We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar al Sultan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar al Sultan
Save Saved
You added Dar al Sultan to your Saves list
26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #643 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Piacenza, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A private paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited the Rhiad for Valentine week end in 2011. It's a small paradise. Very intimate, romatic, relaxing and with a great atmosphere. The staff is amazing and very kind. A great position inside the Medina. The room was a perfect mix of design and traditionand, typically furnished with the chic marocco style. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    1
    0
    8
See reviews for
3
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Wonderful place near the main square but not so near to be engulfed by the overwhelming crowd and smells of the souk. Also near to the taxi parking which is another huge plus.
Very stylish and sleek. The rooms are furnished with local pieces assembled with Italian taste. The best of both cultures.
The owner Francesco is a truly charming person and his hints and company really made our journey unforgettable!
Marrakech is rich with amazingly chic spots which however the ordinary tourist might miss without the right advice.
I really enjoyed my trip and will go back for sure!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I stay at Dar al Sultan with my colleague. We were in Marrakesh for an inspiration trip. We work with product design. Dar al Sultan is absolutely beautiful. It is a refuge from the noise and colour and smells of inspirational Marrakesh. Everywhere you go in the Riad, you meet Francesco's good taste and delicate details. He has built his Riad with love, and it shows and you feel it.
If you want to stay in the small, peaceful place, in the Medina, be close to everything and are a person who values beauty, stay here.
The friendness from the staff and the surroundings will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I came upon this gem from other friends who had just stayed a few months ago. We had a fantastic time and found all of the staff to be helpful and very nice. Francesco gave us good advice and was a perfect host. We loved Dar al Sultan and will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stilish, beautiful and very clean, this place in one of the best location to live for a vacation in Marrakech. You'll fall in love for it.
I found exquisite kindness by the staff and Francesco , the owner, who is a very nice special person. He can give you very good suggestions about interesting and cool places to have dinner, bar and whatever you desire....always with the italian special taste.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We had a fabulous stay in this ryad. It was very nicely decorated, clean and cosy. The service was very friendly and helpful. It might have helped that it was the end of the season and that we were the only visitors but even then, it was a warm place to be. We didn;t take into account that the small pool in the pictures is next to the dinning and breakfast place. therefore it was not relaxed to have our little babygirl walking around there, however the roof terrace was excellent and safe!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went against by better judgement and booked this Riad dispite the negatives that were stated here. Complaints??? NO WATER and apparently this happens a lot!!! Why open as an accommodation if you cannot guarantee the basics like WATER to clean your butt??? The guy who spoke English, Adil, wasn't very friendly at all and you do need a guide to get you to the riad for it is tucked away and VERY HARD to find unless you have a guide. We left after one night. Pretty place but not good for staying overnight.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar al Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Sultan

Address: 26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing riad, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar al Sultan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.