We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic riad - but you may be disappointed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Oliviers

Save Saved
You added Riad les Oliviers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad les Oliviers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47-48, rue de la Bahia | Quartier Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #331 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“An authentic riad - but you may be disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We have just spent the first week of November in this riad. The communal courtyard area is nice, pretty much what you would expect from a riad. However the rooms are quite poor. We had booked and paid in advance, perhaps that was why we were initially given a very poor room, it was just not acceptable, paint peeling off the wall etc. We asked to be shown another room, and were told we would have to see the receptionist the following morning, but were then shown another room 5 minutes later, which was better. If we had just arrived without a booking (as we usually do when travelling!) we would have said it would do for one night, then looked for something better the following day. Unfortunately, as I said we had booked and paid through a travel agent for the whole week, so we made the best of it. The staff were friendly enough, though you did get the impression they were trying to steer you towards certain restaurants and trips, but that's just the way things work in places like Morocco.
The breakfast was ok, but very little variety, orange juice, low quality pastries / pancakes, jam and yoghurt, tea or coffee, no cereal or cooked options.
In summary, I would advise people to spend a bit more money, do a little research and find somewhere better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
14
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Our Trip to Marrakesh was memorable one and although you do have to get use to the medina, the riad wasn't that hard to find and the location is pretty good. The Riad was very basic, so don't expect 5 star luxury. However there is charm about it, breakfast was basic, bedrooms was basic, (the door was locked in a old fashioned way...) but the hospitality was lovely. Oh and the showers were a bit tempermental...

All in all i would recommend this Riad, and although my review doesn't sound like glowing report, we did enjoy it...

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

After reading these reviews i feel really confused. There are a lot of negative reviews about this Riad, but none of these ring true for the experience my partner and I had while staying in Marrakech for 10 days.

The Riad was very comfortable and beautfully, traditionally decorated in a typical moroccan style. The main courtyard (?) where you can eat your breakfats has a pretty running fountain where you can watch birds come and drink, while the courtyard next door has orange trees growing from the centre up through the roof.

The service we recieved from the staff was good and accommodating. We arrived very late at night and had an airport pick up. This is very, very expensive (around 30 euros for a 15 minute journey) but the driver took us up this apparently 'dark scary alley' to the door. I would just like to assure you that the alley is neither dark nor scary and a typical narrow street of a medina which is well lit and with plenty of people walking up and down it late at night; when we arrived at midnight, there was an old lady walking her dog down it!

The staff seemed very friendly and always asked how you were and if they could get you anything. The room was cleaned every day (by very friendly and happy ladies). The room was resonably basic but nicely decorated and we had clean towels every day.

The rooftop terrace was lovely and a welcome break from the busy streets. There are plenty of tables and chairs and even sun loungers, so you can relax amongst the plants and flowers.

Breakfast was fine, mostly coffee, tea, sweet bread (which wasnt stale), pastries, yoghurt and orange juice. My partner and I only ate in the Riad one night and it was very expensive compared to restaurants in the medina, the food was nice but nothing special.

We really enjoyed Marakkech and found the people generally very good humoured and friendly. I think we were expecting it to be a lot more difficult, but we were pleased to find our time there very enjoyable and easy.

I would recommend this riad and marakkech as great place to go. Perhaps if you are used to a more luxurious way of life, this riad is not for you and some of the time it did feel a little like being in somebody's home, but that only added to the experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

