We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR LITTLE HAVEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OUR LITTLE HAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

OUR LITTLE HAVEN

We can’t recommend this beautiful, peaceful and friendly riad, in The Medina enough. Saad and Sibylle are so welcoming that you feel like one of the family, as are all the wonderful staff. Everything is done with such care and attention, breakfast on the terrace or lunch/dinner in the courtyard, nothing is too much trouble. They also play very groovy music that meets the ambience just right. I even managed a wee bit of dancing much to Saad’s delight. It is amazing how peaceful and relaxing it is after coming back from the cacophony of sound and movement outside. Sibylle also does a mean Moussaka and Spaghetti Bolognese, as well as traditional cuisine. We would recommend that you book all your trips via them, especially if it is your first visit, as it can be very daunting if you try to go it alone. We would go again in an instant.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
83
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week and really enjoyed it. Our first visit to Marrakech it was important we could have a nice environment to stay in and this was certainly it. It is spotlessly clean and very quiet in stark contrast to the bustle just outside.

We ate at the riad a few times and the food was always excellent. We found some nice restaurants as well just a 10 minute walk away (kafe souk, les jardins, cafe arabe, Terrasse des epices). I don't know what it is like to stay in the more modern parts but I am glad we stayed in the medina. It takes some getting used to but after a while you realise it is safe and you can always retreat to the riad or a restaurant if you want to relax.

The staff are just lovely and makes you realise what nice people the locals are. Always attentive but never intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble. The owners Sybille and Saad made us very welcome and Saad's dry humour made us laugh.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my husband have just returned from our honeymoon here and we can honestly say we have never stayed anywhere better.
The riad is very traditional. Lovely courtyard and you can even see the Koutoubia Mosque from the rooftop. The service is amazing, Sybille and Saad can not do enough for you. The food is very reasonable priced and better than anything we had elsewhere (not traditionally moroccan, but the spaghetti and lasagne are both amazing). Sybille was even able to arrange for guides for any trips we wanted.
Miss the place already !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

we have just spent a week at the riad dar sbihi, we were looked after so well by sybille and saad the owners, they couldn't do enough for us, once outside the beautiful riad you have to embrace the madness of the souks and the square, just keep walking and don't stop! even if your lost, if all else fails just give saad a call. the staff at the riad are also superb, look forward to returning in the near future. while on your stay ask saad or sybille if you can listen to some uncle tom!, they will know what you mean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just what we wanted. Beautiful, chilled friendly little corner of heaven. Fabulous court yard, terrace and rooms. Saad and Sibylle were so welcoming and it was like saying goodbye to old friends when we left, lovely friendly, helpful people. The riad was close enough to the square to walk but far enough away from the hustle and bustle and noise. Great little place, can't recommend it enough. Try it, you'll love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We wanted a mix of chilled out relaxation and a cultural experience. We chose the right place. Service was polite and smiley and the staff could no do enough for us and we felt very well looked after throughout our stay. Saad and Sibylle, the owners, were friendly and engaging. The riad itself is very pretty and a great place to hang out and relax- yet still within 15 minutes walk of the major sights of the city and 20 minutes from the airport. The in hotel hammam was splendid. Practically nothing to fault at all about this place. It delivers exactly what the owners set out to do . Recommended

Room Tip: each room is different. take a look to see which suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have just spent a delightful 7 day holiday at Riad Dar Sbihi in Marrakech and readily endorse the many "Excellent" commentss provided by previous reviewers of this homely, relaxed and friendly riad.
From the first warm welcome until our final departure Sybille and Saad made our stay thoroughly enjoyable and were always happy to provide helpful and sensible advice when needed. The quiet family atmosphere was maintained by the didligent and courtuous staff at the Riad.
Breakfast was particularly enjoyable on the sunny roof terrace with a romantic view of the distant snow capped Atlas mountains. If you tired of the view you could always lay out on the sun loungers thoughtfully provided nearby.
Don't change any money at your home airport before departure. Saad provides a much better rate which is fairly consistent throughout Marrakech at reputable establishments. Sybille provided us with a free map for the city and arranged for the local guide to walk us to the 'Big Square' and the souk on the first afternoon. This was very helpful to enable us to quickly get our bearings and find our way home on subsequent walks.
All the rooms in the Riad were spacious and comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. Perfectly quiet in the room we stayed in abutting the next house, but another guest with a room on the street side mentioned a little noise from the street. Of course the muezzin could be heard calling the dawn prayers but this would be true for any riad in the medina.
If you have had a hot and dusty day, the little heated pool in the Riad is ideal for re-invigorating the tired limbs. A hammam is also available but we never got round to trying it. Needed more time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.