We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty smelly room with inefficient air con” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dirty smelly room with inefficient air con”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel late at night. On the bus provided by the travel firm there was our party and another. We thought that we were going to the other parties hotel first. When we got there both parties looked at each other thinking "oh my god"! The area was horrid and clearly not a normal tourist area. Even more shocking was that this turned out to be our hotel! Gulp!
We were led into the complex by one of the couple who own the riad. On entering the riad you can tell that the riad was not like as it appeared in the photos - it was a lot more aged or worn. The couple who own the riad were very friendly.
The room was very dark and hot. The air con wasn't working properly as there were gaps on the bathroom doorway so it wasn't a sealed room as such for the air con to work. The bed area smelt of stale urine. As it was so late and that we had a baby, we thought lets just stay here the night. I had very little sleep as it was so hot and the smell was unbearable.
The next morning we realised the floor was dirty. There was a lot of hair everywhere including the room and bathroom. Both rooms were clearly in need of refurbishment.
Although the owners offered another room, we were just so dissaponted by this riad that we had to just try and find another hotel. I did notice the reception rooms on the ground floor were a lot nicer. We had a terrible time trying to get another hotel and had to pay lots of money but thats a fault with the holiday company and not this riad. The holiday company rep even verified the problems.
We did venture out to find a restaurant whilst we were trying to be moved to another hotel. This wasn't easy as the riad is tucked away in a residential area.
When we came back the cleaners had come to clean the room . . . They still failed to clean the floor!
So although the owners are nice people, they should never give a room like this to anyone. This hotel is supposed to be higher end but it definitely isn't! It has got some old charm but for us it was a nightmare. Certainly not for babies or young kids. The owners should have ensured clean decent rooms. The experience was so bad that we had to leave and pay more money for another hotel. The other hotel was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
86
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we don't normally go back to the same place twice so was worried that this wouldnt be as good as I remembered. We need not have worried. It was just asgood ,calm and relaxing as we recalled. thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is a real gem. An oasis of peace in the hustle & bustle of Marrakech life. I was really surprised at how quiet and peaceful it was. If you want to drink yourself silly and party till you drop, this place is not for you. However, if you want to experience a real taste of something unique, then this is it. It is not at all like staying in a hotel, but like staying with friends - but friends who have, or will get, everything you need. As other comments say, you don't even need to lock your room, the place feels so safe and protected. The attention to detail is second to none, with different tablecloths and glassware at every meal. Then the breakfasts....! I don't do Continental Breakfasts. To me they are a waste of time. But these were so beautifully presented and contained different little delicacies every day, so that I ate more than I ever have before. Of course, the view from the roof terrace helps everything go down so much better. And Sybille the landlady, seems to know what you need before you do! And whatever else you do, or don't do, make sure you try the full hammam! A scrub down with a Brillo pad, then buckets of hot water thrown all over you!! Brilliant! I cannot recommend this place enough, and in fact I have already booked again for next year. I am already looking forward to it, and who knows, perhaps next year, I might even not get lost in the souks…........

Room Tip: Sybille showed us round the whole Riad, and all the rooms are so full of character. We went for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

First time to Marrakech, not too sure what to expect. Went with Thompson Holidays to the Riad dar Sbihi. Couldn't have been more pleased. A cool peaceful oasis to return to after the noise and buzz of the souks. Saad and Sibylle were the perfect hosts and great fun. Could not do enough for you. They organized trips and drivers and guides for us. We ate in the Riad some lunch times and most evenings as the food was very good and authentic.I am still thinking of the breakfasts on the roof terrace with a panoramic view of the snow on the Atlas Mountains.I will definately go again and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: There are only 8 letting rooms and suites. They all looked really nice and our room and bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As per most of the other reviews this is a charming Riad - maintained to an excellent standard with an eye for detail. The owners and their staff quite rightly take pride in this lovely building and the service is welcoming and friendly - they will aim to meet every need.

We ate at the riad on a couple of eve's/lunchtimes and the food was superb - could not fault.

We had a tour arranged with two other guests on our first morning to get our bearings around the souks and museums - and also to find out way back from the main square where you invariably end up after a day meandering through the souks and streets - this was an excellent choice and really informative and full of hints and tips. The Thompson rep was not meeting us til 11 am the day after we arrived so we chose to do this trip starting at 9.30 and get our holiday underway and did not regret it. They were also on hand to arrange taxis or drivers or recommend local companies for trips.

We do plan to return to marrakech and this will most definitely be our first choice to stay on our return. We based our choice on other trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Sybille gave us a tour of the house and showed us the other rooms - the suites would be lovely but to be honest all the rooms are decorated to a really high standard with a lovely welcoming feel. One word of warning - you will be woken by the call to prayer at 5am as there is a mosque in the next street - I took earplugs and slept right through it after the first night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Marrakech with the excellent Thompson Holidays and chose Riad Dar Sbihi based on yes, Trip Adviser. I knew the city was famously unchartable and had read the tales of many lost tourists, quickly picking up the knowledge that this Riad was owned by the very trusting and knowledgable Saad & Sibil.

Arriving in the Medina you are transported back in time to a place that moves the soul and awakens the senses.

Saad was fantastic and a really conscientious host, never straying from our request to experience this ancient city in real style. Saad organised a local guide and the first morning we accompanied other four other guests on a city tour through the Souks and Museums with one of the city’s most charming and interesting official guides it was fantastic (A must).

Saad then later that evening arranged for a local Taxi to show us to the newer French Quarter and suggested an excellent Restaurant & Grill to end the most amazing day ever.

The Raid is original, it is Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill on sea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from raid dar sbihi in Marrakech what a wonderfull place was very worried as never done this sort of holiday before. The owners could not do enough for you,made you feel very at home it was like home for home.never had any problems they arranged trips and we kept same drive all the time there food was brilliant and the staff could not do enough for you

Room Tip: Sybil showed us all the room does not matter what room you have all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;