We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place I will never forget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bahja

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Bahja to your Saves list
Riad Bahja
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A place I will never forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Stayed at Riad Bahja for 4 nights for my birthday and it was an amazing experience. We were quite concerned when first dropped off by taxi at the end of a small street which leads into an awning covered local market. We were very lucky a local approached us to help find this place. It was very easy to find your way in and out once you've been shown.

This place is beautifully decorated in a central location with exceptionally peaceful setting. The courtyard is charming and the sun roof is a great place to chill out any time. Our suite overlooks the courtyard and fitted with everything we needed (do not expect TV/radio or internet connection - if you do, look somewhere else).

The manager and staffs were very friendly and helpful (there's only 1 staff each shift with an extra cleaner during the day or a cook during evening if dinner is requested by guests). Service was wonderful in every aspect. They make great mint teas and are happy to put the kettle on when you feel the thirst. Do request to have dinner at least for 1 evening. Their lamb tagine was one of the best we've had during our stay (better than Dar Moha, a rather posh expensive restaurant we've tried, also inside the Medina).

This riad can also help to arrange great excursions to various places depending on your interests. The great service and comfort of this place has made this one of the best holidays I have ever had!

I would go back again to this lovely riad.... Inshalla!

  • Liked — Quiet but yet central
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

My friend and I decided to end our stay in Marrakech with a stay at a Riad, and we certainly picked a good one.

The Riad was lovely and clean, the staff were wonderful and the food was the best we had on our stay. The Riad owner must have deals with the local restaurants and hammam as we met other guest from the Riad at restaurants and the hammam he recommended.

Everything was in traditional style and the staff were very helpful. In the summer there is a lovely roof top terrace where you can have your dinner. We sat in the court yard had a very relaxing mint tea before going out in the evening.

The Riad has 4 rooms. 1 on the ground floor, 2 on the first floor and one on the top floor which was the smallest. All rooms can hear if there is any noise in the court yard but the ground floor room is denfinately the worst, so my tip is the rooms on the first floor are probably the best.

The Riad is hard to find as no taxis can park near it and very few taxis even know where it is. Our taxi driver didn't have a clue where it was, but some child did and so we had him lead the way, his friend came too and they carried our suitcases for us (the Riad is down a small alley) to the door. They had done a good job as the taxi driver was totally lost (and I know that in Marrakech or Egypt if anyone offers you help they will want paying for it but these kids had done well and when other friends wanted to join in helping we had to tell them firmly No) so we tipped them well and gave about 15MAD each. Once you know where is it, it's very easy to find and get back yourself from the main square Jemaa El Fna, it's only a 20 minute walk.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

Booked twin room in Riad through Last minute.com, On arrival Riad dirty, no twin room available, no alternative accommodation offered. We had to find another Riad ourselves.
Last minute .com have failed to compensate or even contact us dispite a number of complaints.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

Before we went to Marrakech we had only managed to find a couple of reviews - one of the ones we saw was the one on here about the dirty alley (and no TV - from an obvious idiot!). If you havnt been to Marrakech (like ourselves) you will be in for some culture shock, the Medina is a warren of dirty alleys, filled with people, motorbikes, bycyles, donkeys, cats and well everything - and its brilliant and amazing and frustrating and tiring... Riad Bahja is in the center of this madness and from the moment you step though the door its your oasis of calm - a least when the call to prayer isnt striking up!

Basically the photos on their site give a good representation of the riad - its very nice, staff are very friendly and welcoming, and we had a lovely stay, I agree with peoples comments about initialy finding the place, there are a number of taxi buses running from the airport, the one we had (prebooked) they guided us to the riad - for your arrival a guide to the riad is essential... you just will not find it without one!


  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

The journey from the airport to the Riad Bahja was a real culture shock for me, unfortunately we did contact the hotel via email to try and arrange a transfer but received no response, so we booked through a private holiday taxi company. The street the Riad is on is a bustling market street but this was quite daunting at first, a willing guide was there when we got out of the taxi and showed us to the riad (via a donkey traffic jam!) for a small fee. Once we arrived at the Riad there was total tranquility from the loud streets outside - the layout was exactly as we had seen on the website and it was clean and friendly. Our room was nice and the furniture was traditional Morroccan and looked really smart. Every morning we were greeted with a traditional Morroccan breakfast at a time to suit ourselves, and there was a member of staff in the lobby 24 hours a day.

