We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Riad at the Northern end of the medina is a jewel. From the ridiculous noise and energy of Marrakech to the sublime of peace, calm and tranqulity when you walk through the door of this Riad. The owners Sybille and Saeed will do all they can to make your stay as relaxing as possible. They will arrange guides and taxis should you require them ( recommended ) who will not rip you off as you expect most to do in this city.
The rooms are excellent, the grounds are stunning, the staff are so helpful. There is a terrace on which you can relax or have breakfast, its ideal.
If you want to stay in Marrakech, stay here....simples!

Room Tip: We upgraded from a basic room on arrival for an extra 40 Euros per night, may be worth doing when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
84
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A unique experience. From the moment we stepped through the door of Riad Dar Sbihi the noise and stress of the Medina was replaced by birdsong and fountains. The owners, Cybille and Saeed, are charming and nothing is too much trouble. You must eat at the Riad at least one night of your stay, the traditional Moroccan fayre is very tasty. There is also nothing more enjoyable than a refreshing glass of mint tea with pastries on the terrace after a hard day haggling in the souks. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and is equally good. The rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms, and the beds comfortable. The only thing to be aware of is the proximity to the local mosque which loudly calls followers to pray at 5.20 each morning! Certainly a fabulous base from which to explore the Medina.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic little place with friendly owners in a quiet part of the Medina. We booked the Riad through one of the large package companies and really enjoyed the three days we stayed there. We were welcomed with mint tea and talked through all the highlights of the city. Breakfast overlooking the courtyard every morning was really nice and combined with the beautiful courtyard, comfortable rooms and friendly service made this a really great place to stay.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went for the week over Christmas returning on New Years Eve. We had read about this Riad in the Guardian a couple of years ago so knew we wanted to stay here. Lovely little Riad which is made more special by the owners Sybille and Saad, who were both welcoming and very attentive. We ate in a lot as the food was lovely, and did find the square a bit too much to handle! We had a hannah with the body scrub on site which was also very good. We would recommend a guide for a few hours, which Sybille arranged for us cost approx £25 for 3 hours. Cabs everywhere is a good thing only costing around £3-4 to the square, but make sure to agree a price before you get in, it is easy to get lost and local people will either send you the wrong way or want money for sending you the right way! Also it was a lot colder than we expected, although we did have three days of sunshine it was really cold first thing and the evening even on those days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose this hotel due to the outstanding reviews, and we were not dissapointed. We were the only guests staying in the hotel, but were still treated to first class service. We ate in the hotel on several evenings as the food could not be beaten else where. It really was food worthy of writing home about. Breakfast on the roof was a peacefull way to start the day, because as soon as you step out of the door you're in for a day of chaos.
The rooms are lovely and the bathrooms very special (we didnt upgrade).
We couldnt have faulted anything about this hotel, and for us it was much preferable to stay in a traditional Riad in the old Medina, rather than a large 'European' hotel in the modern part of Marrakech.
We couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We needed a log weekend break after a busy autumn! Bookng three nights in Marrakech we were delighted with this Riad.
Sybil organised a taxi driver t take us to the main sites on Saturday morning and a walking guide to take us around on Sunday morning.

Like others we upgraded to the suite on arrival. we were the only guests - but treated with utter courtesy at all times.

We ate out in the night market each evening.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

When we were researching our holiday, we were swamped with information and choices for accommodation and activities in Marrakech. However, we had to retain a balance: enough information so that we were not disappointed in our choice - yet absorbing just sufficient reviews to be confident in our likely comfort, whilst still retaining some surprises. From our arrival in Marrakech, and most particularly the Medina, all our senses were kept very busy absorbing life around us. With so many new experiences, it was important to have somewhere to wind down and recharge the batteries for each new day.
Fortunately, we had made an excellent choice of accommodation. We didn't want a large impersonal hotel in the new part of the city. So after reading a description and some of the reviews from other holiday makers, Riad dar Sbihi, in the Medina, looked very promising. This was found to be very much an understatement when Sibylle and Saad welcomed us to their riad and showed us around. A calm and relaxed atmosphere was generated by the traditionally planted central courtyard with scented herbs and birdsong. The rooms surround this area: the en-suite bathrooms give a sense of indulgence. We were there for too short a time to make use of the pool as we wished to be exploring the Medina or on organised trips for most of the time. Any spare time at the riad was quite often spent enjoying the lovely views from the terrace: the Atlas Mountains were snow-capped when we were there.
Sibylle and Saad were so helpful, knowledgeable and available. Their staff, judging by their frequent smiles, were happy in their work.
After our first dinner here, we decided it suited us best to have most evening meals at the riad as the menu was so varied and enjoyable.
Our 7 nights spent in Dar Sbihi were simply perfect!
Jackie and Peter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.