We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nejma Lounge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nejma Lounge

Save Saved
You added Riad Nejma Lounge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Nejma Lounge
45, Derb Sidi M'hamed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Nejma Lounge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Met by friendly Abdul after we found our way down the back alley ways. We stayed 3 nights (we were the only ones there) in this Riad which is on the outskirts of the medina. This makes it handy if you want to catch a taxi to the square or elsewhere if you've had enough of walking in the souks. Abdul gave us a mud map which I never relly mastered as it wasn't to any sort of scale and I needed a magnifying glass to read the writing.
Breakfast was basic but filling enough on the wonderful terrace. The room was clean but the floor wasn't level so sleeping in the bed was interesting. The bathroom was spacious with good hot water and pressure, we did have to empty the a/c overflow as it emptied into a bottle in the bathroom. Emails with the owner were answered promptly, they even encouraged us to come as they had had some cancellations after the bombing of a cafe in the square.
As it was winter we never had a chance to try out the plunge pool on the ground floor. The staff went out of there way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingabdou, Gérant at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
hi there ,thanks for your sweet comment , you are always welcome.
your stay was so great with us.hope see you very soon.
sunny regards from marrakech : Abdou Manager riad nejma lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    21
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We arrived to a warm welcome of Abdul the manager who served us mint tea and gave us a brief overview of the city map and the places we wanted to go. He was really helpful and lent us a hair dryer, UK adapter and wireless modem (which didn't work on Mac though).

Breakfast was below average though. Simple strawberry jam served with a few pancakes and bread + butter, coffee was a plus.

The design of the room was poor in a way that the toilet had no door and any foul smell from the toilet travels to the bedroom in no time. Also, showers were usually broken and the tap had no hot water. We travelled in winter so it was essential that we had hot water.

Other than that, the staff were really genuinely helpful which deserves much praise as it is hard to find a hotel/ riad that is not out to scam their tourists. Overall, a good riad with a nice rooftop terrace if you don't mind faulty showers and open toilets with no doors.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Really helpful staff - Abdou is great when he is around. Near Bab Doukkala bus, which is good for getting to other cities. A little way from the square, but you don't have the slow trudge through all the souks. Were able to give travel tips, ideas and sort out a very early morning breakfast and taxi transfer. We returned to this Riad later on in the trip. Steven the owner does answer emails swiftly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingabdou, Manager at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
hi ,thanks for your comment dear friend and you always welcome.
your stay was very pleasant with us.
hope to see you soon.
Sunny regards from marrakech : Abdou Manager nejma lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at Riad Nejma in May 2010. Its located on the edge of the Medina which is good for grabbing a taxi if you want to escape the repetive foods offered in the Medina an have great french food in the new town area.
The Riad is very well decorated with good rooms, although I would warn against the smaller/cheaper rooms as they have NO windows, not even onto the riad courtyard, abit like being in a cell (with a toilet in the corner)!
The manager is very helpful, speaks english and can give good advice on the Medina.
The decor of the Riad is more modern/Ikea than the beautiful tiles one associates with Morocco, chequerboard black and white floor tiles throughout, all very nicely done but...
Breakfast on the roof is very pleasant, no views worth pondering over.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Super stylish riad in the centre of Marakech. Little swimmingpool, terrific roofterrace. The men who work there (French and Moroccan) are really helpfull. They decorated the place so wonderfully! Good shower and bed. In 2007 no wireless internet, but we didn't think that was important. Really really good!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

I stayed at the Riad Nejma Lounge twice, (a total of 7 nights), during a two week visit to Morocco, (the second time unbooked but because of the very warm welcome I had received the first time). A traditional Riad with a very Moroccan feel to it. The room was clean and comfortable, (showers were hot), and breakfast on the roof was a good way to start the day, (make sure you try the fig jam). There is even a small indoor heated pool/bath to relax in by the courtyard. You can order evening meals, (and cold beers), here and the one I had was very tasty!
However, the best thing about the Nejma Lounge are the people who run it. The Manager, Ali, and his staff - Anas, Aziza, Fatima and Faiza - could not be more welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They really ensure you enjoy, and get the best out of, your stay. I have nothing negative to write about my two stays at Nejma Lounge, only positives. I was very well looked after.
The Nejma Lounge is about 20 minutes, (interesting), easy walk to the Djemaa el-Fna, (the main square), but is also well placed for the Ville Nouvelle district. I didn't need to use taxis to get around and was able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingabdou, MANAGER at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
hi there ,thanks for your sweet comment dear friend and you are always welcome.your stay was very pleasant with us.The manager name is Abdou not Ali.
hope to see you very soon.
sunny regards from marrakech : Abdou Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed for about a week in this riad, which is located in the Medina of Marrakech.
The staff is very friendly and the service is superb.
The little pool in the lounge is very refreshing after a sunbath on the roofterasse.
A Trip from Marrakech to the peak of Mt. Toubkal was the highlight on our holiday!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingabdou, MANAGER at Riad Nejma Lounge, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
hi there ,thanks for your sweet comment , you are always welcome.
your stay was vso great with us.hope see you very soon.
sunny regards from marrakech : Abdou Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Nejma Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nejma Lounge

Address: 45, Derb Sidi M'hamed El Haj | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Nejma Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nejma Lounge Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nejma Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.