We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Sbihi
Save
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A truly wonderful and rare experience. Calm and serenity in the middle of the busy, bustling and unique northern part of the Medina. Birds, sounds of water and the periodic call to prayer replaced the sounds of the Souk and everyday comings and goings of the city. Cibille and Saeed were a joy, welcoming everyone into their home and nothing was too much trouble. If you can, while all rooms are comfortable, upgrade to a suite as its worth the extra seating area. Traditional Moroccan food with a nod to Cybilles Belgian heritage is highly recommended and bring your appetite as there is plenty to eat. Ask Cybille to arrange a half day guide around the Souk - we had Aziz who was a mine of information and gave us tips for getting around the Souk. We're looking forward to a repeat trip next year

Room Tip: Request a suite with seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
96
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Many will I am sure be tempted to stay in a modern characterless hotel in the newer part of Marrakesh. However, if you are looking for a more genuine experience of the hectic time warp that is the Medina then this Riad is pretty well placed especially when taking a taxi home late at night. Previous commentators have described the extraordinary peace it offers combined with good levels of comfort and the very highest standards of service and friendliness. Take the owners advice when it comes to tours and guides. I agree that a meal or two at the Riad is a wise move as the food is wonderful. I cannot imagine anyone not being bowled over by this particularly spacious Riad. It well deserves its place as one of the 20 best to stay in the city.

Room Tip: There is a good selection and certainly one has a BATH. You will be less disturbed by the early morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Riad at the Northern end of the medina is a jewel. From the ridiculous noise and energy of Marrakech to the sublime of peace, calm and tranqulity when you walk through the door of this Riad. The owners Sybille and Saeed will do all they can to make your stay as relaxing as possible. They will arrange guides and taxis should you require them ( recommended ) who will not rip you off as you expect most to do in this city.
The rooms are excellent, the grounds are stunning, the staff are so helpful. There is a terrace on which you can relax or have breakfast, its ideal.
If you want to stay in Marrakech, stay here....simples!

Room Tip: We upgraded from a basic room on arrival for an extra 40 Euros per night, may be worth doing when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A unique experience. From the moment we stepped through the door of Riad Dar Sbihi the noise and stress of the Medina was replaced by birdsong and fountains. The owners, Cybille and Saeed, are charming and nothing is too much trouble. You must eat at the Riad at least one night of your stay, the traditional Moroccan fayre is very tasty. There is also nothing more enjoyable than a refreshing glass of mint tea with pastries on the terrace after a hard day haggling in the souks. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and is equally good. The rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms, and the beds comfortable. The only thing to be aware of is the proximity to the local mosque which loudly calls followers to pray at 5.20 each morning! Certainly a fabulous base from which to explore the Medina.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic little place with friendly owners in a quiet part of the Medina. We booked the Riad through one of the large package companies and really enjoyed the three days we stayed there. We were welcomed with mint tea and talked through all the highlights of the city. Breakfast overlooking the courtyard every morning was really nice and combined with the beautiful courtyard, comfortable rooms and friendly service made this a really great place to stay.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went for the week over Christmas returning on New Years Eve. We had read about this Riad in the Guardian a couple of years ago so knew we wanted to stay here. Lovely little Riad which is made more special by the owners Sybille and Saad, who were both welcoming and very attentive. We ate in a lot as the food was lovely, and did find the square a bit too much to handle! We had a hannah with the body scrub on site which was also very good. We would recommend a guide for a few hours, which Sybille arranged for us cost approx £25 for 3 hours. Cabs everywhere is a good thing only costing around £3-4 to the square, but make sure to agree a price before you get in, it is easy to get lost and local people will either send you the wrong way or want money for sending you the right way! Also it was a lot colder than we expected, although we did have three days of sunshine it was really cold first thing and the evening even on those days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the outstanding reviews, and we were not dissapointed. We were the only guests staying in the hotel, but were still treated to first class service. We ate in the hotel on several evenings as the food could not be beaten else where. It really was food worthy of writing home about. Breakfast on the roof was a peacefull way to start the day, because as soon as you step out of the door you're in for a day of chaos.
The rooms are lovely and the bathrooms very special (we didnt upgrade).
We couldnt have faulted anything about this hotel, and for us it was much preferable to stay in a traditional Riad in the old Medina, rather than a large 'European' hotel in the modern part of Marrakech.
We couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.8 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#52 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Riad Dar Sbihi 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.