We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and awesomely friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amssaffah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amssaffah to your Saves list
Riad Amssaffah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value and awesomely friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Amssaffah in February and found it to be an ideal place to experience Marrakech. We had our transfers organised by the Riad and were met at the airport, a slight word of caution the transfers guy (not connected with the Riad) might try and sell you 'experiences' these are at over inflated prices dont book them!

The Riad is right in the heart of old town so you have to walk a little out of the van - great introduction to the crazy small streets of Marrakech. The Riad itself is a wonderful traditional 300 year old Riad and we were made to feel very very welcome.
Fatima the hostess was lovely and helped us out so much - from sourcing us food when starving from the plane to helping us not get lost. Our room was a large double with a massive bed and good shower (decorated in that classical embellished moroccan style) and we had no complaints.

The breakfasts were served each morning with either a fried crepe (Beghrir) or Morocoo style pancake (Rghaif), amazing fresh orange juice, bread and yoghurt. We found the dinners to be very nice too and good for if you just wanted something without any hassel. You can find better value out in the city but the Tagines at the Riad were very tasty, we also highly highly recommend their Chicken Pastilla's which Fatima made for us on request, amazing.

The location is easy to find once you know your way round the city, its right next to the Souks and a short walk to the main square. Just following the instructions the first few times and you get to know it pretty quickly.

Lastly one of the highlights of the Riad was just the open feel to the place, it was great being able to read on the rooftop as the sun went down. The whole place felt like a little haven while still being quintessentially Moroccan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    83
    42
    23
    34
See reviews for
23
130
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just come back from three nights stay at this riad.Whilst the staff were friendly and helpful the hotel is a cold dark and uncomfortable in the extreme. Our huge bed with its greying linen was like a block of concrete. There were no windows in the room. IT was like an underground bunker. The tiolet seat was hanging off. Towels thin and grey. Breakfast passable. Our friends room had no working bathroom light so they were moved up a floor. The aircon/heaterdidn't work and they froze. They had trouble gettng into the room but Aziz managed the lock. The next morning,unable to unlock the door he had to climb out of the window (at least they had one!) no glass just shutters to raise the alarm.My advice would be to stay in the ville nouvelle at a modern hotel. You'll be glad to get out of the medina after a days harrassment and grime!

Room Tip: somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having never travelled to Morocco or stayed in riad-style accommodation before I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by this riad. We were collected from the airport and dropped off at the Riad without a hitch. Not sure we'd have found it ourselves, so we were glad we opted for the 'transfer'. The riad itself is beautiful, although a little rough around the edges. The rooms are basic, but clean. It is a really good base for exploring the souk and the map that Fatima (the owner) gave us was perfect. Fatima and the staff are very accommodating, and were very forthcoming with advice on where to go and what to see. I would definitely opt to stay here again if I travel to Marrakesh again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staff here were really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Bonus was they served wine, the rose and red Moroccan wine were very nice. A glass of chilled rose on the rooftop terrace was a lovely way to chill after a day navigating the souks, which were fascinating but very scary. We got lost on more than one occasion , beware people wanting to give you directions or take you back, it's cheaper to get a taxi from the end of the main square. It cost around 50 dirhams, but be advised seat belts not always in the sometimes very ramshackle taxis, it really is an experience though, not for the faint hearted.

The breakfast in the riiad was fine, the home made breads and coffee with hit milk particularly good.

On first appearances the outside looks really scruffy, but fine inside. Showers very basic, but worked, very clean, remember this is a Moroccan house and not a modern hotel.

This really is a different sort of break, and I would recommend d a trip,to mountains, fabulous, or coast to escape from the madness of Marrakech, although the gardens outside the medina are spectacular and restful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Riad, in the middle of Marrakesh, was a great place to stay! Very Morrocan in Style, a Place where you could feel 'At Home' and do what you want and great staff always! Very spacious bedrooms and 'Run of the House' with many spacious public areas to 'Chill Out'! It really is a beautiful place to stay! We Prebooked a taxi thru the Riad beforehand @ 200 Dirhans...pricey but at least got you to the front door! Once in the Riad, the Receptionist welcomed you with a 'Map' which proved very useful tho you need to add your own annotations after first using it!On our day of Arrival, we were hungry and asked for something to eat.....got a Chicken Tagine[Really lovely and my first taste of Morrocan Cuisine.....thought it would be hot and spicy....no! Just Delicately flavoured...nd absolutely scrummy] with whatever you wanted to accompany it...water, beer or wine.!
This Riad, is in the heart of Marrakesh and it is a good base from which to branch out and explore! NB. You have got to be adventurous to stay here!

Room Tip: The highest room was OK for October Stay....one floor under the Roof Terrace with great views! Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights, only about 15 min walk from the main square, had an amazing time once we got our bearings. Staff really helpful really willing to help you.
Don't trust anyone on the street wanting to help you they'll want paying !! When in the square watch for the henna ladies just drawing on your hand and penning you in until you give them some money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our belated honeymoon during the beginning of September for 7 days.
The staff were wonderful, lovely decor in the place and great social areas to hang out and meet other people.
The only down side was related to finding the place on the first day we arrived, other than that the advice we were given when we arrived on how to navigate Marrakech and the activities we could do were great.
The food in the Riad is most definitely worth trying and turned out being the best we had on our whole stay.
The pool is good for cooling off your feet after a long day of wandering around the souks.
Fatima (the hostess of the place) made us feel part of the family, a little oasis of calm in the bustling city.

Room Tip: Might be worth staying away from a room near the stairwell as the cleaning staff are up relatively e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Amssaffah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amssaffah

Address: 1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amssaffah 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Amssaffah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amssaffah Marrakech
Riad Amssaffah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amssaffah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.