We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Sbihi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Sbihi to your Saves list
Riad Dar Sbihi
25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

we have just spent a week at the riad dar sbihi, we were looked after so well by sybille and saad the owners, they couldn't do enough for us, once outside the beautiful riad you have to embrace the madness of the souks and the square, just keep walking and don't stop! even if your lost, if all else fails just give saad a call. the staff at the riad are also superb, look forward to returning in the near future. while on your stay ask saad or sybille if you can listen to some uncle tom!, they will know what you mean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bedford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just what we wanted. Beautiful, chilled friendly little corner of heaven. Fabulous court yard, terrace and rooms. Saad and Sibylle were so welcoming and it was like saying goodbye to old friends when we left, lovely friendly, helpful people. The riad was close enough to the square to walk but far enough away from the hustle and bustle and noise. Great little place, can't recommend it enough. Try it, you'll love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We wanted a mix of chilled out relaxation and a cultural experience. We chose the right place. Service was polite and smiley and the staff could no do enough for us and we felt very well looked after throughout our stay. Saad and Sibylle, the owners, were friendly and engaging. The riad itself is very pretty and a great place to hang out and relax- yet still within 15 minutes walk of the major sights of the city and 20 minutes from the airport. The in hotel hammam was splendid. Practically nothing to fault at all about this place. It delivers exactly what the owners set out to do . Recommended

Room Tip: each room is different. take a look to see which suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have just spent a delightful 7 day holiday at Riad Dar Sbihi in Marrakech and readily endorse the many "Excellent" commentss provided by previous reviewers of this homely, relaxed and friendly riad.
From the first warm welcome until our final departure Sybille and Saad made our stay thoroughly enjoyable and were always happy to provide helpful and sensible advice when needed. The quiet family atmosphere was maintained by the didligent and courtuous staff at the Riad.
Breakfast was particularly enjoyable on the sunny roof terrace with a romantic view of the distant snow capped Atlas mountains. If you tired of the view you could always lay out on the sun loungers thoughtfully provided nearby.
Don't change any money at your home airport before departure. Saad provides a much better rate which is fairly consistent throughout Marrakech at reputable establishments. Sybille provided us with a free map for the city and arranged for the local guide to walk us to the 'Big Square' and the souk on the first afternoon. This was very helpful to enable us to quickly get our bearings and find our way home on subsequent walks.
All the rooms in the Riad were spacious and comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. Perfectly quiet in the room we stayed in abutting the next house, but another guest with a room on the street side mentioned a little noise from the street. Of course the muezzin could be heard calling the dawn prayers but this would be true for any riad in the medina.
If you have had a hot and dusty day, the little heated pool in the Riad is ideal for re-invigorating the tired limbs. A hammam is also available but we never got round to trying it. Needed more time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Beautiful, welcoming Riad and lovely owners and staff who made us really feel like honoured guests in their family home.Having travelled extensively I have never felt more hospitably treated. Lovely comfy big beds, delicious food, rapid service and glorious breakfasts in the sun on the roof terrace. Everyone was most helpful with anything we asked for or enquired about.I really felt the Moroccan experience staying in a Riad in the Medina but Sybille, Saad, Leila and the other staff turned it into a luxurious fantasy. Superb!

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely. We had a mini suite as we like a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

As arranged with Sibylle, Abdul met us at the airport and took us through some amazing streets to Riad Dar Sbihi. From the moment we walked through the door it was clear that we had made the right choice with staying with Sibylle. She sat us down, gave us some mint tea, a quick guide to the area and offered us some day trips to get us started.

We were given the opportunity to select from two double rooms, both beautifully decorated and really comfortable. Once settled in, we had a great meal at the Riad and organised that the next morning Abdul would pick us up again to show us some of the sights that were a little farther afield (to save our feet).

We awoke next morning to an incredible breakfast on the terrace (every morning was equally as good with a little change each day to the menu). Sibylle and Saad were perfect hosts and all the other staff were constantly smiley, helpful and attentive.

The location is slightly north of the main touristy area but it's an easy 10 minute walk into the heart of the medina and felt great to be amongst a real community.

Abdul's tour was just what we needed and after he dropped us off we felt happy wandering the souks and thankfully didn't get lost too much!

Each evening it was great to return to the calm riad and wake up refreshed and ready for another great breakfast and a day of exploring.

Room Tip: For March it was a little warmer in the upstairs rooms as it can get quite cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I can only think the man who wrote the previous review would find fault with Kubla Khan's Xanadu. Dar Sbihi is everything one could possibly hope or wish a riad to be: faultlessly beautiful rooms built around a glorious interior garden, home to chirping songbirds by day and lit by flickering lamps at night.
But not only is it luxury down to even the smallest detail (the mattress & sheets were such high quality, and the shower so hot and powerful that only Sibylle's delicious and delightful rooftop-garden breakfast could tempt me out every morning) - Saad and Sibylle are the kindest, friendliest, most entertaining and helpful hosts that can be imagined. When I was horrifically ripped off in the medina, Saad called the shopowner himself, got my credit card payment reversed and persuaded the shop to send someone to collect the unwanted items I had bought. It was a complicated transaction - but Saad handled it expertly, and with a sense of responsibility on my behalf that was above and beyond the call of duty.
One warning: although it's probably worth accepting the suggestion by Sibylle and Saad to use a guide they recommend to show you round the medina's labyrinth, please don't make the mistake of believing he will protect you from being cheated by the shopowners. He won't. Not for a single second. It's worth taking a business card from any shop the guide recommends and returning their in your own time. The pressure you're put under to pay outrageous prices will still be traumatic - but less so.
Not only that - but if you make ANY restaurant booking when the guide is present, the commission he will claim means you will find yourself limited to a selection of expensive set-menus. This isn't dishonesty, as such - it just seems to be the System in Marrakech.
...and the restaurant-trick (which, I admit, I found particularly infuriating) happens even if you have only asked the guide to show you where a specific restaurant is. We knew where we wanted to eat and only asked the guide to point out the building to us, as we passed during our tour. It made no difference: when we returned that evening, ready for our meal, we found the same trick had been played.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Sbihi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Sbihi

Address: 25, Derb Taht El-Khochba, | Zaouia El-Abbassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large classical riad (1st category) offering 5 rooms, 3 mini suites and 2 suites around a central courtyard adorned with a fountain in the middle of 4 gardens. All traditional rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar, safe, phone, hair dryer. Heated pool (5m x 3m), hammam, meals on request, parking. Personal service by the owners who live in their riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Sbihi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sbihi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Sbihi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.