We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold comfort farm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amssaffah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amssaffah to your Saves list
Riad Amssaffah
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #346 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“cold comfort farm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just come back from three nights stay at this riad.Whilst the staff were friendly and helpful the hotel is a cold dark and uncomfortable in the extreme. Our huge bed with its greying linen was like a block of concrete. There were no windows in the room. IT was like an underground bunker. The tiolet seat was hanging off. Towels thin and grey. Breakfast passable. Our friends room had no working bathroom light so they were moved up a floor. The aircon/heaterdidn't work and they froze. They had trouble gettng into the room but Aziz managed the lock. The next morning,unable to unlock the door he had to climb out of the window (at least they had one!) no glass just shutters to raise the alarm.My advice would be to stay in the ville nouvelle at a modern hotel. You'll be glad to get out of the medina after a days harrassment and grime!

Room Tip: somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    74
    36
    18
    24
See reviews for
21
108
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having never travelled to Morocco or stayed in riad-style accommodation before I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by this riad. We were collected from the airport and dropped off at the Riad without a hitch. Not sure we'd have found it ourselves, so we were glad we opted for the 'transfer'. The riad itself is beautiful, although a little rough around the edges. The rooms are basic, but clean. It is a really good base for exploring the souk and the map that Fatima (the owner) gave us was perfect. Fatima and the staff are very accommodating, and were very forthcoming with advice on where to go and what to see. I would definitely opt to stay here again if I travel to Marrakesh again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staff here were really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Bonus was they served wine, the rose and red Moroccan wine were very nice. A glass of chilled rose on the rooftop terrace was a lovely way to chill after a day navigating the souks, which were fascinating but very scary. We got lost on more than one occasion , beware people wanting to give you directions or take you back, it's cheaper to get a taxi from the end of the main square. It cost around 50 dirhams, but be advised seat belts not always in the sometimes very ramshackle taxis, it really is an experience though, not for the faint hearted.

The breakfast in the riiad was fine, the home made breads and coffee with hit milk particularly good.

On first appearances the outside looks really scruffy, but fine inside. Showers very basic, but worked, very clean, remember this is a Moroccan house and not a modern hotel.

This really is a different sort of break, and I would recommend d a trip,to mountains, fabulous, or coast to escape from the madness of Marrakech, although the gardens outside the medina are spectacular and restful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Riad, in the middle of Marrakesh, was a great place to stay! Very Morrocan in Style, a Place where you could feel 'At Home' and do what you want and great staff always! Very spacious bedrooms and 'Run of the House' with many spacious public areas to 'Chill Out'! It really is a beautiful place to stay! We Prebooked a taxi thru the Riad beforehand @ 200 Dirhans...pricey but at least got you to the front door! Once in the Riad, the Receptionist welcomed you with a 'Map' which proved very useful tho you need to add your own annotations after first using it!On our day of Arrival, we were hungry and asked for something to eat.....got a Chicken Tagine[Really lovely and my first taste of Morrocan Cuisine.....thought it would be hot and spicy....no! Just Delicately flavoured...nd absolutely scrummy] with whatever you wanted to accompany it...water, beer or wine.!
This Riad, is in the heart of Marrakesh and it is a good base from which to branch out and explore! NB. You have got to be adventurous to stay here!

Room Tip: The highest room was OK for October Stay....one floor under the Roof Terrace with great views! Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights, only about 15 min walk from the main square, had an amazing time once we got our bearings. Staff really helpful really willing to help you.
Don't trust anyone on the street wanting to help you they'll want paying !! When in the square watch for the henna ladies just drawing on your hand and penning you in until you give them some money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our belated honeymoon during the beginning of September for 7 days.
The staff were wonderful, lovely decor in the place and great social areas to hang out and meet other people.
The only down side was related to finding the place on the first day we arrived, other than that the advice we were given when we arrived on how to navigate Marrakech and the activities we could do were great.
The food in the Riad is most definitely worth trying and turned out being the best we had on our whole stay.
The pool is good for cooling off your feet after a long day of wandering around the souks.
Fatima (the hostess of the place) made us feel part of the family, a little oasis of calm in the bustling city.

Room Tip: Might be worth staying away from a room near the stairwell as the cleaning staff are up relatively e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you want to go on a relaxing, luxurious, stress free holiday to put your feet up, get away from it all and unwind, then don't go to Marrakech. Read no further, go and book an all inclusive 5 star in Spain or Turkey. This is not the place for you.

Now that I have the attention of those who are up for an adventure, up for something out of the ordinary, don't mind walking around endlessly, talking to locals, seeing how people really live in this city..I can continue with telling you how absolutely amazing our stay was at this Riad. Marrakech is a place where all your sense come alive. But it is not for the faint hearted. If you are the kind of person that gets really annoyed by being hassled constantly and doesn't like trying different kinds of foods, then honestly please don't come here. I came across a few too many tourists that constantly complained about their experience and this was one of the only things that ruined my stay here.

Me and my boyfriend came here in September 2012. The Riad is beautiful and is placed in the heart of the hussle and bussle. It is initially quite difficult to navigate around the area as the streets seem to look different at night. However, the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help you. All you need to do is spend an afternoon walking around to find your bearings and you will be just fine. Also, don't be afraid to just speak to the other people staying at the Riad as you may find it really helpful taking advice from people who have been there for a few days. If you look lost, the locals will try to confuse you by telling you to go the opposite direction to where you are coming from, which can be off putting at first, but try to ignore it. Once you are confident with your navigation skills, you will find it really funny. Well we did any way. They just like the banter and I'm sure it's a funny - 'confuse the tourist' game for them. But honestly, I don't believe that these people mean any harm, and if you seriously get annoyed by any of the hassle, then just be stern and they will leave you alone.

The breakfast was really filling and kept us going through to dinner, which is a bonus if you're on a budget. We didn't eat dinner at the Riad, but we were told by a couple who had that the food was quite pricey and could have found something similar for much cheaper. Cafe Souk is an awesome, cheap and tasty place to eat about 5 minutes from the Riad...Ask Fatima to point you to the right direction. You will not be disappointed if you eat there.

When we arrived, we were given a choice between two rooms. One was a twin room, but was bigger than the double and had a fridge, so we chose that and just pushed our beds together. The bed was comfy, air conditioning worked and we had hot water every night except for the first night. Sometimes the water didn't run at all, and we had to wait until later for a shower, but this is something you need to expect if you're staying in a place like this. IT IS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE A 5 STAR LUXURIOUS STAY...so please don't expect that.

Don't be put off by the negative reviews of this Riad. The photos don't do it justice either. I would definitely come back to this Riad, it's in a perfect location and is just wonderful. However, it does take a certain type of person to really enjoy this kind of holiday. So please make sure you are 100% aware of what you are getting yourself in for. Read reviews, look at pictures, talk to people. If you're aware of what to expect, can handle a bit of hassle from locals and will find the funny side of getting a bit lost in a hectic city, then you'll have an amazing time. I'm so jealous that your adventure starts here. ENJOY!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amssaffah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amssaffah

Address: 1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Amssaffah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amssaffah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amssaffah Marrakech
Riad Amssaffah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amssaffah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.