We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the madness of Morrocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Catalina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Catalina to your Saves list
Riad Catalina
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   21 Derb Allal Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #442 of 1,116 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Escape from the madness of Morrocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you don't like birds or you want a clinical first class place to stay this will not be for you.It just sums up Morrocco .The breakfast room was wonderful.The staff amazing ,particularly the waiter in the evening .Some tips from the rep-don't go into the northern part after dark when the souks end leave after 6pm.Always offer at least half of what they suggest the price is.We much preffered Morrocco to Turkey and Tunisia the hagglers are not rude at all.
Some tips from us.Take a phone with GPS as there are no signs and you can't ask people as you will end up in their relatives shop.The police don't know where anywhere is either and we gave up trying to find one of the museums.
We ate at the Riad a couple of times and it was good and three courses the red wine was ok but the white tasted like sherry.
On our last day.Gutted we found a really good place to eat la porte Du Marrakech on the Toulet Kennaria It was great and only £8 for two meals and drinks.The food was really well presented as well not just dumped on a plate.We ate at one of the recommended ones on the square and found the service bad and they didn't give us change .The Riad was really central and we found some short cuts .We loved this place and would def go back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a balcony would recommend lovely in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    88
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
142
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited Marrakech for a week-end to celebrate a significant birthday, and wanted to stay in a riad for a truly Moroccan experience. Riad Catalina ticked all the boxes for us. From the moment we stepped from the narrow alleys of the medina through that sturdy door into the beautiful courtyard, we were enchanted. The interior was peaceful and leafy, full of birdsong by day and lit by lanterns at night. We have happy memories of tiled floors and walls, a marble fountain centrepiece, orange and fig trees, doves and tortoises, and a very friendly atmosphere. Our room was comfortable and quiet with traditional charm. The city beyond those sheltering pink walls was as weird and wonderful as expected. We enjoyed Jemaa el-Fna by day and night, bartered in the souks, and just wandered around hither and thither to relish all the unfamiliar scents, sights and sounds. Then we returned to nearby Riad Catalina to relax in very pretty surroundings and eat delicious home cooked food away from the melée. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything went well here--room on top floor was clean and cool (important!). Good size room with interesting but functional layout of bathroom, shower, and sitting area. Creative updates. King size bed was divided into twins for my son and me.

Pool was across the way also on the rooftop. And the pool was refreshing.

Breakfast was under a canopy in a garden with a turtle moseying about and eating lettuce. Service was attentive and effective. In the afternoons, there was a bar, and in the evenings a dinner special.

I don't know why it sits as low as it does in the ratings. And equally I don't know what else they could do to improve their score.

The place was interesting, clean, attractive, and very quiet. Located down a narrow lane but a short walk to the Koutoubia mosque and with views of it and the Atlas Mountains, its location was excellent for its removal from the mainstream and its proximity to the city center.

Staff were helpful about logistics and assistance.

Room Tip: Inside, top floor is all we know, and it was quiet with a sun porch. The center garden was cooling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapellen, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Arriving there was a disappointment ! Birds everywhere, also while enjoying breakfast, trying to pick your food. Room (blue room, garden) is very small and not very clean. Price is too high for what you get. But the staff is very friendly. Location is ok, but very busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A quiet base from which to explore Marrakech. Wonderful friendly service, good food and atmospheric setting. Ten minutes walk to the Souks and central square. Quickly gets you into the feel of this wonderful city. Small number of rooms makes the place very intimate. Great views from the roof top swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Riad is very beautiful but quite old so a little "Shabby Chique". The rooms themselves, whilst very comfortable and clean are very small. We had the Blue Room the bed was comfy and the covers look very plush but we could hardy walk around the bed the space was so limited. The staff were without exception very friendly and efficient. You take your breakfast in the central courtyard which is full of trees and a central fountain. It can be quite chilly in here in the morning before the sun reaches it. Breakfast consists of coffee fresh orange juice, bread with jam or honey and cake or pastries. The location of the Riad is very good for reaching all places around the Medina. It is located down a shabby looking alley (as are most of the riads in the Medina) but it is very safe and easy to find. It is only a 10 minute walk (max) to the Square. You can see the Koutoubia Minaret from the Riad so aim for that and you're not far away. Another landmark to look out for is the Islane Hotel. The road behind that hotel is the road that takes you back to the riad alley entrance. The riad has a small dip pool on the roof with a few sun beds and chairs which is nice to sit in the evening as the rooms only have very small windows so can be rather dark.

Room Tip: All standard rooms are the same size just different colours For more room you would need to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flitwick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Within 1/2 a mile of manic central Marrakesh the Catalina is an oasis of calm. The excellent staff are their for your every need and are always smiling and attentive. Would recommend this Riad, and would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Catalina

Address: 21 Derb Allal Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 1,116 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Catalina 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Catalina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.