We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

When we were researching our holiday, we were swamped with information and choices for accommodation and activities in Marrakech. However, we had to retain a balance: enough information so that we were not disappointed in our choice - yet absorbing just sufficient reviews to be confident in our likely comfort, whilst still retaining some surprises. From our arrival in Marrakech, and most particularly the Medina, all our senses were kept very busy absorbing life around us. With so many new experiences, it was important to have somewhere to wind down and recharge the batteries for each new day.
Fortunately, we had made an excellent choice of accommodation. We didn't want a large impersonal hotel in the new part of the city. So after reading a description and some of the reviews from other holiday makers, Riad dar Sbihi, in the Medina, looked very promising. This was found to be very much an understatement when Sibylle and Saad welcomed us to their riad and showed us around. A calm and relaxed atmosphere was generated by the traditionally planted central courtyard with scented herbs and birdsong. The rooms surround this area: the en-suite bathrooms give a sense of indulgence. We were there for too short a time to make use of the pool as we wished to be exploring the Medina or on organised trips for most of the time. Any spare time at the riad was quite often spent enjoying the lovely views from the terrace: the Atlas Mountains were snow-capped when we were there.
Sibylle and Saad were so helpful, knowledgeable and available. Their staff, judging by their frequent smiles, were happy in their work.
After our first dinner here, we decided it suited us best to have most evening meals at the riad as the menu was so varied and enjoyable.
Our 7 nights spent in Dar Sbihi were simply perfect!
Jackie and Peter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
84
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staying at this Riad is like living on an exotic film set .... however when you go outside the doors its a bit different. Set at the far end of the Medina there are a lot of small alleys to negotiate between the main tourist areas and the Riad. This does mean you get a very local flavour of Marrakech – ours included several nights of drumming :) I loved listening to the early morning call to prayer start up quietly in the distance and echo around the city – one of the larger mosques is right behind the Riad but we didn’t mind this type of alarm call at all. Sybille, arranged for a guide and we took a half day walking tour which helped us get our bearings but we still managed to get lost many times. However, we couldn’t stop and look at a map because we were immediately surrounded by lots of people offering us directions (for a price!) – I later discovered they weren’t all telling us the correct way to go anyway!! That aside, our stay at the Riad was wonderful. We upgraded to a suite which was fantastic – we had bags of room and our own little sun terrace right outside the bedroom door. The beds are just so comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the luxurious bathroom, with towelling robes, slippers and also gorgeous smelling toiletries which were replenished daily. We used the in-house hamman twice which was lovely with all the soaps and oils etc. We ate at the Riad in the evening on a number of occasions and although quite pricy was very good food indeed. Breakfast was included and taken on the beautiful roof terrace every morning – a lovely mixture of pastries and local delicacies as well as honey, fig jam etc fresh orange juice, coffee and mint tea. The owners and staff at this Riad cannot do enough for you – they are very helpful and friendly. I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a suite do so - ours was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Marrakech then staying in a Riad is the answer so you can have a complete experience and feel 'local'. Riad Dar Sbihi was an Oasis in the middle of mayhem. Even the drums at night and local night noises were all part of the pleasure of staying in the Medina area of Marrakech. Sybille arranged all the excursions for us and the walking half day tour was brilliant as it showed you where to go, what to see and took away the initial worry of thinking you would get lost (which of course you do anyway). My sister and I loved it. The Atlas Mountains was a great tour and our taxi driver Abdul, although couldn't speak a lot of English (we did better with our tourist French) was extemely helpful and made us feel very welcome and pointed out the sights and generally was fantastic - an amazing driver as you wouldn't want to navigate the mules, motorcyclist, cars and people yourself. Saad and Sybille, the owners, and their staff were helpful and made us feel very welcome in their wonderful Riad.

