We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional Riad, maybe an untrustworthy member of staff...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Oliviers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad les Oliviers to your Saves list
Riad les Oliviers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47-48, rue de la Bahia | Quartier Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Riad, maybe an untrustworthy member of staff...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We had a lovely 4 night stay in this Riad at the beginning of December. It is perfectly located for exploring the Medina and only a 20 minute walk into the new town. The room was a good size for a short stay but not very sound proof! Decorated traditionally so really felt like a true Marrakech experience. Shower had sufficient power and was nice and warm. Breakfast was enough to keep you going until lunch but not particularly healthy; a pancake with jam and bread were the main staples. The only issue we had here during our stay was £20 going missing from the suitcase, and bizarrely a bra! We even set traps the following day whilst we were out to see if anyone had gone into our cases again and they had! Other then this a pleasant stay, just don't leave any valuables in the room!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaytoun, Gérant at Riad les Oliviers, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Dear madam .
First of all, thank you for choosing our riad for your stay.
Riad les Oliviers is among the very oldest riad in Marrakesh, it’s like a monument now, we want to keep the charm of an old riad with its beautiful architecture without forgetting to give that traditional appearance which make our riad different between others riad, I should announce you also that we will have our big swimming pool very soon in the roof terrace , all this things is for our clients .
The breakfast was developed, we have every day a different choice of our Moroccan cuisine and it's all made home .

Madam,
we were surprised and astonish when you announce that you lost 20 pounds from your room , we are more surprised that you never claimed at the reception, our staff work at the riad Les oliviers for 20 years, we never had a complaint of theft , each room has a it’s own safe for precious objects of clients and also to avoid comments that affects our reputation , Our staff , Madam , can never touch the subject of customers, also as you have seen in the riad , We have a 16-camera monitoring system in reception, in the common parts and outside of the riad it is always for the safety of our clients , You do not even need to set traps , because you are on vacation and the riad's staff work for your comfort not to take client’s money , normally in every where if a problem occurs, the client claim it at the reception directly , the thing you've ever done,

I hope , Madam , That we have cleared you everything and you remember now where did you lost your money , and invite you to visit us next time .
Regards
Oussama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trento, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there few nights. The riad is beautiful and clean. It is just some minutes away from many sightseeing, including jamaa el fna square. It felt safe to go and come back even at night. Dinner food is also very delicious. It is more expensive than in jamaa el fna square clearly

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaytoun, Gérant at Riad les Oliviers, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear Michele
thank you very much for your comment, we never fail to give the maximum of satisfaction to our clients , hope to see you with us in a future stay very soon
Regards
Oussama Mazza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Les Oliviers. The hotel itself is very nicely decorated, the room was pretty, large, clean and everything had this magical moroccan touch! The service was great! extremely friendly staff who helped us organize tours! the food was very good and the location was brilliant.. we loved so much our stay here that I had to leave this message here at Tripadvisor. Excellent place to stay and I highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had 4 nights in Riad Les Oliviers in Marrakech.

We were a group of 6 students, the staff is very helpful.

I recommand you to have a trip with Issam, to Ourika, Essaouira, and also to Merzouga.

The food is very nice and delicious, you have to choose between a lot of Tagines.

Riad les Oliviers, is the best place to have very nice hoidays in the centre of the medina.

Big kiss to all the Staff ...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroc - Suisse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed in the riad for 5 days an had a very nice time. The room was pretty and clean with a traditional Moroccan arrangement . The breakfast was very very good with traditional specialities, fresh bread, Cake, yoghurt, fresh orange juice and more……..
Emplacement optimal! only 3 minutes by walk from the Palais Bahia and 10 minutes from the famous place Jemaa el fna with many shopping possibilities.
All the staff was very nice and helpful. I will come back again in this wonderful Riad les Oliviers next year. Thank a lot at everybody!

Room Tip: Superior room . Make the reservation directly at the riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I knew this hotel was possibly a mistake when we were deposited by the taxi in a nearby carpark and made to walk down small back alleys to find the hotel. A local insisted on showing us the way and when we offered a tip of 20MAD, we were aggressively told that (for a 3min walk) this was unacceptable and demanded more. We were a group of women and knew he'd be hanging around the same area so paid a lot more. The Hotel party to this exchange and offered no support what so ever.

We apparently had the very best rooms the hotel had to offer, but they were dark, small, the tiles on our floor were broken and the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned. The lock on the bathroom was also broken so the door kept on swining open. Our friends room had the Superior double and that was even smaller.


The breakfast was punctual to arrive but very basic and in a country like morocco I would have expected at least some fresh food, but it was pancakes, bread and coffee.

The hotel owner/ manager was extremely pushy about getting us to go on his preplanned trip and would not listen to us when we asked to change it a bit as we had already been to parts. He hugely exaggerates the distances to places to try and get you to pay for his cab service. One location was supposedly "1 hour away if you ever find it" but in reality was 15mins and fairly simple.

If you want any service at any point during the day you need to go searching through the staff rooms to find someone.

He overcharged for taxis, £40 for a 15min taxi and generally was always trying to get more money out of us.

I left my phone at the hotel and they were unhelpful at returning it to me. I offered to pay for the postage back but they wanted me to arrange all the postage myself from the UK which without an import licence I can't do. So I had to give up on it.

Overall - avoid. Staying here has completely turned me off Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This Riad is awful the rooms are very small 1st night they put us in room 1 avoid this at all costs this room has nowhere to put clothes its far too small it smells awful there is no light shade its just shocking very very small.There were other customers at the same Riad that were far from happy.
The manager is a joke the first night they send you off to a so called friend of his for a meal(Bahia palace) where they just rip you off it cost us over 3 times the going rate for a meal elsewhere but only caught us once he also has a habit of short changing you (my fault should have asked for change on the night) but hey ho these things happen we looked at several rooms they are all poor also the hot water is never right its never hot for more than a minute and then it goes cold then it stops altogether.Also the last day we nearly missed our flight because of these jokers they saw us standing waiting around for our pick up and it was only when we asked if we were ok for time we were told oh they never come to the Riad you need to go up to the parking (there are 3 parking areas which one) in short avoid this place like the plague its just rubbish they ruined our holiday i have to agree with what most people say you get what you pay for we paid not that much and got rubbish it wont happen again.see Frit W review.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad les Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Oliviers

Address: 47-48, rue de la Bahia | Quartier Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad les Oliviers 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad of this ancient olive trees remains one of the most prestigious families of Marrakech Riad olive trees. With an area of ​​1500 m2, is located in the famous quatier the Bahia Palace . Riad Les Oliviers is divided into two parts : the Royal Suite , a large and beautiful old house that belonged to a notable of the Medina and has been transformed into a charming hotel ,Riad des Oliviers has been carefully restored , furnished rooms , furnished and decorated while respecting the authenticity and originality of the place , cedar wood ceiling period . For lovers of idleness and sunshine , possibility of sunbathing on the terraces overlooking the snowy peaks of the Atlas and thousands of palms of Marrakech.Riad The Oliviers offers 17 rooms overlooking the patio , 1 royal suite of 60m2 with a large private lounge, bathroom, a Moroccan lounge and another lounge tadallakt . Possibility to have breakfast where the customer wants . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad les Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Oliviers Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Oliviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.