We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tranquil place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful tranquil place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at this Riad. Saad and, in particular, Sybille (the owners of the Riad) did everything possible to make our stay lovely.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with beautiful music in the candle lit courtyard and fresh mint tea. It was too late to eat as we didn't arrive until around 11pm, but we were greeted warmly and given lots of information about Marrakech to take to our rooms. Sybille then offered to arrange a guide to show us around the Souks the following day, but upon checking, the guide was already booked, but that was not a problem.

We booked a superior twin room, which was tucked away from the courtyard by the pool. It felt very private and secluded which was lovely. Before settling, we were shown to the suite and offered it as an upgrade for a daily fee, which we decided not to do. The facilities in our room were traditional Moroccan in decor and the room was very comfortable. The air conditioning was powerful and very welcome as the weather was so hot! The shower pressure was also great and always lots of hot water as it's all solar powered. Came to love the call to prayer in the morning, but there was one wild bird that used to arrive daily which would chirp so loud, it felt like it was on our doorstep! Sybille explained that it was just a visitor, as the birds kept by the Riad in the beautiful courtyard produced the most relaxing sounds.

The courtyard itself is just a vision of peaceful tranquility. The central fountain was filled with colourful fresh flowers and lit beautifully at night. The night we ate our complimentary meal, Sybille and Saad arranged a little surprise in the courtyard which I shan't spoil on here but was very lovely!

The front door to the Riad is so unassuming, off a busy Medina street with mopeds and donkeys and a local sellers market. Complete chaos and noise. But when you step into the front door and through to the courtyard, it's like being somewhere completely different. Birds are chirping away, candles are lit and you can hear little-to-no noise from outside. The staff are incredibly attentive and are always on hand to help you out. There was only us and one other couple but at no point did the owners or the staff feel intrusive. In fact, Sybille was always around to chat to about Morocco or offer advice. We had dinner one night too, and the food was lovely.

There are no keys to the Riad provided, but you can ring the bell and be let in. Also there are no room keys provided, which unnerved us a bit at first but you soon realise that the place is so peaceful and well staffed that it's nothing to worry about.

Breakfast is continental style each day, different main items daily, and it's served on the roof terrace. The flies bothered us though (you'll experience house-flys all over the city, especially when eating) but Sybille happily moved our breakfast to the courtyard. Very accommodating indeed. Also, she was playing some beautiful classical music in the courtyard one morning. When I asked what CD it was, she proceeded to write down all the tracks for me so I could find them! Little touches matter, and this stay was full of them.

The Riad also offers a great rate of exchange when changing euros into dirhams. All in all, we just had such a lovely stay here. It is located in the northern part of the Medina, but you can get everywhere in the medina on foot, including the main square, or anywhere in Nouvelle Ville for about dh20 (2 euros). Sybille gives you a business card with the accommodation details on. If you get lost, you call and they can help you out. And in the medina - you WILL get lost!!

If you want to experience Marrakech in the way it was intended, don't go to a big chain hotel, stay in a Riad and experience true Moroccan hospitality. And if possible, stay in this one and let Sybille and Saad look after you they way they did with us.

Thanks for everything Sybille, from Chris and Elton

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely but the superior twin was very secluded and private with a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just got back from a week in Marrakech and we stayed here for our visit. It was a great place to stay if you really want to experience Marrakech as you are right by the Souk and about 15 minutes from the main square on foot, in fact you can get pretty much anywhere in the medina on foot want to. We were greeted by Sybille and Saad on our arrival, they settled us straight in and gave us mint tea and little home made treats to eat. It's like a sanctuary as the streets outside are so noisy but as soon as the door closes behind you you can't here any noise and all you can smell is the incense from the courtyard. They also offered us a full on dinner even though it was past 10pm! Sybille took us through the check in and Saad arranged for a guide to come the next morning and show us around the souks. We would definitely recommend taking them up on this, Aziz was our guide and he was fantastic! He makes sure you know how to get to certain landmarks so you always know how to get back to the riad and he teaches you a few tricks of the locals as well. The rooms are really well kept and you have everything you need, the plumbing in the medina is really old so you have to make sure you leave the plugs in the sink and bath when you go out or you'll be able to smell the drains when you get back! This isn't just the riad, this is anywhere in the medina. The roof terrace is a lovely place to relax, there are wild birds and pet birds in the courtyard of the riad all day and they sound lovely when your sunbathing on the terrace above them. The staff are really nice and helpful, they will do anything they can to help you and make you feel welcome. Saad knows everybody in the area and is really proud of the medina so he'll tell you anything you want to know and can arrange anything you need from taxis into the new town to a 2 day excursion into the mountains. Definitely would recommend this as a place to stay if you visit Marrakech. The only thing I would say is that it's probably not worth paying much extra for a suite as we did this and other than a seating area we didn't really feel there was any particular advantage as a couple, if we had children it would obviously be a different story but not worth the extra for just two people.

