant stay at the Riad. The staff was lovely and Fatima in particular was able to give us great advises and helped us a lot. The installations are very antique and traditional which gives the Riad a unique atmosphere. Nonetheless, rooms could be in a better state and the beds are not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amssaffah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amssaffah

Address: 1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Amssaffah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amssaffah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amssaffah Marrakech
Riad Amssaffah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amssaffah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.