We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, attentive yet unobtrusive & very helpful service in this magical place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, attentive yet unobtrusive & very helpful service in this magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A true taste of the fascinating city of Marrakech awaits any visitor to Riad Dar El Sbihi. The open courtyard beautifully laid out with a symmetrical garden (including lemon & pomegranate trees) and surrounded by two balconied levels of authentically designed and furnished rooms made me gasp with delight on arrival! The passion and commitment of owners Sa'ad & Sybille to providing each & every guest with a true taste of Marrakech was evident in the service - from the meticulously presented breakfasts each morning on the roof terrace to the advice & help with trips around the city. It was evident in the ambience - from the magical Moroccan architecture and decor to the tiny songbirds who visit the courtyard throughout the day. This venue is the Grand Design and dream of its owners, and my goodness it shows. We were presented with a choice of delicious Moroccan cuisine for dinner including tagines and couscous, and the mint tea & freshly squeezed orange juice which accompanied delicious pastries for breakfast and Moroccan sweets at any other time were a true delight. The owners live on site and so are always available to respond to requests (and nothing is too much trouble), to advise and arrange trips and to chat about local culture. They will change currency at a very good rate, arrange taxis, make restaurant recommendations and bookings amongst many other essential holiday services. A magical experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What's the best thing about this Riad? For some, it is the unobtrusive, efficient staff. For others it's the delicacy of the wonderful breakfasts on the terrace. The magical hidden garden which is the centrepiece of this arabian delight, or the delightful ( and highly professional) owners who cannot do enough for you must surely feature on anyone's list of things that make this a wonderful place to stay.

Come and visit and see what enchants YOU most.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband just returned from a stay in this beautiful riad! It was so nice to stay here, the staff were so kind and helpful and the owners Sybil and sied looked after us like we're family ! I would highly recommend letting them arrange day trips etc, we did a trip to the Atlas Mountains arranged by them and it was perfect! We did not have a guide for going out in the city and although we got lost a few times and hustled a few times we felt very safe! Would definitely stay here again, but maybe not in August as it is beyond HOT !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What can I say! This Riad has it all, location, in the heart of the true Marrakech, walk outside into the real city not some fake area where one could be in any city in the world, yet when you return after a day of sightseeing you have the peace, joy and tranquility you need to relax and recuperate, ready to go out again in the evening.
This wonderful couple who can organize anything you want, a great meal in the Riad itself, a cool bottle of local blush wine, a bit of a Hammam upstairs to bring life and vigor back into your bones, a great restaurant booking for your eveing, a fabulous kind taxi driver who will take you wherever you want and await you after each stop off, an incredible local guide who really knows his stuff for a day walking around and really seeing this amazing city.
The Riad itself is clean and authentic, fabulous rooms with everything you need while keeping with a Riads true architecture and style, luscious smelly stuff in your bathroom with a hint of rose water, YES you are truly in Marrakech here.....
Yummy breakfast, sweet gentle quiet staff. We simple want to go back.
Do yourself a favour if your looking for the real deal without pretension or exorbitant over the top prices, THIS is where you should stay. Sylvia and Erez Shalev

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The beauty of the Riad contrasted sharply with the poverty of the area. Sybille & Saad's beautiful home took our breath away each day. The room was as we expected, clean and authentic. Sybille was a wonderful hostess who could not do enough to help and advise. Her English is perfect! Breakfast on the roof terrace was delightful (recommend the lemon and quince conserves). We also recommend you try Sybille's classic lamb, prune & almond tagine-you won't regret it! Sybille arranged guide Aziz for us (a reasonable daily rate). We had so much custom and local day to day Moroccan life explained to us, much more than we would have been able to read in a guide book - highly recommended. Sybille & Saad were very welcoming and the perfect hosts. We would happily return. John & Sandy

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This Riad is simply wonderful. Sybille and Saad were the perfect hosts. It was our first time visiting Morocco, and whilst you can do as much research as you can, books and the internet do not prepare you for the wonder, hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We arrived in the early hours due to a flight delay, yet Sybille welcomed us with some fresh mint tea - it was just what we needed!

Marrakesh gives a whole new lease of life to the term vibrant, and is a 'busy' city. Riad Dar Sbihi provided a haven from the hustle and bustle. In fact, it was hard to believe the business and activity just a stones throw away from the accommodation once you were inside, it was tranquillity personified. Sybille was very helpful in helping us to arrange to take some trips with local guides, so we really did have an authentic and mind blowing experience. We felt very welcomed in Marrakech, along with its rich history and culture made for a fantastic trip.

The accommodation itself was clean, functional and stylish, providing an authentic taste of Morocco. The products that are free to guests to use in the bathroom contain that wonder Argan oil, and being an aromatherapist, I know my oils and this was very good grade and quality product. The air conditioning was a blessed relief, as the temperatures were incredibly high and not for us pale skinned, cold weathered Brits.

We also ate at the Riad, as some days after a busy day trekking about (or indeed just lounging in the sun on the roof terrace), it was far more preferable to eat in. The food was simply divine, all freshly made and prepared that day. Of course, there are many different restaurants and café's nearby, so there was plenty of choice.

I'm not sure what else I can say about this Riad, beyond the fact that it is quite lovely, a haven of tranquillity, with the most generous and wonderful hosts. We will absolutely recommend this to our friends and it is a cert that we will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Marrakech, the Riad Dar Sbihi was fantastic, a very authentic Moroccan experience. Saad and Sybil made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We arranged a guide with them for the first day of our trip, the guide, Assize (excuse the spelling), cost 50 Euro for the half day. He was excellent and showed us a short cut from the main square to the Riad, which was worth the 50 euros alone. The Riad itself is delightful, the staff are very attentive and polite and Saad and Sybil excellent hosts.

The rooms are lovely, we had a suite, huge double bed, nice big bathroom and plenty of wardrobe and storage space. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, breads, jams, cheese and lovely local delicacies. We had lunch and dinner twice at the Riad, beautiful food, freshly prepared every day. The attention to detail is lovely, cotton napkins, beautiful crockery and glassware. The whole place is an absolute joy.

Marrakech itself is very hectic, you do get hassled by locals but its part of the experience. The call to prayer three times each day was fantastic to hear. We found a nice bar 'Bar Arabe' which was only a ten minute walk from the Riad, nice food and cocktails and a lovely roof terrace to watch the sun go down.

Thank you Saad and Sybil for a wonderful stay at your beautiful Riad, it was Paradise.

We will always remember it.

Room Tip: The suites are much bigger than the standard room and are definitely worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.