Room Tip: We had a look at them all and any room will be lovely, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned from a magical trip to Marrakech made more magical by staying at the wonderful Riad dar Sbihi. Run by the most professional yet warm and friendly couple - Sybille and Saad.Riad dar Sbihi is in a residential area of the ancient medina and is like being transported back to mediaeval times, sometimes you do almost feel you are intruding on a way of life unchanged for centuries just by walking through, I certainly felt it was appropriate to dress in a manner respectful to the Muslim community here by covering shoulders and legs when passing through this area.
The Riad is peaceful, beautiful, food amazing and has an attentive yet discreet approach to hospitality, I stayed here over my birthday and it was one I will never forget . Would never stay in a hotel in Marrakech having stayed in such authentic and atmospheric accommodation.
Thomson (who we booked through) were non existent, we were given a number for the rep if we needed him rather than him coming to see us, so we booked a guide and driver locally which was a far better experience than an organised coach trip to see the sights. We could manage our own time and visit places at our leisure. Thank you Sybille and Saad for a fabulous time we hope to see you both again before too long .............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A true taste of the fascinating city of Marrakech awaits any visitor to Riad Dar El Sbihi. The open courtyard beautifully laid out with a symmetrical garden (including lemon & pomegranate trees) and surrounded by two balconied levels of authentically designed and furnished rooms made me gasp with delight on arrival! The passion and commitment of owners Sa'ad & Sybille to providing each & every guest with a true taste of Marrakech was evident in the service - from the meticulously presented breakfasts each morning on the roof terrace to the advice & help with trips around the city. It was evident in the ambience - from the magical Moroccan architecture and decor to the tiny songbirds who visit the courtyard throughout the day. This venue is the Grand Design and dream of its owners, and my goodness it shows. We were presented with a choice of delicious Moroccan cuisine for dinner including tagines and couscous, and the mint tea & freshly squeezed orange juice which accompanied delicious pastries for breakfast and Moroccan sweets at any other time were a true delight. The owners live on site and so are always available to respond to requests (and nothing is too much trouble), to advise and arrange trips and to chat about local culture. They will change currency at a very good rate, arrange taxis, make restaurant recommendations and bookings amongst many other essential holiday services. A magical experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What's the best thing about this Riad? For some, it is the unobtrusive, efficient staff. For others it's the delicacy of the wonderful breakfasts on the terrace. The magical hidden garden which is the centrepiece of this arabian delight, or the delightful ( and highly professional) owners who cannot do enough for you must surely feature on anyone's list of things that make this a wonderful place to stay.

Come and visit and see what enchants YOU most.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband just returned from a stay in this beautiful riad! It was so nice to stay here, the staff were so kind and helpful and the owners Sybil and sied looked after us like we're family ! I would highly recommend letting them arrange day trips etc, we did a trip to the Atlas Mountains arranged by them and it was perfect! We did not have a guide for going out in the city and although we got lost a few times and hustled a few times we felt very safe! Would definitely stay here again, but maybe not in August as it is beyond HOT !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What can I say! This Riad has it all, location, in the heart of the true Marrakech, walk outside into the real city not some fake area where one could be in any city in the world, yet when you return after a day of sightseeing you have the peace, joy and tranquility you need to relax and recuperate, ready to go out again in the evening.
This wonderful couple who can organize anything you want, a great meal in the Riad itself, a cool bottle of local blush wine, a bit of a Hammam upstairs to bring life and vigor back into your bones, a great restaurant booking for your eveing, a fabulous kind taxi driver who will take you wherever you want and await you after each stop off, an incredible local guide who really knows his stuff for a day walking around and really seeing this amazing city.
The Riad itself is clean and authentic, fabulous rooms with everything you need while keeping with a Riads true architecture and style, luscious smelly stuff in your bathroom with a hint of rose water, YES you are truly in Marrakech here.....
Yummy breakfast, sweet gentle quiet staff. We simple want to go back.
Do yourself a favour if your looking for the real deal without pretension or exorbitant over the top prices, THIS is where you should stay. Sylvia and Erez Shalev

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.