We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rustic experience!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bahja to your Saves list
Riad Bahja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very rustic experience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

This was our first time in Morrocco and we decided to opt for the Riad experience having read various reviews on Tripadvisor. We arrived at about 10pm, the closest the taxi can get is to the mosque which is about a 3 or 4 minute walk away. The area is inhabited by the locals and it is full of tiny shops selling anything from sweets to fresh meat and poultry. It is extremely busy with motorbikes, cars, pedestrians and donkeys travelling in both directions. The riad was down a dark alley and at first we thought that we were very dubious and were reluctant to follow a local man who offered to lead us to the Riad from the taxi. However another local standing in the alley noticed our apprehension and confirmed that we were being lead to the Riad Bahja.

Omar opened the door after a couple of minutes of waiting and we entered the courtyard and met Rafiq, the owner. It was fairly dark, our party of three adults and two young children were told by rafiq that the he was only told about the suite for two adults and one child! So we all ended up bunking the suite. Rafiq was very helpful and arranged for an extra double bed in the Suite. The other room became available on our third and final night. The rooms were large and beautiful. They were very morrocon in decor with rose petals scattered over the beds and in the bathroom. However, for Decemeber they were cold and the shower was a warm trickle but it did the job!

Breakfast in the courtyard fresh orange juice, tea/coffee, croissants, yoghurts and the morrocon crumpet style panckaes. Although rafiq and Omar were lovely and very helpful one couldnt help but feel reluctant to make specific requests it felt as though we were causing inconvenience. The Riad was very intimate unlike a hotel where you meet many guests at breakfasts, here, we were the only ones.

The room was always cleaned by Rashida and fresh rose petals scattered. Rafiq arranged a for a driver to take us to the Atlas mountains and to the airport. His drivers were punctual and very reliable. I asked rafiq about certain spices and he went out of his way to get them for me. On our departure he gave us a box of delicious morrocon pastries.

The Riad was very pretty but for a family with children i dont think it was very appropriate. If i was a lone female travelling with friends i'd reluctant to stay here due to its very location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed for three nights a couple of weeks ago. Raffik, the owner is an amazing guy. He made our stay even better than we expected. The Riad is a haven. It's fifteen minutes from the Jamma which we were very pleased about as it is pretty noisy there at night but great fun. Riad Bahja is absolutely charming. It's like stepping into your own castle. We were the only guests there for several days which made it even more special. Forget the western owned riads which have been renovated to bits and have lost their original charm. If you want something authentic with rose petals strewn across the bed and in the water fountain, look no further. We will definately be going back. James and Kate S

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Accomodation - Very Good indeed (ambiance, room, bed, hot water - all 1st rate)
Breakfast - Good, with plenty to eat and drink; a bit carb-heavy and became predictable.
Locale - Excellent; within the Medina, and felt quite safe. Most of the city (souks, squares, museums, and gardens, all within easy walking distance of 10-20mins)
Staff - The house-staff provided excellent service during our stay.
Management - Very helpful, arranged trips, travel, and booked restautants upon request, but quite disappointed to receive an "extras" bill for 200Dh about 30 seconds before departure. Not an issue 'per se', simply disappointing at the end of great stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Spent 3 nights from 5th to 8th of december. Wonderful hospitality from Rafik and Mohamed. Very helpful in advising about places to see, eat, organising guided trips in and out of the city. Hope to be back to experience a night in the desert.
From Milan, Italy

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I stayed in this Riad 4 years ago and as we stayed for 7 days, an evening meal was included. The food was excellent. This time round, still the same staff, same manager, although he says he isn't the manager! As the food was great last time, I thought it would be a good idea to eat in the riad again, but this time we had to pay for it as we were only staying 5 days. I keep telling my friend that the meal would be excellent - nearly on par with Tobsil (one of the best restaurants in Marrakech), unfortunately the food was so poor, the cheapest produce you could find, basic vegetables for starters with a bit of sauce, the cheapest lamb, on the bone, with hardly any meat... then dessert and mint tea - the charge, 200 dirhams on top of this we had wine, so eventually we were charged for 2 people 700 dirhams - over £50 - a total rip off!! I think the Riad is let down by the manager (the one who says he isn't), he seems to want to make as much money as he can from the guests. Unfortunately I realised that he did the same to me 4 years ago, trying to get 100 dirhams out of us to tip the boy who helped us with our luggage.. when it should have only been 10 dirhams.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I booked Riad Bahja on lastminute.com and received email confirmation of the booking. I (a female) and my sister arrived into Marrakech at 6pm as night was falling. I had read online that the riad was down a few alley ways and indeed the riad is. This would not have been such a problem except that when we arrived at the riad and buzzed the front door there was no answer. We stood in a dark alley with a local man who'd helped us with our bags for about 15-20 minutes buzzing the doorbell and trying to contact the riad by telephone (the phone rang out repeatedly). Ultimately, we gave up and had to rely on this local man (completely unknown to us) to take us to another riad (if you can imagine, this was quite worrying for two western female travellers in Marrakech). Fortunately, he led us to a decent riad so we had a roof over our heads for the night. This was a very stressful situation and I am hoping (!) for a full refund of my pre-paid accommodation at this riad.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We were delighted with our experience at the Riad Bahja. The second you step in through the front door, the peace, calm and cool hits you. The central courtyard was beautifully decorated with roses all over the place.

We were very surprised to be the only guests there for the whole of our five day stay! We had a fabulous room on the first floor - very spacious, with a comfortable bed and lovely soft bed linen and effective air conditioning. Nice bathroom too.

The staff looked after us very well and were charming and courteous. We did, however, find that messages weren't always passed on - such as requesting dinner at the riad one evening. But there's plenty of choice for other places to eat so it was not a major problem!

Breakfast was delicious but carb-heavy. Amazing fresh orange juice though.

Don't be put off by the shabby-looking route to the Riad - the worst 'harrassment' we got as two young females was a 'bonjour les gazelles'. Definitely recommend asking the riad to book a transfer from the airport (200dh, rip off but probably worth it to avoid the stress) - we didn't get a response to our email so had to call (phone number is [ --XXX X XX XX XX XX -- ] - it's wrong on their business cards, lastminute.com and everywhere else we tried to look it up). On the way back, though, we just walked up to the taxi rank at Bab Doukkala and got a taxi to the airport for less than 20dh!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahja

Address: 24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#192 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahja 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bahja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahja Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.