We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Maroc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Catalina

Save Saved
You added Riad Catalina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Catalina
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   21 Derb Allal Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I love Maroc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent location in the Medina, easy walk to the main square and attractions in the Old Town.

The staff are very helpful and work hard and long.

Our room was on the first floor with a window into the courtyard, it was smallish but fine the bathroom was large enough for us.

Breakfasts were a bit repetitive and boring really, the only saving grace was good orange juice and hot coffee.

Do not be put off by the approach, it is well lit at night.

We were disturbed by late night returners who sat and talked loudly on the patio above our room. Not the hotel's fault!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the second floor with a patio rooms 307 and 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    73
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
120
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Riad is in a great location. We loved the fact that we could go to the night market and eat local food and stroll back to our accommodation.
The beds are not that comfy. I wish they would provide duvets but its sheets and itchy blankets.

The staff are superb. Very friendly and always happy to accommodate. Breakfast was varied with local pastries which was a treat.

The pool is not a pool! It's a place to wet your feet. We bought our swim gear and burst out laughing when we saw what it was. Don't waste your time.

We stayed in a room at the top - the best location - roof top views and our own balcony.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a really nice place. The rooms and courtyard are delightful. Not polished and overdone, it looks and feels authentic. We were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room with a terrace outside and woke to the sounds of the birds in the tops of the courtyard trees. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Our evening meal at the riad gave us probably the best and most subtle tajine meal we ate in Morroco during our 5 day stay, however, the same could not be said for breakfast. Apart from the very nice fresh orange juice the rest was disappointingly dull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are not ones to normally go against the trend but we didn't like Riad Catalina. The courtyard is lovely, especially at night when they make a huge effort placing candles and lamps around, creating a lovely atmosphere and the proximity to the Jemaa El Fna square and souk is just an easy, interesting 5 to 10 minute walk away. Our room, which was only just OK, was reached via a flight of dimly lit, steep, narrow, twisting steps with a hand rail which kept swapping from side to side due to the twists. Our bathroom was an obstacle course, with a step into it, another step to the toilet and two steep steps up to the shower followed by a very steep step down into the shower tub with no grab handles. The tub itself was made of a material and colour which resembled the old walls of Marrakech. The marble basin was chipped and looked grubby, the tap was loose which made altering the water temperature difficult. The only window opening to the outside was high up on the bathroom wall and reached by standing on the top step leading to the shower. Fortunatly although aged 65 and 75, we are fit.
Breakfast and the one evening meal we had there, was taken in a beautiful room off the courtyard (it was too cold to sit outside), but there are only coffee tables in this room which makes eating a meal uncomfortable, however we did see one couple sitting at a proper table in the courtyard one evening under a gas heater.
We decided not to complain or ask for another room, we were there for only 4 nights, it had been our choice to stay in a Riad, maybe they are all the same and when you see beggars in the square with hungry children or missing limbs, things are put into perspective. The last straw came on our last morning just as we about to leave for the airport when we were presented with a bill for 240 dirhams (about £18) for city tax. We tried to explain to the young man at the desk that this bill would have been paid by our tour operator but he didn't understand so he put me on the phone to his boss. I was greeted with ''I am the Manageress, why are you making all this trouble for us?'' I tried to explain but she kept talking over me and wouldn't let me speak. In the end we gave the young man the last of our Dirhams, kept for buyng coffee and snacks at the airport, we just wanted to leave Riad Catalina and Marrakech and go home.
The Riad has since apologised to our tour operator, admitted their mistake and refunded the money. Anyone can make a mistake but there was no reason for the manager to be so rude, we wil not be returning, our trip to Marrakech doesn't leave us with happy memories

Room Tip: Make sure you are fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you don't like birds or you want a clinical first class place to stay this will not be for you.It just sums up Morrocco .The breakfast room was wonderful.The staff amazing ,particularly the waiter in the evening .Some tips from the rep-don't go into the northern part after dark when the souks end leave after 6pm.Always offer at least half of what they suggest the price is.We much preffered Morrocco to Turkey and Tunisia the hagglers are not rude at all.
Some tips from us.Take a phone with GPS as there are no signs and you can't ask people as you will end up in their relatives shop.The police don't know where anywhere is either and we gave up trying to find one of the museums.
We ate at the Riad a couple of times and it was good and three courses the red wine was ok but the white tasted like sherry.
On our last day.Gutted we found a really good place to eat la porte Du Marrakech on the Toulet Kennaria It was great and only £8 for two meals and drinks.The food was really well presented as well not just dumped on a plate.We ate at one of the recommended ones on the square and found the service bad and they didn't give us change .The Riad was really central and we found some short cuts .We loved this place and would def go back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a balcony would recommend lovely in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited Marrakech for a week-end to celebrate a significant birthday, and wanted to stay in a riad for a truly Moroccan experience. Riad Catalina ticked all the boxes for us. From the moment we stepped from the narrow alleys of the medina through that sturdy door into the beautiful courtyard, we were enchanted. The interior was peaceful and leafy, full of birdsong by day and lit by lanterns at night. We have happy memories of tiled floors and walls, a marble fountain centrepiece, orange and fig trees, doves and tortoises, and a very friendly atmosphere. Our room was comfortable and quiet with traditional charm. The city beyond those sheltering pink walls was as weird and wonderful as expected. We enjoyed Jemaa el-Fna by day and night, bartered in the souks, and just wandered around hither and thither to relish all the unfamiliar scents, sights and sounds. Then we returned to nearby Riad Catalina to relax in very pretty surroundings and eat delicious home cooked food away from the melée. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything went well here--room on top floor was clean and cool (important!). Good size room with interesting but functional layout of bathroom, shower, and sitting area. Creative updates. King size bed was divided into twins for my son and me.

Pool was across the way also on the rooftop. And the pool was refreshing.

Breakfast was under a canopy in a garden with a turtle moseying about and eating lettuce. Service was attentive and effective. In the afternoons, there was a bar, and in the evenings a dinner special.

I don't know why it sits as low as it does in the ratings. And equally I don't know what else they could do to improve their score.

The place was interesting, clean, attractive, and very quiet. Located down a narrow lane but a short walk to the Koutoubia mosque and with views of it and the Atlas Mountains, its location was excellent for its removal from the mainstream and its proximity to the city center.

Staff were helpful about logistics and assistance.

Room Tip: Inside, top floor is all we know, and it was quiet with a sun porch. The center garden was cooling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Catalina

Address: 21 Derb Allal Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Catalina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Catalina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.