We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Save Saved
You added Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 derb Abda | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
East Budleigh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful small riad, where the staff offer excellent service. It was a such a peaceful calm haven after a busy day. We really enjoyed our stay and although the pool was a little small it was perfect for a quick dip to cool down after a busy day or a session reading on the roof terrace

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the riad for 7 nights. What a beautiful place, certainly an oasis in the centre of a very busy city. We were the only guests and received a five star service from the staff, Salah ,Hafida, Mirriam ,Rashida ,Jamal and especially Ismail the Host. Nothing was too much trouble, he even took us on a tour of the other Riad's in the Angsana Group in the Medina. British Hotels could certainly relearn the meaning of hospitality.

It's ideally situated to get to the centre easily and if you loose your way the locals are happy to point you in the right direction. Just beware of the traffic as you have to walk in the street in most places as the pavements are taken over by business of all types. You can buy almost anything imaginable including extracted teeth ready to make into dentures.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for your great review post about your stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting about ambience of the Riad along with the service provided by our colleagues.
Your feedback had been shared to the entire team and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated and will certainly serve as great motivation and inspiration to reach higher standards af excellence in the future. Thank you for your recent stay with us and recommending our Riads!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful small riad with personal service located in quiet part of the Kasbah within the Medina. Lovely room, amazing patio pool area and roof terrace for lazy moments in the sun, drinks etc...
Nothing was too much trouble for the good humoured-staff including sorting out my two key-locked-on-the-inside-of-the-door episodes that necessitated lock removal and providing a very late breakfast for two slow-risers...
The whole Medina is close by for walking from the riad and a cheap taxi ride gets you to the new town area just to the west. Trips further afield can be arranged by the staff including to the Atlas Mountains (recommended).
Noting the rather similar "disappointing" comments I would suggest that staying in an old building in the Medina brings the expected noises and percieved imperfections of decor etc. These are all part of an authentic experience and far outweighed by the location, service, surroundings and atmosphere. If you are wanting sterile perfect rooms and silence you may wish to consider staying outside the Medina in a Western chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us during your visit to the red City of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you
Had an enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate that you are highlighting the service provided by our colleagues, its so rewarding to receive your descriptive feedback as it gives inspiration to our team.

Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked into the Riad Blanc locations and arrived at the Riad Lydines, which is a 10 minute walk to the main square.

Very nice rooms, although more set up for couples than friends requiring twin rooms. However the service, the attentiveness, the breakfasts and such personal detail from the staff were all magnificent. What we really liked was the mobile phone they gave us so that if we got lost they could phone/we could phone and ask for help. When we did use it, an Angsana rep was with us within minutes and showed us on our way back to Lydines.

Another time the lovely Jamon even took us to the restaurant we wanted to go to, nothing was too much trouble. Even when we were refused onto our flight (thanks Easyjet for such appalling service) and returned to the Riad, they were able to accommodate us for another night.

We enjoyed the use of the rooftop terrace for a little sunbathing and wine at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with the external windows 603 and 604 facing onto the square. Only once did we f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us in the red city of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate highlighting the service provided by our colleagues, It’s so rewarding to receive your descriptive feedback as it gives inspiration to our team.

I also have noted on your comment regards to twin bed requirements in case of travelling with friends which I have communicated with concerned team to look into alternative options for the future.

Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travelled to Morocco in April spending two nights in the Atlas Mountains, 3 nights in Essaouria and the final 2 nights at Riad Lydines. What a beautiful place - and we were made to feel so welcome. The riad has 7 rooms and a central (minute) pool, not sure its big enough to swim in but you could certainly cool off in it. We have been to Marrakech before but stayed in a hotel last time so this was a vast improvement. Our room was enchanting, blissfully cool and smelled wonderful (scented oil burner) with a lovely bathroom and sunken bath (could be tricky to get in and out of if you had mobility problems). Breakfast served by the pool - delicious: breads, croissants, choice of eggs, coffee, orange juice - yum! On the second night we had dinner in the riad, we ordered in the morning and agreed we would have it at 7.30. Ordered a bottle of wine at about 7.15, drank the bottle, time moved on, no sign of supper, ordered a second bottle and then enquired - only to find they had been waiting for us!! Supper was delicious, the service at all times was so pleasant and charming. There is also a roof terrace with a jacuzzi and sun beds and a lovely shaded area. We were located near to the Saadian tombs and within a 15 minute walk of the Djma El Fna - all in all it was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted that you had beautiful stay at Riad Lydines during recent trip. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues, ambience of your suite & our Riad facilities & culinary experience during breakfast and dinner.

Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the Riad and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a great inspiration for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us. The team and I will be looking forward to welcome you back for another wonderful experience in Angsana Riads Collection.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely place to stay away from the noise of the city. Service excellent and delightful staff.
Location is a bit out of the main centre of the Medina but easily walkable. Breakfast was excellent and not the usual boring buffet. We had dinner there twice which was good but a bit pricey

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are a little noisy in the morning as the staff arrive and prepare breakfast. Upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Angsana Riads Collection during recent trip. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues & culinary experience during breakfast and dinner.

I also have noted on your ‘tip’ regards to noise in downstairs which I have communicated with concern team to increase acknowledgement of ‘guest area’.

Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a great motivation for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future. Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Kind regards,

Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very tired decor and extremely noisy, not at all the luxury accommodation we were sold. The riad is on a square in constant use by cars, motor bikes, dogs and children playing football. We were told by the manager that guests frequently complain about the noise, when after 2 nights we had only had a few hours sleep. The roof terrace is in desperate need of updating, as facilities are very worn . Best part of this riad are the staff .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angasana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the unique experience Angsana Riads Collection is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your overall feedback regarding on condition of the facilities. Please note that I have discussed in details your concerns with our Engineer in charge who will communicate and review condition of our public areas exteriors with the whole team and work through the touch ups but at the same time preserve 18th century old historic Riad which is one of uniqueness of Marrakech. I have also noticed your feedback regarding the noise from the local neighbor, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I have discussed with our security team to increase the patrolling to control over the and children playing around the Riad.

I also have noted on highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues. Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service & property's quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Angsana Riads Collection in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Angsana Collection is renowned for.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Address: 45 derb Abda | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakesh's historic medina, within a stone's throw of the Saadians Tombsand and Royal Palace, Angsana Collection - Riad Lydines welcomes 10 minutes walking from the famous Jamaaa El Fna Square. It features 7 guest rooms, each one with a unique interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines Hotel Marrakech
Angsana Riad Lydines Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.