Room Tip: All the rooms that I saw looked great - we had a twin and it was perfect to be able to open the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Before visiting Morocco we checked out the reviews of the Riads. Apart from the duds, they get similar plaudits. 'Little bit of paradise', 'Our little secret' etc. Truth is that they are probably all pretty similar. They look nothing from the outside and inside they are gorgeous. Here, where we stayed and Pepe Nero are the only ones we saw inside. Both beautiful.
That said I really cannot fault this one, the service was impeccable at all times of the day. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a particular pleasure. The one evening meal we had was lovely, the only reason we didn't eat here again was that we like experimenting. The room and bathroom well appointed. The owners Saad and Sybille always concerned and careful. They organised all of our trips at a fraction of the tour operator prices and each time with a personal guide. It is really difficult to say how anything could have been improved.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the west side not next to the alley. We had a bigger room because we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Do not be worried by the approach via the chaotic street market, the jumble of people, donkey carts, cars, taxis and dozens of motorcycles spewing out clouds of unsavoury exhaust, nor by the cobbled street with its gaping pothole on the Derb Taht el Khochba a few yards from the Riad door.
Once through that modest door you enter another world. Sybille, Saad and their staff are always there to welcome you and you do get treated as personal house guests. The courtyard and inwardly facing rooms provide a quiet haven from the bustle of life outside. Sybille is particularly good at catering for guests requests, providing excellent meals and arranging tours. She is an excellent conversationalist in English or French as well as other languages.
Days can start early with the call to prayer from the neighbouring mosque at or before sunrise and a chorus of birds chirping in the courtyard. Breakfast is served on carefully laid out tables inside or outside according to the weather. The choice of fruit juice, yoghurt, pancakes, bread and pastries along with coffee and mint tea makes a light but refreshing change from the fried breakfasts and cereals offered in many large international hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clenchwarton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

"Right smack dab in the middle of town
I've found a paradise that's trouble proof (up on the roof)
And if this world starts getting you down
There's room enough for two"


Paradise is the best word I can use to express our stay here. From the very 1st time we were welcomed in to the most beautifull and unique of Riads. Forget about 5* All Inc' in out-of city developments. For sheer position this scores 5/5. But it's the fact that it is owned and run by two amazing people who welcome you into their own home and treat you like old friends. Perhaps family run sums up our experience. You wake in the morning and go upstairs to the terrace {The roof} No sooner have you sat down and one of staff {Abdul as a rule} brings up a tray of breakfast. It's simple mint tea,Coffee,a selection of pastries,Yogurt,Bread and cheese and Fresh Orange juice. Once you have finished Sybille arrives and has a little chat and asks if your eating at the Riad that night. If you say NO you will miss out on her wonderful cooking. It's all excellent and the range is varied from traditional Tajine fayre to Moussaka and Spag Bol' all cooked to a very high standard and served by another memder of staff called Layla. To put it another way, we never suffered any illness eating at the Riad unlike a few other people we met who had eaten out and paid the price.

As I said the position of the Riad is perfect. Right in the north end of the Madina close to the Souk and the main square.

http://www.riaddarsbihi.com/en

Because there are only 10 rooms it's like you have a private Riad with your own staff.

Sybille and Saad are very friendly hosts and can organise a guide for your 1st day so you can get a feel for the area. They can also arrange tours and taxi hire for you.

I would recommend that once at the Riad you upgrade, if possible, to a suite as this adds that little bit more luxury. Also check out Saad's vinyl collecting he has got a few gems in there.

We had a great time and will return in a couple of years. Please, for a laugh, read the negative reviews on T.A. Having stayed here and having the experiance I think the negative feed back is probably more spite than constructve.

At the end of the day this Raid ticked all the right boxes and our only moan was that we couldn't have stayed longer.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

OUR LITTLE HAVEN

We can’t recommend this beautiful, peaceful and friendly riad, in The Medina enough. Saad and Sibylle are so welcoming that you feel like one of the family, as are all the wonderful staff. Everything is done with such care and attention, breakfast on the terrace or lunch/dinner in the courtyard, nothing is too much trouble. They also play very groovy music that meets the ambience just right. I even managed a wee bit of dancing much to Saad’s delight. It is amazing how peaceful and relaxing it is after coming back from the cacophony of sound and movement outside. Sibylle also does a mean Moussaka and Spaghetti Bolognese, as well as traditional cuisine. We would recommend that you book all your trips via them, especially if it is your first visit, as it can be very daunting if you try to go it alone. We would go again in an instant.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;