We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad, great hosts and attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Camelford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad, great hosts and attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this Riad for a week during our visit to Marrakech. The hosts Sybille and her husband Saad were both very attentive. The Riad is an "oasis" from the hustle and bustle of the medina. It is very traditional with a beautiful courtyard decorated with trees and flowers. The rooms are typically Moroccan style and adequately spacious. It has a very nice roof top terrace which serves as a very pleasant place to have breakfast. Sybille is more than happy to give advice and share her knowledge as well as suggest places to see and visit. She can also arrange for a personal guide and driver should that be required. The Riad is a a 20 minute stroll to the Place Djenna el Fna through the medina and is well worth the experience to see the locals going about their daily affairs. A taxi ride from the "Square" back to the Riad should cost no more than 30Dh after tiring out exploring the souks off of the main "Square".
The staff of the Riad are very attentive and polite and do an excellent job at cleaning the Riad and rooms as well as serving your breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend this Riad as a place to stay for those visiting this vibrant and magical city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
83
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

I went to Marrakech with my two grown up daughters and chose Sybil and Saad's Riad from the Thomson brochure. They make a splendid team and run this lovely Riad with cool efficiency and offer help and advice to ensure everyone has a good experience of Marrakech. It was lovely to meet you, Sybil and Saad. The Riad is a beautiful building and far better than photos can depict.It is clean and run efficiently with wonderful staff. On sunny mornings we ate breakfast on the roof and could hear the donkeys in the square below. Incidently the breakfasts were very good. Paul King, the Thomson rep, was a great help too. Thanks Paul, your advice was invaluable. One of the highlights was in a trip to the Atlas Mountains in a taxi (organised by Saad). We were hauled up the side of mountain by this lovely Berber guide called Hassan to see a water fall, great views of snow capped mountains in 32degree heat. The Riad is well placed very close to all the action of the Old City, well worth exploring. We managed to get lost loads of times but luckily the petite taxis are cheap and the taxi drivers are polite. One word of warning - we left from Manchester Airport and spotted a sign advertising Moroccan Dirhams at the Thomas Cook desk. Look carefully at the exchange rate, they ripped me off, only giving less that 10 dirhams to the pound when in Marrakech the rate was over 12.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I must say that this has got to be thee best place we have vacationed. My husband, daughter and myself stayed with Riad Dar Sbihi for a week and we have never been treated like royalty the way we were here. Unbelievable service. Saad and Sophia exceeded every expectation we had regarding the riad, the food, the tours/excursions, the staff, everything. Saad and sophia both have the best personality and will sit and talk with you and joke. They are wonderful and the staff was equally excellent. They even let us come into the kitchen to learn some of their famous dishes and how to prepare them. The Riad is nestled in a quaint part of the city where the culture is beautifully displayed everywhere. If there was ever a question I would have I would simply go to Saad and ask and he would direct me to the best tourist spots there. They have all the conveniences of a big hotel right there but the personable nature and family like atmosphere . I wouldn't recommend going to a huge hotel where they know you by your room number rather than your name as they do. Here you are a member of the family.. and they prove it to every guest. they made my child feel so at ease there which is very important. I assure you the website does little justice to the actual riad. Seeing is believing! We are already planning another trip back to Morocco in 2013. Good luck on your visit.. i know if you stay at Riad Dar Sbihi it will be a good one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Having just returned from a four night stay at the Riad Dar Sbihi I would certainly recommend this riad to others. The place is a real treasure with its attractive traditional style making a nice change from the usual bland hotel.

The contrast from the bustling life on the streets to the oasis of calm in the riad is evident as soon as you enter. The atmosphere is relaxing with the friendly owners Saad and Sybille always at hand to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Saad even offered his phone to us in case we got completely lost in the maze of streets as Marrakech certainly needs some navigating as a first time visitor !
Sybille was happy to advise on places to see, places to eat and to organise guides if necessary.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was really enjoyable with great views across the city and mountains beyond. We had an evening meal on one occasion which was excellent - authentic food well prepared and served by courteous staff.

