We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahja

Save Saved
You added Riad Bahja to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Bahja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Absolutely terrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I booked Riad Bahja on lastminute.com and received email confirmation of the booking. I (a female) and my sister arrived into Marrakech at 6pm as night was falling. I had read online that the riad was down a few alley ways and indeed the riad is. This would not have been such a problem except that when we arrived at the riad and buzzed the front door there was no answer. We stood in a dark alley with a local man who'd helped us with our bags for about 15-20 minutes buzzing the doorbell and trying to contact the riad by telephone (the phone rang out repeatedly). Ultimately, we gave up and had to rely on this local man (completely unknown to us) to take us to another riad (if you can imagine, this was quite worrying for two western female travellers in Marrakech). Fortunately, he led us to a decent riad so we had a roof over our heads for the night. This was a very stressful situation and I am hoping (!) for a full refund of my pre-paid accommodation at this riad.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We were delighted with our experience at the Riad Bahja. The second you step in through the front door, the peace, calm and cool hits you. The central courtyard was beautifully decorated with roses all over the place.

We were very surprised to be the only guests there for the whole of our five day stay! We had a fabulous room on the first floor - very spacious, with a comfortable bed and lovely soft bed linen and effective air conditioning. Nice bathroom too.

The staff looked after us very well and were charming and courteous. We did, however, find that messages weren't always passed on - such as requesting dinner at the riad one evening. But there's plenty of choice for other places to eat so it was not a major problem!

Breakfast was delicious but carb-heavy. Amazing fresh orange juice though.

Don't be put off by the shabby-looking route to the Riad - the worst 'harrassment' we got as two young females was a 'bonjour les gazelles'. Definitely recommend asking the riad to book a transfer from the airport (200dh, rip off but probably worth it to avoid the stress) - we didn't get a response to our email so had to call (phone number is [ --XXX X XX XX XX XX -- ] - it's wrong on their business cards, lastminute.com and everywhere else we tried to look it up). On the way back, though, we just walked up to the taxi rank at Bab Doukkala and got a taxi to the airport for less than 20dh!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

This riad was our favorite in Morocco. Yet it was not overpriced, and the cost was negotiable. The riad was unique and beautiful. We had a huge private rooftop terrace with a view of the medina. It was spotless. The riad owner was very educated and helpful.

  • Liked — It's beautiful and unique flavor
  • Disliked — The city it's placed in
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

crazy arrival arrived at 2a.m due to6 hours delay on our B.A flight very cold....thank goodness we prebooked a tranfer...yes we were ripped off over fare but the taxi driver had to wait hours and the Riad was difficult to find
Our room was lovely, the staff were so helpful and the meals supreme.The owner went out of his way to help us in our quest for some wine and was good company with a wonderful sense of humour. Only suggestion a couple more space heaters for the courtyard ,it really was chilly in the evenings[ well it was January]
Rick and Sue Exeter

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Stayed at Riad Bahja for 4 nights for my birthday and it was an amazing experience. We were quite concerned when first dropped off by taxi at the end of a small street which leads into an awning covered local market. We were very lucky a local approached us to help find this place. It was very easy to find your way in and out once you've been shown.

This place is beautifully decorated in a central location with exceptionally peaceful setting. The courtyard is charming and the sun roof is a great place to chill out any time. Our suite overlooks the courtyard and fitted with everything we needed (do not expect TV/radio or internet connection - if you do, look somewhere else).

The manager and staffs were very friendly and helpful (there's only 1 staff each shift with an extra cleaner during the day or a cook during evening if dinner is requested by guests). Service was wonderful in every aspect. They make great mint teas and are happy to put the kettle on when you feel the thirst. Do request to have dinner at least for 1 evening. Their lamb tagine was one of the best we've had during our stay (better than Dar Moha, a rather posh expensive restaurant we've tried, also inside the Medina).

This riad can also help to arrange great excursions to various places depending on your interests. The great service and comfort of this place has made this one of the best holidays I have ever had!

I would go back again to this lovely riad.... Inshalla!

  • Liked — Quiet but yet central
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

My friend and I decided to end our stay in Marrakech with a stay at a Riad, and we certainly picked a good one.

The Riad was lovely and clean, the staff were wonderful and the food was the best we had on our stay. The Riad owner must have deals with the local restaurants and hammam as we met other guest from the Riad at restaurants and the hammam he recommended.

Everything was in traditional style and the staff were very helpful. In the summer there is a lovely roof top terrace where you can have your dinner. We sat in the court yard had a very relaxing mint tea before going out in the evening.

The Riad has 4 rooms. 1 on the ground floor, 2 on the first floor and one on the top floor which was the smallest. All rooms can hear if there is any noise in the court yard but the ground floor room is denfinately the worst, so my tip is the rooms on the first floor are probably the best.

The Riad is hard to find as no taxis can park near it and very few taxis even know where it is. Our taxi driver didn't have a clue where it was, but some child did and so we had him lead the way, his friend came too and they carried our suitcases for us (the Riad is down a small alley) to the door. They had done a good job as the taxi driver was totally lost (and I know that in Marrakech or Egypt if anyone offers you help they will want paying for it but these kids had done well and when other friends wanted to join in helping we had to tell them firmly No) so we tipped them well and gave about 15MAD each. Once you know where is it, it's very easy to find and get back yourself from the main square Jemaa El Fna, it's only a 20 minute walk.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

Booked twin room in Riad through Last minute.com, On arrival Riad dirty, no twin room available, no alternative accommodation offered. We had to find another Riad ourselves.
Last minute .com have failed to compensate or even contact us dispite a number of complaints.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Bahja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahja

Address: 24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#181 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahja 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Bahja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahja Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.