We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar al Sultan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar al Sultan
26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #632 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rome
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chic and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Wonderful place near the main square but not so near to be engulfed by the overwhelming crowd and smells of the souk. Also near to the taxi parking which is another huge plus.
Very stylish and sleek. The rooms are furnished with local pieces assembled with Italian taste. The best of both cultures.
The owner Francesco is a truly charming person and his hints and company really made our journey unforgettable!
Marrakech is rich with amazingly chic spots which however the ordinary tourist might miss without the right advice.
I really enjoyed my trip and will go back for sure!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    1
    0
    8
See reviews for
3
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I stay at Dar al Sultan with my colleague. We were in Marrakesh for an inspiration trip. We work with product design. Dar al Sultan is absolutely beautiful. It is a refuge from the noise and colour and smells of inspirational Marrakesh. Everywhere you go in the Riad, you meet Francesco's good taste and delicate details. He has built his Riad with love, and it shows and you feel it.
If you want to stay in the small, peaceful place, in the Medina, be close to everything and are a person who values beauty, stay here.
The friendness from the staff and the surroundings will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I came upon this gem from other friends who had just stayed a few months ago. We had a fantastic time and found all of the staff to be helpful and very nice. Francesco gave us good advice and was a perfect host. We loved Dar al Sultan and will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stilish, beautiful and very clean, this place in one of the best location to live for a vacation in Marrakech. You'll fall in love for it.
I found exquisite kindness by the staff and Francesco , the owner, who is a very nice special person. He can give you very good suggestions about interesting and cool places to have dinner, bar and whatever you desire....always with the italian special taste.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We had a fabulous stay in this ryad. It was very nicely decorated, clean and cosy. The service was very friendly and helpful. It might have helped that it was the end of the season and that we were the only visitors but even then, it was a warm place to be. We didn;t take into account that the small pool in the pictures is next to the dinning and breakfast place. therefore it was not relaxed to have our little babygirl walking around there, however the roof terrace was excellent and safe!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went against by better judgement and booked this Riad dispite the negatives that were stated here. Complaints??? NO WATER and apparently this happens a lot!!! Why open as an accommodation if you cannot guarantee the basics like WATER to clean your butt??? The guy who spoke English, Adil, wasn't very friendly at all and you do need a guide to get you to the riad for it is tucked away and VERY HARD to find unless you have a guide. We left after one night. Pretty place but not good for staying overnight.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Ignore all previous negative comments !! This Dar has a new management and it is marvellous to stay here. The service is outstanding, the setting is amazing. The staff is so helpfull: they make restaurant-reservations, help with getting around in Marrakech (call taxi, give free map,...) and really know how to pamper you: you can get food any time you like, served anywhere you like: the roof-terrace, in your room (we had the Harim-suite, recommended !!!), nothing is too much to ask.
Unfortunately my wife became a bit ill, so the nice people from Dar Al Sultan arranged a doctor and even went to the pharmacy for us.
The price for this Riad is honest if you consider that we were allowed to stay untill the evening of our last day, in our room (we had a late-night-flight), without paying more. No extra fee for the use of a safe (the room doors can't be locked and this is an experience we had to get used to). This Dar is located a 10-minute-walk from djemaa al fna an 5 minutes from Palais La Bahia and El Badi. The weather in march is fantastic: 25 °C, sunny but not to warm, the evenings are a bit chilly. Don't forget to dine once in the Dar Al Sultan, they really know how to cook a nice meal, for a reasonable price: 30 euros for a 3 course meal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar al Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Sultan

Address: 26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing riad, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar al Sultan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar al Sultan to your Saves list