We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nejma Lounge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Nejma Lounge to your Saves list
Riad Nejma Lounge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   45, Derb Sidi M'hamed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #475 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for five nights in September.
We were made to feel very welcome by Abdulla and other staff
members. Nothing was too much trouble for them.The room was
very comfortable and the air con really good.They even organised
trips out for us.We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Double room on first floor,just at the top of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABDOU203, Manager at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hey there,thank you so much for your great comment,see you next year...
Manager Abdou and staff riad nejma lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    26
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
12
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The riad is a little bit of a nightmare to find... it looks easy, but not all of the alleys in the medina are on any one map! We were lucky that a very helpful local took pity on the hot and flustered pair of us and directed us straight there with simple to follow instructions!

The riad itself is situated near to the main entrance of the Medina, but down an alley, so we found it relatively quiet... not sure if other reviewers went at different times, but for us it was quite relaxed and peaceful! We arrived to a welcome of mint tea and moroccan pastries, where Abdul then went through the check in process with us and gave us a really useful hand-drawn map down to the Djema al Fna market square... this was our godsend during our stay! The riad was lovely and cool in the Marrakech heat, and the rooms were clean and tidy. The shower was a little temperamental, and because of the original stonework the "bathroom" area was not enclosed, so if you have a dinner that doesn't quite agree with you I imagine it can get a bit "not nice" in the room! We stayed in the purple room, and although it was quite pricy the location and standards in comparison to some of the other riads was better so we decided to splash out.

There is also a beautiful roof terrace, and becuase there were only 4 other guests there at the same time as us, we had it to ourselves the majority of the time. The views across the medina are incredible, and you can hear the chants from the local mosque at prayer time, which was actually quite mellowing after a busy day exploring and shopping. The only thing we perhaps found as a negative was the cost of food and drink in the riad - becuase of the local way of life alcohol is pricy anyway, but the riads know it is difficult to get hold of in the Medina walls so it can be a bit of a shock when you first pay your bills, particularly if you're drinking beers! Service can also be a bit slow as the staff are down on the bottom floor, so take their time coming up to the terrace if it's just you - recommend order as many as possible at once!

All in all though, a great place to stay and it was an excellent retreat for our adventure, I would recommend it and would definitely go back if we visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABDOU203, Manager at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hey there,thank you so much for your great comment,see you next year...
Manager Abdou and staff riad nejma lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS, FRANCE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Charming atmosphere with a clean pool only used by cockroaches. Still, you're in the middle of the Medina! Rooms are comfy but not very well lit. In winter Marrakech reaches 5ºC and below and thus heaters are needed. The riad's are FAR TOO NOISY. We ended up buying ear plugs. In the summer, air con must produce same effect. However, letting these minor flaws apart, th bathrooms are very clean. Also the rooms. And the service is very helpful. We went on a day excursion and they prepared us a lovely take away breakfast without extra cost. The terrace is cosy though with not very great views.

Room Tip: There's only 5 and you don't want the bottom floor one nor the upper room. First one is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABDOU203, Manager at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hey there,thank you so much for your great comment,see you next year...
Manager Abdou and staff riad nejma lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Met by friendly Abdul after we found our way down the back alley ways. We stayed 3 nights (we were the only ones there) in this Riad which is on the outskirts of the medina. This makes it handy if you want to catch a taxi to the square or elsewhere if you've had enough of walking in the souks. Abdul gave us a mud map which I never relly mastered as it wasn't to any sort of scale and I needed a magnifying glass to read the writing.
Breakfast was basic but filling enough on the wonderful terrace. The room was clean but the floor wasn't level so sleeping in the bed was interesting. The bathroom was spacious with good hot water and pressure, we did have to empty the a/c overflow as it emptied into a bottle in the bathroom. Emails with the owner were answered promptly, they even encouraged us to come as they had had some cancellations after the bombing of a cafe in the square.
As it was winter we never had a chance to try out the plunge pool on the ground floor. The staff went out of there way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingabdou, Gérant at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
hi there ,thanks for your sweet comment , you are always welcome.
your stay was so great with us.hope see you very soon.
sunny regards from marrakech : Abdou Manager riad nejma lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We arrived to a warm welcome of Abdul the manager who served us mint tea and gave us a brief overview of the city map and the places we wanted to go. He was really helpful and lent us a hair dryer, UK adapter and wireless modem (which didn't work on Mac though).

Breakfast was below average though. Simple strawberry jam served with a few pancakes and bread + butter, coffee was a plus.

The design of the room was poor in a way that the toilet had no door and any foul smell from the toilet travels to the bedroom in no time. Also, showers were usually broken and the tap had no hot water. We travelled in winter so it was essential that we had hot water.

Other than that, the staff were really genuinely helpful which deserves much praise as it is hard to find a hotel/ riad that is not out to scam their tourists. Overall, a good riad with a nice rooftop terrace if you don't mind faulty showers and open toilets with no doors.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Really helpful staff - Abdou is great when he is around. Near Bab Doukkala bus, which is good for getting to other cities. A little way from the square, but you don't have the slow trudge through all the souks. Were able to give travel tips, ideas and sort out a very early morning breakfast and taxi transfer. We returned to this Riad later on in the trip. Steven the owner does answer emails swiftly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingabdou, Manager at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
hi ,thanks for your comment dear friend and you always welcome.
your stay was very pleasant with us.
hope to see you soon.
Sunny regards from marrakech : Abdou Manager nejma lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at Riad Nejma in May 2010. Its located on the edge of the Medina which is good for grabbing a taxi if you want to escape the repetive foods offered in the Medina an have great french food in the new town area.
The Riad is very well decorated with good rooms, although I would warn against the smaller/cheaper rooms as they have NO windows, not even onto the riad courtyard, abit like being in a cell (with a toilet in the corner)!
The manager is very helpful, speaks english and can give good advice on the Medina.
The decor of the Riad is more modern/Ikea than the beautiful tiles one associates with Morocco, chequerboard black and white floor tiles throughout, all very nicely done but...
Breakfast on the roof is very pleasant, no views worth pondering over.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#147 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#144 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#19 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#48 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#196 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nejma Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nejma Lounge

Address: 45, Derb Sidi M'hamed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Nejma Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Medina, in the Bab Doukala district of Marrakech, this Riad with a lap pool is a 15-minute walk from Jamaa El Fna Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Nejma Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nejma Lounge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nejma Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.