The trip to Marrakech experience was memorable made more so by the stay at Riad Dar Sbihi.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We went to Marrakech to celebrate our daughters 21st birthday, we have been to Tunisia, Turkey and Egypt so thought we knew what to expect.
We booked the Riad through THompsons but the flight with Easijet as we only wanted five nights. When we arrived it was pouring down and we were an hour late but the pre booked taxi was waiting for us. The drive from the airport is relatively short but we began to get worried when we were driving through the back streets of Marrakech and eventually stopped in a small square and had to walk the 100 yards or so to a gate in a wall, wondering what we had come to.
Saad opened the door for us and from that moment we were treated like old friends with nothing too much trouble and the rest of the holiday organised when we wanted by Sybille, for whom nothing was too much trouble.
The riad only has ten rooms but is beautifully maintained and is like an oasis in the hustle and bustle of the medina. As there were three of us the first room was adequate but there are two large suites and we upgraded to provide us with more room. The rooms are spotless, ample fresh towels every day, bedding everyday, breakfast is continental but with coffee, fresh orange juice, bead, croissants and everyday different hot pancakes, buns etc, and the mint tea is a must, so refreshing. Breakfast is either in one of the lounges or if the weather is nice enough on the roof overlooking Marrakech and also at a time to suit you not as in most hotels between a set time.
At first walking through the medina is a bit daunting however after a few trial and errors the route through to the main souk is straighforward and once the map is away the locals dont bother you so much in trying to act as unofficial but paid guides.
Everything is in walking distance from the Riad and the noise, hustle abd bustle of the medina and souks is unbelievable and the atmosphere just has to be experienced.
Unlike Turkey and Tunisia the stall holders in the Souks are not allowde to bother you and you can walk freely through just saying bonjour, bone soir or non merci goes a long way, there are a lot of undercover police about preventing them, once in the shops sometimes can be difficult to get out but just be firm and polite, bartering is fun at first and never pay more than a third of what they first ask for.
At night in the main square changes form fruit stalls to a massive fast food place, just sit at one of the cafes at about 4/5 on clock and watch the transformation as all these stalls appear, no such thing as health and safety.
The whole place is like one big barbecue over40 stalls all serving different food, rock bottom prices but excellent.
If you want more up market than ask Sybille to book you a meal at Dar Zilli, you will never find on your own but it is expensive but the quality is excellent and the service as good as any top restaurant in tis country. Sybille arranged a meal here on our daughters 21st, even going to the trouble of advising them of her nut allergy and providing a guide to take us to and from the restuarant and even orgainsing a surprise cake for her.
Let Sybille also organise at trip into the mountains, visiting a Berber village, lot of walking with it and make sure you dont mind heights but worth it the views are unbelievable.
All in all this was an experience, the Riad is first class, right in the medina and if you like to experience local life then this is the place to go, Marrakech is definetly an experience and i look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Sybil and Saad are really lovely hosts and they have created a beautiful haven in the middle of the madness and majesty of Marrakech. The rest of the hotel staff are equally as lovely. Everyone always had a smile for you and nothing was too much trouble. Sybil's menu is extraordinary (I recommend you start selling a cook book!) and we loved the hamman experience. We were offered a choice of rooms and we were spoilt for choice as they are all so beautiful. The call to prayer did not disturb us in the rooms and just added to the experience. It took us half an hour to walk to the medina but we never encountered any difficulties and never got lost. We loved our time here and would love to return in the summer to do nothing but lay on the roof all day drinking mint tea and eating pastries : )

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

This Riad is a hidden gem in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Push open the little wooden door and you'll find a beautiful place to stay. Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, well equipped, comfortable and quiet. The owners attention to detail and service is second to none. Breakfast on the Terrace is a wonderful relaxing experience and in early evening, after a days sightseeing and exploring Marrakech, a glass of wine on the sunloungers served with lovely nibbles. A truly great break.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.