We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech for Xmas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines to your Saves list
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 derb Abda | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Marrakech for Xmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We went to Marrakech for Xmas and stayed at this Riad. We booked through BA as a package, and we decided before leaving to use the car service provided by the hotel for our collection from the airport.

I am glad we did for 2 reasons:-

1) It was cheaper than any cost we heard of from people just grabbing a cab from the airport.

2) The Angsana Riad's are a collection of Riads. This one (Lyndines) is no-where near the other collection of Riad's. We were actually booked for one of the other one's, but were placed in Lyndines. If we had not booked transport through hotel, we would have gone to the wrong one and needed to get a cab to the correct one (others in the Riad had this issue).

The Riad was very, very clean, and everyone that worked there was extremely friendly and helpful. It was too cold to use the pool (it is very small), but we did manage to sit on the roof terrace which was very comfortable.

Breakfast was served every morning, by Fatima, who spoke very good English with a smile. Same menu every day, which is a bit boring, but the food was all served quickly, and was tasty enough. If you want other food for lunch/dinner you do need to inform the riad in advance, as they get the food from one of the other riads. However with so much to choose from in Marrakech to eat - we never ate there aside from breakfast.

The location of the Riad was in the heart of the Kasbah. Approx 10/15 mins walk from the Big Square. It was down a warren of small streets, but easy enough to find your way around as long as you stuck to the same direction when leaving or arriving from Saadien tombs (we used this as our reference point). Despite kids hanging around outside, and the narrow streets being a bit dark and dingy at night, we never got hassled by anyone trying to make some money from us for directions, or begging etc near the Riad. Others that stayed in other locations (including those of the other Angsana Riads complained to us of being hassled).

The rooms were very clean (in fact we struggled to get in the rooms during the day as they were being cleaned so much!).

There was no bar in the Riad - and alcohol to take away was difficult to come by. However the Carrefour is approx 10 mins in a cab, and you can stock up there, and bring back to riad to drink if you wish. Generally finding alcohol in Marrakech is an issue! The places you want to drink and people watch (Medina/Kasbah) there are no bars. The places you can drink in the new town (Gueliz) there is alcohol, but you could be in any town in the world - just not very interesting.

All in all we had a great time there, I managed to get a round of golf booked through the Riad, and we got an atlas mountains trip booked through them (note we chose our own trip from tripadvisor - rather than the trips in the Riad's book).

One really nice touch were we were given a cell phone with the number of the Riad, and the guy who ran the Riad during the day (Salah) so we could get in touch in case of emergency. We never needed it though.

All in all it was a very clean, nice place to stay - and we could not have wished for anything more on this trip.

Room Tip: Due to the type of location sound echos around the place. I don't think there is anything you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraTrapp, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Fats25,
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments.

Your detailed description concerning the location, our service, the mobile and transfer up to the surroundings will certainly be very helpful for other guests.
Thank you as well for your remark concerning the restaurant.
We are pleased to inform you that changes will be applied to Riad Lydines menu and that we will provide a better choice of alcohol. Furthermore we will arrange the necessary for our guests who wish to use the restaurant facilities at our riad Si Said.

Suggestions from our guests are always appreciated, as they help us to understand your needs and to ameliorate our service continiously.
Once again thank for your feedback.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
With best regards,
Petra Trapp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a very nice stay in the Riad. The staff was genuinely nice, helpful and we felt us at home straight away. The location was very good, and easy to get to the square (which you must visit by the way). However, not everything was perfect. The Riad is marketed as a five star hotel. I do not find this correct at all. First of all, the Riad needed much upgrading. It was not possible to use the swimming pool (water to cold). We had brought our swim suits with us to no use. The pillows were dusty and smelt nasty. The roof was in desperate need of refurbishing. Furthermore, it was very difficult to sleep in the hotel due to the loud noise from the yard, children playing and shouting until late in the evening. Again, the staff were the best!!!


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraTrapp, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Salim 1981,

On behalf of our team I wish to thank you for the opportunity you have given to us by staying in one of our Riads.
Your remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve both our service and our product.

It is our aim to ensure that you will be satisfied during a possible next stay.