After finally booking our holiday we were so excited to get our holiday started. We arrived at our Riad at around 9am, after a welcome and an offer of mint tea we wre both happy to be there. Waiting for our room to be cleaned we had a nose about and the riad seemed clean and the staff friendly.
We were taken up to our room only to be dissapointed by the dark,small pokey room that we were having to stay in for a week, my partner was not happy so I went to speak to the lady owner who was not at that point very helpful or friendly and was further told all rooms were in use and we'd have to stay where we were. Making the best out of it we unpacked and set out to explore.
After 3 days of my partner not being able to sleep on the uncomfortable bed I went to press the matter again with the lady but was told other people spent more money and therefore she would not put us in another room, (out holiday was a package,we would have spent the same!) she in the end offered one on the noisy ground floor without air conditioning(it was 35*c and above for the duration of our stay). He decided that we needed the air conditioning in the weather and that we couldnt move, so had to stay there.
The only thing that was good in this Riad was the night watchman who was there for 5days out of out stay, he was so helpful and always smiling, stopping for a chat to see how our day went and what we got upto. He recommended places we should visit and restaurants to eat in.
The cherry on top of the cake was with the lady's husband on our last night there, we asked for breakfast at 6.30am because our flight was early, he wasnt best pleased, he said that somone would have to get up to do it, that someone was him! When asked about a taxi to the airport which is 10mins away, we were told that it would be nigh on impossible to find one at 7am because it was Ramadan and all taxi drivers were sleeping at that time, so if we wanted a taxi we could do it through him but it would cost 200dhs, I questioned the price because it seemed expensive but knew we had to get to the airport, when the taxi arrived we loaded our stuff, the minute we hit the road there were taxi's everywhere, there was no way there would have been a problem to get one, we had been ripped off by using his 'friend', he would have had money out of it too. I was so angry by his lies and using Ramadan as the reason, when its supposed to be there religious holiday, Unbelievable!!
Overall the owners of this riad were shocking, the other staff were lovely and friendly. breakfast was good and Marrakech beautiful. It;s a shame so many good memories of our holiday will be clouded with bad one's.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We arrived at the riad and were given a horrible room. It was very small, damp with only a very small window in top corner, no air conditioning - something akin to a prison. We explained to the people in the riad that we were not happy with this room. We had to argue with them and once we mentioned that we would contact the agent (we had booked through), they seemed to change their attitude. They then said no other rooms were available for this night but we could change rooms the next day. By breakfast the next morning (08:30) we asked to change rooms and found one was ready, beds made etc. We were very surprised that the room was ready so early (people had left and room was made up by 08:30!). Anyway, we later spoke to our agent and explained how disappointed we were at our treatment. We had paid to stay in a good room for EVERY night of our trip and he agreed that had we not argued our case, we would not have been given a better room.

I would not recommend this riad at all following our treatment. There are so many other riads to choose from. If you have booked this already, then I hope you get a good room, if not argue until you do.

Stayed March 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Riad arranged pick up from airport, the driver was ready and waiting even though we were delayed through passport control. He helped with cases and made sure we were met at the reception before leaving.
The Riad is two houses, linked together with central courtyards, along a narrow alley with pedestrians, mopeds and donkey carts but well lit at night. The rooms are basic but comfortable, cleaned every day with fresh towels etc. .
Staff were excellent, always willing to help in any way they could, with advice on where to visit and directions, would give a miss to the restaurant they advised the first evening, food good but expensive!
The position is excellent with short walks to all the main attractions, the only time we used a taxi was to get back to the airport. The two main palaces are less than 10 mins away and the main square a bit longer (due to all the shops on theway).
The roof terrace was lovely for breakfast in the morning with birds singing and a view of the storks on the palace roof. We ate a meal at the Riad one lunchtime, food was excellent and they also serve wine.
The best part was walking through the door from a busy alleyway into the quietness of the Riad, this amazed me everytime, that and the thought that behind all of the simple doors in the street there were places like this.I
I can't say the mopeds were a big problem, although we did see two people on a moped transporting a section of fence panelling 2meters by 1.8meters by holding it vertically between them!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

My mate and i stayed at this hotel / Riad for a week, great location, easy walking distance to all attractions in the city. It was a bit daunting at first being dropped off by a dark ally way and told by the taxi driver 'it is down there somewhere' friendly staff awaited us who are always willing to give you tips on the city. The Riad itself is basic but for the money you pay thats fine. An enjoyable trip!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad les Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Oliviers

Also Known As:
Riad Les Oliviers Marrakech
Riad Les Oliviers Hotel
Address: 47-48, rue de la Bahia | Quartier Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#231 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad les Oliviers 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Riad les Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Oliviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.