Although the riad was beautiful, there were a few things I would have liked to known first - not least that the Riad is placed down a side street that isn't very tourist orientated, so this can be daunting when you come home at night - saying that though, the locals were only ever friendly to us. The Riad will give you a bill for any water, tea or juice you have at the end of the week. Jmaa el Fnaa (the main attraction) is a good fifteen minutes walk away and at night time some taxi drivers will only drop you off a five minute walk away. We had the downstairs room and the windows were onto the courtyard, just next to where the staff sit, this meant every word we said could be heard and vice versa! We asked them to keep the noise down one night as there was noise well into the night. One last thing to point out is that there is no mini bar - as advertised.

I would reccommend the Riad Bahja to my friends but if you are going to Marrakesh for a week i think that is maybe too long to stay in the Riad.

  • Liked — The decoration/furnishings
  • Disliked — Location and communication with hotel prior to visiting
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own booze!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

Just returned from a four night, half board, stay at the Riad Bahja.

The Riad was the highlight of our visit with it's lavishly furnished suite with traditional lamps, cushions and ornaments.

Our personal chef, Saida, called us down to dinner in the courtyard each evening and then waited on us at table. The traditional Moroccan dishes were superb (soups, stews and fish)

No response to our email requesting collection from the airport though. If the taxi driver can't locate the Riad, the mosque Bab Doukkala is shown on maps and just a 5 minute walk away.
Our Taxi driver appeared to phone ahead as children where waiting by the mosque where we were dropped off and knew
exactly where to take us (for a few coins)without further prompting

It's little hassle for an enjoyable stay and from walking around, all Riads appear to be hidden away down simliar alleyways void of any street signs.

  • Liked — Large rooms, lavish furnishings
  • Disliked — 4 and 5 am calls to prayers at local mosque !
  • Tips/Secrets — Saadian Toombs and Marjorelle Gardens best attractions for a photo op.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

Having just returned from a 4 night stay at Riad Bahja it is interesting to read the other reviews on this site.

It is fair to say that the Riad is not particularly easy to find and is tucked away in a narrow side street in the Medina. It is also fair to point out that so are almost all of the other Riads that we walked past whilst exploring the city.

It is a good idea to arrange to be met at that airport and guided to the Riad and we found it easy to do this by emailing the Riad directly.

Arriving either in daylight or at night, a first time visitor to the medina and Marrakech is in for a bit of culture shock, but this is surely part if the reason you have chosen to go an explore Marrakech. If you’re after ham, egg and chips and a pint of Stella with every meal you really should stick to the Costa Brava.

Having entered to door to the Riad you will find a practical oasis from the bustling world outside.

We found the Riad’s room to be very comfortable and well furnished with a great bed, small chaise and lots of scatter cushions to relax on. The room had a nice cold fridge for the champagne we took with us (a good tip) and the aircon worked fine. Yes, the lighting is a bit dim but again, this adds to the Moorish charm of the place. There’s no TV but did you choose to go to Marrakech to watch Eastenders? The roof terrace is a nice area to chill out in the afternoon and enjoy a quiet drink – bring your own from the UK – they have a corkscrew!

Breakfast was the only meal we sampled at the Riad. It was a simple affair with very good fresh orange juice and strong coffee to set you up for the day, along with some tasty breads and sweet pasties to impart energy for a good morning of walking around the souks, certainly enough to keep you going until lunchtime.

Overall I would be happy to recommend Riad Bahja as an inexpensive and convenient location for exploring all that Marrakech has to offer. You will be short walk from the souks and Jamaa EL Fna in one direction and an even shorter walk to the medina gate Bab Doukkala, where there is a rank for taxis to the Gueliz area of the city or wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bahja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahja

Address: 24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#183 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahja 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bahja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahja Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bahja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.