We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, great staff, amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amssaffah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amssaffah to your Saves list
Riad Amssaffah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, great staff, amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Arrived in the dead of night after having our luggage lost, everyone was very helpful. We stayed for a week in February 2012, the riad is in a great location for the souks, the decor throughout is lovely, plenty of places to sit and relax, good but basic roof terrace for sunbathing. When we were there the weather was too cold to go in the small pool but it would be great for dipping toes in the heat of summer.

Staff were great, especially a young boy who runs errands, he took us to the shop, helped us find taxis and put logs on the fire for us. We felt very welcome at all times.

Thoroughly recommend this Riad

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    86
    44
    26
    40
See reviews for
23
135
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we have just got back from a three night stay and in the short time there was made very welcome by all of the staff, who drew us little maps and walked us to local attractions, admitted finding your way back in the dark is an experience but there are plenty of people willing to take you back for a few dirham, i usually tipped between 10 and 20, there are around 13 to the pound so not a huge expence, we found this only added to the whole experience of Marrakesh. It was without a doubt the most eye opening and lively experience on holiday we have ever had the pleasure to be part of, and we will return next year to this riad with our four children as its definitely something everyone should experience.
A few things to be aware of are the men and youths who say they will take you to a place to eat/buy something or see something, totally do not believe anything they tell you as they are on to a tip from the bar or shop owner and will expect a tip from you as well, also if a shop keeper says 500 dirhams, offer what you think its worth as they are looking at how much thay think they can get out of you, be firm and polite and have a laugh with them and you usually can get a fair price. In my experience 500 dirhams can value the item at anything from 50 dirhams to around a 100.
Apart from that keep a very open mind and enjoy the whole assault on your senses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

booked here to stay with my mum for a week on the 28th of march, had read reviews before and expected a quite basic, small riad. we arrived about 8 o'clock and the minibus dropped us about 5 minutes away as the streets were too small for it to get down, one of the drivers helped with our suitcases and walked us to show us the way to the riad, to be honest we were quite scared as we were walking because it was very dark and there were a few men standing around the streets looking as we walked past but when we got into the riad it was lovely. very traditional beautiful Moroccan decor just as we wanted, it is also quite big with loads of seating space and a large roof terrace. the staff were all friendly and fatima was especially helpful making us a map of the best way to get to the square and around marrakech. breakfast was nice and the room was very clean, room cleaned every day and given new toilet rolls and clean towels each day. the souks are great and the big square is about a 10/15 minute walk away through these. best to get a taxi home after 8 o'clock, and make sure you tell the driver to take you right to the door. the moroccan people are very nice as long as you are nice to them and not ignorant like some people were, we stopped and spoke to them everyday and got to know them well. another thing i was worried about is what to wear, we thought we might have to be covered up to respect their culture but any clothes are okay. i wore shorts and vest tops many days and this was fine, i also seen a lot of people wearing this type of stuff. the weather wasnt great, quite warm but cloudy and rained a few nights. overall we had a brilliant time and would definitely come back to marrakech and riad amssaffah!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in March 2012. Nice welcome, homely stay, very friendly and pleasant service and always happy to advise and help beyond expectations. Rooms were better than what we were expecting for a Riad - and were pleasantly surprised. Good location, right in the centre of Medina and walking distance for the main square, souks and other sightseeing areas in Medina. Fatima, the receptionist looked after us well and was extremely helpful, and so were the other staff. A truely good Riad experience. AJ

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

After reading other reviews thought this raid would be ok and expected fairly basic. Yes we had wonderful welcome with the mint tea, and offered choice of rooms. The rooms were just ok, very dark and cold, had to keep heater on through the night which was very noisy so didn't get much sleep, bathroom needed to be a lot cleaner, no loo roll and no hot water, others were complaining about the absence of hot water too, there was no promise of it being sorted either !!! Consequently although we had paid for 4 nights at the riad we moved out after the 1st night and found another riad which was just wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Have just returned after spending New Year here, and wanted to share what a great place to stay.This was my second visit to Marrakech and it was as wonderful this time as the last, Fatima could not have been more helpfull and nothing was to much trouble, the accomodation is fairly basic but very clean, breakfast was adequate and plently of it, Riad is located in a excellent area of the Souks and the square is roughly 10mins walk (that is if you do not keep stopping for shopping!) and is very central. I would recommend this accomodation if you want to really experience Marrakech, reasonably priced with friendly helpful staff who really want you to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Wow! If you want to experience Marrakech then I'd highly recommend this place. It's very clean, the staff are very kind and helpful. We found it helped with clarity of life as you switched between hectic streets and the peace of the Riad.

There's no pool, gym or sauna so don't expect a Hilton, but if you go with an open mind you'll be pleasantly surprised and have a unique experience.

We did get a room upgrade, so maybe this helped...

Room Tip: Be nice to the people when you arrive, it's a family run Riad not a Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#198 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Chennaoui
Riad Chennaoui
#346 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#229 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#309 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#345 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#272 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amssaffah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amssaffah

Address: 1, Foundouk El Melha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amssaffah 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amssaffah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amssaffah Marrakech
Riad Amssaffah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amssaffah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.