We look forward to your return to the Angsana Riad Collection Marrakech and to having the privilege of being of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Petra Trapp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Salal, Fatima and other staff here are very attentive and helpful - we felt very well looked after.
Roof terrace is sunny, but a bit noisy, with boys playing in the square below, outside.
The front square could be tidied up a bit, but once inside the riad its beautiful.
Getting to the raid is a fascinating walk from the Saadian Tombs, along some lanes lined with little market stalls. Every morning and evening was a voyage of discovery into the lives of the local Kasbah residents. People are very friendly and ready with a lovely smile. If you speak a bit of French you can have a fun time chatting about what they are selling and passing the time of day.
Lots of amazing sights - people going about their daily business.
Breakfast is substantial!

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs. Like every riad, sound echoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraTrapp, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Carolsmithchina,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Marrakech impressions with others.
Infact, the location of Riad Lydines in the heart of the Kasbah gives the chance to discover each day beautiful places and to get an insight concerning local life.
Our staff appreciates your positive comment very much.
As our refurbishing is actually ongoing, we hope to welcome you soon again in order to provide an even better stay next time.

With the best wishes from our team,
Petra Trapp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Budleigh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful small riad, where the staff offer excellent service. It was a such a peaceful calm haven after a busy day. We really enjoyed our stay and although the pool was a little small it was perfect for a quick dip to cool down after a busy day or a session reading on the roof terrace

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the riad for 7 nights. What a beautiful place, certainly an oasis in the centre of a very busy city. We were the only guests and received a five star service from the staff, Salah ,Hafida, Mirriam ,Rashida ,Jamal and especially Ismail the Host. Nothing was too much trouble, he even took us on a tour of the other Riad's in the Angsana Group in the Medina. British Hotels could certainly relearn the meaning of hospitality.

It's ideally situated to get to the centre easily and if you loose your way the locals are happy to point you in the right direction. Just beware of the traffic as you have to walk in the street in most places as the pavements are taken over by business of all types. You can buy almost anything imaginable including extracted teeth ready to make into dentures.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for your great review post about your stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting about ambience of the Riad along with the service provided by our colleagues.
Your feedback had been shared to the entire team and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated and will certainly serve as great motivation and inspiration to reach higher standards af excellence in the future. Thank you for your recent stay with us and recommending our Riads!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful small riad with personal service located in quiet part of the Kasbah within the Medina. Lovely room, amazing patio pool area and roof terrace for lazy moments in the sun, drinks etc...
Nothing was too much trouble for the good humoured-staff including sorting out my two key-locked-on-the-inside-of-the-door episodes that necessitated lock removal and providing a very late breakfast for two slow-risers...
The whole Medina is close by for walking from the riad and a cheap taxi ride gets you to the new town area just to the west. Trips further afield can be arranged by the staff including to the Atlas Mountains (recommended).
Noting the rather similar "disappointing" comments I would suggest that staying in an old building in the Medina brings the expected noises and percieved imperfections of decor etc. These are all part of an authentic experience and far outweighed by the location, service, surroundings and atmosphere. If you are wanting sterile perfect rooms and silence you may wish to consider staying outside the Medina in a Western chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us during your visit to the red City of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you
Had an enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate that you are highlighting the service provided by our colleagues, its so rewarding to receive your descriptive feedback as it gives inspiration to our team.

Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked into the Riad Blanc locations and arrived at the Riad Lydines, which is a 10 minute walk to the main square.

Very nice rooms, although more set up for couples than friends requiring twin rooms. However the service, the attentiveness, the breakfasts and such personal detail from the staff were all magnificent. What we really liked was the mobile phone they gave us so that if we got lost they could phone/we could phone and ask for help. When we did use it, an Angsana rep was with us within minutes and showed us on our way back to Lydines.

Another time the lovely Jamon even took us to the restaurant we wanted to go to, nothing was too much trouble. Even when we were refused onto our flight (thanks Easyjet for such appalling service) and returned to the Riad, they were able to accommodate us for another night.

We enjoyed the use of the rooftop terrace for a little sunbathing and wine at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with the external windows 603 and 604 facing onto the square. Only once did we f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us in the red city of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate highlighting the service provided by our colleagues, It’s so rewarding to receive your descriptive feedback as it gives inspiration to our team.

I also have noted on your comment regards to twin bed requirements in case of travelling with friends which I have communicated with concerned team to look into alternative options for the future.

Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Address: 45 derb Abda | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#101 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakesh's historic medina, within a stone's throw of the Saadians Tombsand and Royal Palace, Angsana Collection - Riad Lydines welcomes 10 minutes walking from the famous Jamaaa El Fna Square. It features 7 guest rooms, each one with a unique interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines Hotel Marrakech
Angsana Riad Lydines Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.