We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful, great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Save Saved
You added Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Otel.com
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 derb Abda | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Longford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Characterful, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful small riad with personal service located in quiet part of the Kasbah within the Medina. Lovely room, amazing patio pool area and roof terrace for lazy moments in the sun, drinks etc...
Nothing was too much trouble for the good humoured-staff including sorting out my two key-locked-on-the-inside-of-the-door episodes that necessitated lock removal and providing a very late breakfast for two slow-risers...
The whole Medina is close by for walking from the riad and a cheap taxi ride gets you to the new town area just to the west. Trips further afield can be arranged by the staff including to the Atlas Mountains (recommended).
Noting the rather similar "disappointing" comments I would suggest that staying in an old building in the Medina brings the expected noises and percieved imperfections of decor etc. These are all part of an authentic experience and far outweighed by the location, service, surroundings and atmosphere. If you are wanting sterile perfect rooms and silence you may wish to consider staying outside the Medina in a Western chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us during your visit to the red City of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you
Had an enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate that you are highlighting the service provided by our colleagues, its so rewarding to receive your descriptive feedback as it gives inspiration to our team.

Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked into the Riad Blanc locations and arrived at the Riad Lydines, which is a 10 minute walk to the main square.

Very nice rooms, although more set up for couples than friends requiring twin rooms. However the service, the attentiveness, the breakfasts and such personal detail from the staff were all magnificent. What we really liked was the mobile phone they gave us so that if we got lost they could phone/we could phone and ask for help. When we did use it, an Angsana rep was with us within minutes and showed us on our way back to Lydines.

Another time the lovely Jamon even took us to the restaurant we wanted to go to, nothing was too much trouble. Even when we were refused onto our flight (thanks Easyjet for such appalling service) and returned to the Riad, they were able to accommodate us for another night.

We enjoyed the use of the rooftop terrace for a little sunbathing and wine at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with the external windows 603 and 604 facing onto the square. Only once did we f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us in the red city of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate highlighting the service provided by our colleagues, It’s so rewarding to receive your descriptive feedback as it gives inspiration to our team.

I also have noted on your comment regards to twin bed requirements in case of travelling with friends which I have communicated with concerned team to look into alternative options for the future.

Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travelled to Morocco in April spending two nights in the Atlas Mountains, 3 nights in Essaouria and the final 2 nights at Riad Lydines. What a beautiful place - and we were made to feel so welcome. The riad has 7 rooms and a central (minute) pool, not sure its big enough to swim in but you could certainly cool off in it. We have been to Marrakech before but stayed in a hotel last time so this was a vast improvement. Our room was enchanting, blissfully cool and smelled wonderful (scented oil burner) with a lovely bathroom and sunken bath (could be tricky to get in and out of if you had mobility problems). Breakfast served by the pool - delicious: breads, croissants, choice of eggs, coffee, orange juice - yum! On the second night we had dinner in the riad, we ordered in the morning and agreed we would have it at 7.30. Ordered a bottle of wine at about 7.15, drank the bottle, time moved on, no sign of supper, ordered a second bottle and then enquired - only to find they had been waiting for us!! Supper was delicious, the service at all times was so pleasant and charming. There is also a roof terrace with a jacuzzi and sun beds and a lovely shaded area. We were located near to the Saadian tombs and within a 15 minute walk of the Djma El Fna - all in all it was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted that you had beautiful stay at Riad Lydines during recent trip. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues, ambience of your suite & our Riad facilities & culinary experience during breakfast and dinner.

Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the Riad and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a great inspiration for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us. The team and I will be looking forward to welcome you back for another wonderful experience in Angsana Riads Collection.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely place to stay away from the noise of the city. Service excellent and delightful staff.
Location is a bit out of the main centre of the Medina but easily walkable. Breakfast was excellent and not the usual boring buffet. We had dinner there twice which was good but a bit pricey

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are a little noisy in the morning as the staff arrive and prepare breakfast. Upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Angsana Riads Collection during recent trip. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues & culinary experience during breakfast and dinner.

I also have noted on your ‘tip’ regards to noise in downstairs which I have communicated with concern team to increase acknowledgement of ‘guest area’.

Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a great motivation for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future. Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Kind regards,

Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very tired decor and extremely noisy, not at all the luxury accommodation we were sold. The riad is on a square in constant use by cars, motor bikes, dogs and children playing football. We were told by the manager that guests frequently complain about the noise, when after 2 nights we had only had a few hours sleep. The roof terrace is in desperate need of updating, as facilities are very worn . Best part of this riad are the staff .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angasana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the unique experience Angsana Riads Collection is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your overall feedback regarding on condition of the facilities. Please note that I have discussed in details your concerns with our Engineer in charge who will communicate and review condition of our public areas exteriors with the whole team and work through the touch ups but at the same time preserve 18th century old historic Riad which is one of uniqueness of Marrakech. I have also noticed your feedback regarding the noise from the local neighbor, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I have discussed with our security team to increase the patrolling to control over the and children playing around the Riad.

I also have noted on highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues. Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service & property's quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Angsana Riads Collection in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Angsana Collection is renowned for.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Noisy and tired decor. We stayed in riad angsanna lydines , whilst the room was lovely the noise from the square at the front was unbearable , children playing football, dogs howling, cars and motor bikes all night and we were told this was a regular occurrence which guest frequently complain about . We would not recommend .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angasana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the unique experience Angsana Riads Collection is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your overall feedback regarding on condition of the facilities. Please note that I have discussed in details your concerns with our Engineer in charge who will communicate and review condition of our public areas exteriors with the whole team and work through the touch ups but at the same time preserve 18th century old historic Riad which is one of uniqueness of Marrakech. I have also noticed your feedback regarding the noise from the local neighbor, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I have discussed with our security team to increase the patrolling to control over the and children playing around the Riad.

I also have noted on highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues. Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service & property's quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Angsana Riads Collection in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Angsana Collection is renowned for.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I never thought I would write the above words about a stay in Marrakesh but after several trips over the last fifteen years or so, we have just stayed in a very disappointing riad; particularly so as it is part of the Angsana Banyan Tree Group and we expected so much more. The riad itself had none of the "wow" factor we have come to expect from everywhere else we have stayed. Our room was badly lit and, when we arrived there was a broken toilet flush, a dodgy light fitting and a broken kettle. These faults were dealt with but should not have been left until we arrived.
There was little privacy as the windows were tall and without shutters. The decoration was tired in the extreme; there were cracks in the plaster in our room and the courtyard needed some refurbishment. There was the most unattractive plastic cover over the courtyard which completely ruined the appearance. Presumably this was intended to keep the rain and birds out but it appeared to be a permanent fixture.
Breakfast was very disappointing indeed. Terrible quality bread and not a huge choice. However, the cook did make lovely Moroccan pancakes and these appeared every morning once we asked. This is sold as a first class riad. Only one table actually outside for breakfast or dinner. The one dinner we had was wonderful cooking but we ate in solitary state. When drinks were ordered, they arrived without any form of canape or accompaniment. One night we ordered wine and both bottles were corked and on our last night there was no gin and we had to wait forty minutes as they asked for some to be sent in!!!
The chambermaids spent more time rearranging our possessions than sorting out the room and replacing items which had been used. One afternoon we arrived back to no towels in the bathroom as the laundry had not come back. I cannot believe that a riad of this supposed rating has only one set of laundry per room and we did eventually manage to have clean towels.
The staff on the whole were very kind and the lady chef produced the most amazing cooking but there was no real service during the day after breakfast unless lunch or dinner had been ordered in advance.
When we left, we were told we would have to walk to meet our car. It wasn't at the meeting place but had been waiting outside the riad for ten minutes. As my husband is in poor health, this was the last straw! Fortunately for us, the second part of our holiday was spent at the wonderful L'Heure Bleu Palais in Essaouira.

Room Tip: As far as I could gather from talking to other guests, the lack of privacy and the poor lighting s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the various issues you encountered. I appreciate you taking the time to write and your concerns have been discussed at length with the relevant Department Managers.

Your experience is certainly not the usual standard of service we provide and I can assure you that the necessary corrective actions will take place in order to prevent recurrences in future.

We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and would sincerely appreciate you giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I am sorry that I was unable to see you during your stay, however, I hope that you intend to return in the near future at which time I look forward to meeting you.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service & property's quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Angasana Riads Collection in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Angasana Riads Collection is renowned for.

Kind regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines Hotel Marrakech
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines Hotel
Angsana Riad Lydines Marrakech
Address: 45 derb Abda | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakesh's historic medina, within a stone's throw of the Saadians Tombsand and Royal Palace, Angsana Collection - Riad Lydines welcomes 10 minutes walking from the famous Jamaaa El Fna Square. It features 7 guest rooms, each one with a unique interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.