We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hideaway in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Sbihi
Save
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hideaway in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Marrakech, the Riad Dar Sbihi was fantastic, a very authentic Moroccan experience. Saad and Sybil made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We arranged a guide with them for the first day of our trip, the guide, Assize (excuse the spelling), cost 50 Euro for the half day. He was excellent and showed us a short cut from the main square to the Riad, which was worth the 50 euros alone. The Riad itself is delightful, the staff are very attentive and polite and Saad and Sybil excellent hosts.

The rooms are lovely, we had a suite, huge double bed, nice big bathroom and plenty of wardrobe and storage space. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, breads, jams, cheese and lovely local delicacies. We had lunch and dinner twice at the Riad, beautiful food, freshly prepared every day. The attention to detail is lovely, cotton napkins, beautiful crockery and glassware. The whole place is an absolute joy.

Marrakech itself is very hectic, you do get hassled by locals but its part of the experience. The call to prayer three times each day was fantastic to hear. We found a nice bar 'Bar Arabe' which was only a ten minute walk from the Riad, nice food and cocktails and a lovely roof terrace to watch the sun go down.

Thank you Saad and Sybil for a wonderful stay at your beautiful Riad, it was Paradise.

We will always remember it.

Room Tip: The suites are much bigger than the standard room and are definitely worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great riad, super clean with very friendly staff. The owners Saad and Sybil really looked after us giving us directions and advice whenever we needed it. This really helped us have a holiday of a lifetime! It was just easy and nothing was too much trouble for them at all. Marrakech is of course a bit chaotic so it was great to get back to the realxing riad and chill out on the sun loungers or dip in the pool, idyllic! Every morning we had the ultimate continental breakfast on the roof terrace which was very tasty and slightly different everyday which was excting, this included mint tea which I now love and was beautifully presented. The attention to detail in the riad from the breakfast, rooms was consistently to a high standard throughout.

We arrived later than expected as our flight was delayed so we got to the riad about 1am in the morning. Sybil was there to greet us with mint tea which is just what we needed. We then had a choice of three rooms they were all spacious and lovely.

We also had some other yummy meals at the riad, including kebabs for lunch and tajine for an evening meal etc. The food was the best Sybil is an exceptional cook!

We also had a hammam in the riad which was fun so i would recommend that service also.

I was very sad to leave marrakech after my amazing 7 day break with my boyfriend and would go back in a heart beat. I would definitely recommend staying in a riad, this riad, rather than a western hotel so you can experience the reall marrakech and have lots of fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just returned from the Marrakesh where we stayed at the Raid Dar Sbihi which was absolutely amazing. Saad and Sybil ensured we wanted for nothing, the staff took such pride in the presentation of the table settings and food. The Riad was a stunning - the detailed mosaics, different species of greenery, painted shutters and sumptuous furnishings - it could not be improved upon! It was clean, the food great and the Hammam is definitely worth the cost. If you are planning a trip to Marrakesh try and stay here.

Room Tip: The Raid is near to a Mosque so be prepared to hear the call to prayer early in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This riad has all the comforts you'll need for your Marrakesh excursion and it delivers them in a western Europe standard of cleanliness without compromising on the authentic Morrocon styling.

Only negative is that you will pay a premium price for it all.

Excellent for an im between luxury stop.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late at night. On the bus provided by the travel firm there was our party and another. We thought that we were going to the other parties hotel first. When we got there both parties looked at each other thinking "oh my god"! The area was horrid and clearly not a normal tourist area. Even more shocking was that this turned out to be our hotel! Gulp!
We were led into the complex by one of the couple who own the riad. On entering the riad you can tell that the riad was not like as it appeared in the photos - it was a lot more aged or worn. The couple who own the riad were very friendly.
The room was very dark and hot. The air con wasn't working properly as there were gaps on the bathroom doorway so it wasn't a sealed room as such for the air con to work. The bed area smelt of stale urine. As it was so late and that we had a baby, we thought lets just stay here the night. I had very little sleep as it was so hot and the smell was unbearable.
The next morning we realised the floor was dirty. There was a lot of hair everywhere including the room and bathroom. Both rooms were clearly in need of refurbishment.
Although the owners offered another room, we were just so dissaponted by this riad that we had to just try and find another hotel. I did notice the reception rooms on the ground floor were a lot nicer. We had a terrible time trying to get another hotel and had to pay lots of money but thats a fault with the holiday company and not this riad. The holiday company rep even verified the problems.
We did venture out to find a restaurant whilst we were trying to be moved to another hotel. This wasn't easy as the riad is tucked away in a residential area.
When we came back the cleaners had come to clean the room . . . They still failed to clean the floor!
So although the owners are nice people, they should never give a room like this to anyone. This hotel is supposed to be higher end but it definitely isn't! It has got some old charm but for us it was a nightmare. Certainly not for babies or young kids. The owners should have ensured clean decent rooms. The experience was so bad that we had to leave and pay more money for another hotel. The other hotel was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we don't normally go back to the same place twice so was worried that this wouldnt be as good as I remembered. We need not have worried. It was just asgood ,calm and relaxing as we recalled. thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is a real gem. An oasis of peace in the hustle & bustle of Marrakech life. I was really surprised at how quiet and peaceful it was. If you want to drink yourself silly and party till you drop, this place is not for you. However, if you want to experience a real taste of something unique, then this is it. It is not at all like staying in a hotel, but like staying with friends - but friends who have, or will get, everything you need. As other comments say, you don't even need to lock your room, the place feels so safe and protected. The attention to detail is second to none, with different tablecloths and glassware at every meal. Then the breakfasts....! I don't do Continental Breakfasts. To me they are a waste of time. But these were so beautifully presented and contained different little delicacies every day, so that I ate more than I ever have before. Of course, the view from the roof terrace helps everything go down so much better. And Sybille the landlady, seems to know what you need before you do! And whatever else you do, or don't do, make sure you try the full hammam! A scrub down with a Brillo pad, then buckets of hot water thrown all over you!! Brilliant! I cannot recommend this place enough, and in fact I have already booked again for next year. I am already looking forward to it, and who knows, perhaps next year, I might even not get lost in the souks…........

Room Tip: Sybille showed us round the whole Riad, and all the rooms are so full of character. We went for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Riad Dar Sbihi 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.