We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay in the Medina of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bahja to your Saves list
Riad Bahja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Nijmegen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place to stay in the Medina of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Riad Bahja was a great place to stay in the Medina of Marrakech. It was near by the city wall if you want to go to the new city/ airport but also near by the things you have to see when you visit Marrakech (jamal el-fna, shouks, tannery, ben youssef, mosk). Everything was on walking distance. The Riad was very beautiful inside, the rooms were clean (cleaned up every day), there was a airco available in the room. Inside the Riad it was very quiet compared the noise of the Medina of Marrakech. The only thing that was not the same like the pictures was the terrace on the roof but it was in June too hot to sit over there. Rafic (manager) and Mohammed (employer) were very kind they did everything to make our stay pleasant (and that was for sure). Rafic organised a trip for us to the Atlas Mountain, also very cheap and good organized. Breakfast was really good, enough and delicious. We had one evening dinner in the Riad and it was great, the price was not very low but it was worth it. We never ate such delicious food in Marrakech. Rafic and Mohammed thank you for the great stay! We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muenster, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were travelling as a couple (29 and 30 years) and we really loved our stay at the Riad Bahja.
We booked the travel with the WTA travel agency including transfer with MTS from the airport, which was well organized (you just had to open your eyes a little wider too find the travel agencie`s sign showing the names of the clients!). The driver had to stop the car round 300 m away from the Riad because it is located in the old part of Marrakech, which cannot be reached by cars. After a short walk which was guided by the driver we reached the Riad located in a small alley. The pleasant Manager, Rafik, opened the door and directly served us a delicious mint tea while we relaxed in the stunning patio of the Riad which reminded us of an open-air lounge. After tea-time, Rafik showed us "our" room which was located in the ground-floor of the Riad. The room was absolutely clean and well arranged. After 2 days Rafik offered us the possibility to change our room so we could stay on the rooftop and enjoy the sun and the beautiful view over the medina to the Atlas mountains. Stunning! In all aspects Rafik and Mohammed (servant) were very attentive and relaxed and helped us to make our holiday even better. Thanks!
The breakfast which we had included was very tasty, substantial and clean (fresh orange juice, mint tea, coffee, sweet pastries, marmalade, cream cheese, crepes, butter, ...).
The Riad, in which we always felt a bit like home, is located in a small alley in the medina of Marrakech. All sights can be found easily and are accessible on foot, e.g. you can reach the famous square "Djema el Fna" in a 12-15 minutes walk.
All in all, it was an excellent stay in the Riad Bahja and we will surely come back one day!
Johanna & Sebastian

Room Tip: You should choose the room on the rooftop cos you can enjoy the sun and the view on the Atlas mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bressanone
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The riad was very quiet and nice. The room was big, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very rich. The city center is only 10 minutes away. The owner and his family were very kind and they helped us to discover the beatiful part of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

stayed at riad bahja in july was meet by rafiq the manager who meet us and offered afternoon tea and pastries. room was out of this world overlooking the court yard. breakfast was to die for far to much from yogurt to pancakes. best orange juice around. rafi organised out tours around the city and around morrocco. cant recommend them enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bremen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was definitely a great experience. We felt always like home, not just concerning the nice facilities with the patio, the rooftop and the furnishings. I must agree to Rosanna´s review: The highlight of this place were the people, that gave us the feeling of being home and sheltered. The price is very reasonable, the breakfast was always fine. I just can recommend this place to everybody, who looks for a decent place to stay within the Medina and who is not expecting exaggerated luxury.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The highlights of this Riad are the people who run it. Raffik (excuse my spelling) and Abdul were always available but never intrusive and made us feel very welcome and well-looked after. Their calm and understated approach made you feel at home instantly in this quirky little Riad within the old City walls.

The rooms were clean and generously decorated and the inner courtyard was shabby but chic. We stayed in November, so maybe if it was a little warmer I could imagine it being enjoyable to use the courtyard for relaxation but we found ourselves only using the Riad for sleeping and breakfast and were out for the rest of the time. For that it was perfect, but don't expect a typical European hotel experience with television and swimming pool, there is none of that here so bring your own entertainment or go out and find some.

As others have said, yes it's hard to find at first, but once you're orientated the Riad is in a brilliant location, 15 minutes walk from the main square, 5 minutes from the City walls and it's easy to grab taxis to the Kasbah and beyond. It's not in the usual cluster of tourist Riads and the surrounding 'streets' are pretty rustic places where the locals go to shop, so you might want to prepare yourself for the fish gutting and chicken plucking around every corner but it's worth it to also see the piles of herbs and fruits and Marrakesh residents going about their daily business. You also won't be pestered to buy things every five feet like you are in the more touristy ends of town. We felt quite privileged to be staying here when we walked past goggle-eyed travellers who had clearly journeyed to the area just to take some photos.

No toiletries, so do take your own and a word of warning - this seems to apply to nearly all indoor spaces in Marrakesh - it is very dark in the rooms so putting on makeup etc. can be a real challenge!

Breakfast was delicious every day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This riad is or the tourist route slightly but its very safe but like others have said it can be off putting first night. The welcome is supreme the staff attentive and warm. Marrakech is wonderful and for me this place straddles the balance between wanting to travel but not wanting to end up on the tourist route. Very good deals on laterooms including gatwick flights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahja

Address: 24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#195 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahja 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bahja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahja Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.