We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to explore the Medina, though a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Spa Sindibad

Save Saved
You added Riad Spa Sindibad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Spa Sindibad
411, Derb Sidi Messaoud, Arset ben Brahim,Bab Yacout, Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to explore the Medina, though a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The place is nice, its a typical Riad with all that involves; it has the Morocco rural romantic sometimes overwhelming air.

The rooms are quiet and tidy. The staff is nice and really keen to help if you ask something. The problem is that they mostly speak french so if you only speak spanish or english might be a bit difficult but obviously not impossible. The common areas are as in the pictures of the webpage, nice and incredibly traditional. The furniture in the rooms is exceptionally nice and curious. The products the supply for the bathroom are made there so they are spa kind of stuff (pretty fgood). The breakfast is quite simple to be fair, for the price one could expect something with more consistency but it tastes good and is pretty basic to start the day (bread, pancakes, mermelade, coffe, te, organge juice, fruit or yougurt).

The location is good, 7 minutes walk from the bus station and 1 min from the grand taxis station. The problem perhaps for some people is that is not that close to the main attractions (Djemaa el Fna, Bahia palace, Medersa) but that is relative.

The fact is that the medina is not that big and we walked everyday to the Djemaa el Fna and it was something like 15 minutes walk. As most of the small Riads in the medina, the place doesnt look that nice from the outside but once you enter you get quite surprised. The next door is also a Riad and Restaurant, once again, the place doesnt look that nice from the outside but if you enter the restaurant is really posh and the riad is superb.
We had one problem at paying with card since the terminal was not working that well. I recommend to pay in cash.

I really enjoyed my staying there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freetown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

A lovely riad with nicely decorated rooms (though some quite small and not well lit). However, we found the staff (along with the owner, Cathy) to be very unfriendly and unhelpful, particularly when we had no hot water for 2 mornings in a row.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 day stay with our girls (7 & 9). As you pass through the medina wall, you step back 500 years! Don't let the surrounding street scenes scare you off...the Riad is wonderful, the food was amazing, and the staff was very attentive and friendly but in quiet aand unobtrusive way. They connected us with our guide "Omar" for the day to tour the city (highly recommended!). We also took a day trip to Ourzazate...great trip but remeber you dramamine! Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

On arrival we were seated in a waiting area where we waited.... We found our bags on the landing and showed ourselves into our room. The room was beautifully air conditioned and kept clean each day.. I was promised helpful English speaking staff, Internet Access, Bureau de change, credit/debit card facilities, jet stream spa pool and I got none of these. If you can speak French you should be OK but make sure you change your £'s into Dirhams at the airport. The Riad is located next to the local homeless hangout at night and poor man's jumble sale during the day both of which were very intimidating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Great Riad, a touch of luxury with very attentive service. The manager - Isabella (French with very good English) and her night watchman were very helpful, nothing was too difficult: they got us a DVD player on nights when we felt too lazy to go out. (N.B. there is a good sized DVD library in French with some English films) and made sure we had fresh towels for a late night dip in the roof top hot tub. The 2 ladies in charge of the kitchen were an absolute delight and breakfast was always delicious served on the sunny roof terrace with quantities increasing each day with more or what ever we had finished the day before!

Over all the riad could best be described as a touch of luxury. Whilst the rooms were rather small, we had a standard double (which had a massive bathroom) it was tasteful and comfortable.
They do have a suite, but from what I could see it's proportions were long and it was quite dark and not as fabby and spacious as suites we have seen in other Riads. Whilts the rooms were a bit glomy as all on the 2nd floor, there is a gorgeous view down through the palms and in to the tranquil spa. I had an absolutely wonderful hot stone treatment (massage) - discounts for spa treatments for residents. At night the spot lights illuminate the water and with gentle music in the background created a really calming back drop.

I will mention that for our 5 night stay we were the only residents (although there were people visiting to use the spa). Therefore, we had no experience of how noisy this riad may be if full. All rooms are all close to each other on one floor and I guess could be quite noisy if some one was being very vocal in the main spa area below.

Good location, about 30 min from main square, but like everywhere in Marrakech every venture outside was a ordeal dodging scooters and mopeds

Isabella was helpful to the end by getting up at dawn to drive us to the airport!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

The beautiful Riad Sindibad was our starting point in Morocco. It is located on the edge of the medina which is quite and perfect for walking into the old town or to get taxi's to visit the new town.
The restaurant next door is as beautiful and the six of us had two perfect dinners there.
Isabelle and Nicolas were both fantastic and organised lots of restaurant reservations, rental cars, Riads in other cities and gave us great advice on what to do and, very important, how much to pay for it.
They made our trip a very relaxing holiday!!

  • Liked — helpful staff!
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

we were 3 single women spending a week at the riad sindibad. the riad is well maintained, the roof terrace just great to relax and spend some time in the jacuzzi.

isabelle was just fantastic with us, taking really good care of us and looking for places to go.

the whole staff was great! thanks a lot!

  • Liked — roof terrace
  • Disliked — fireplace got abit smokey
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Spa Sindibad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Spa Sindibad

Address: 411, Derb Sidi Messaoud, Arset ben Brahim,Bab Yacout, Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN the Heart of the médina of MARRAKESH, close to Place JEMNA EL FNA and GARDEN OF MAJORELLE, une a very quiet path with car access direct at the front door, CHARMING RIAD GUEST HOUSE all renovated with little SPA. Patio with little heated POOL, Nice lunch with fireplace, 5/6 BEDROOMS with all confort (free wifi, clim, Tv sat, SHOWER or BATH), SOLARIUM WITH Heated Jacuzzi, SPA With professional team ( HAMMAMS, BATHS,MASSAGES) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Spa Sindibad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Spa Sindibad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.