We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of style and a warm welcome. With a few tips to make it more enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mille et une Nuits

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mille et une Nuits to your Saves list
Riad Mille et une Nuits
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   53 derb toudgha | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #635 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lots of style and a warm welcome. With a few tips to make it more enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The accommodation was very stylish and interesting. Quite stunning in fact. The owners have put a lot of effort into making it special. Photos don't do it justice. It is a high quality riad. It is off a very busy and pretty scruffy road, but that's Marrakech. Once in the riad it is quiet and serene, spotlessly clean and the bed was comfy. Its a bit nit picking but our room had dark grey walls and floor and wasn't the most cheerful decor..but the other rooms were much more colourful. The staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming. There were a couple of things to advise visitors about that might be helpful. The water heating only provided for one shower in the morning, so expect to share the shower or take it in turns! Also any extras such as meals (which were delicious) had an extra 20% charge for using any plastic card, so use cash. And in the winter, and autumn too I guess, the nights are cold and so was the riad, The air conditioning struggled to warm the room up and the public areas of the riad were uncomfortably cold. There isn't really a residents lounge, so we spent time in our room. (We were glad to have taken a travel kettle so we could brew up!) We wished we had taken warmer clothes, a couple of thick woolies would have helped. Overall though it was a very positive experience and to be recommended...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I have traveled quite a bit, and am not hard to please. However, this riad was a huge disappointment, especially considering the price and target market.

Initially I thought the the riad was lovely. The two women, both named Fatima, were incredibly helpful and kind. The building was open and decorated nicely, and it was in a great location. However, my perception quickly changed. The room was supposed to be a suite and it was not; there were four of us staying in the room, which we confirmed prior to booking. Upon arrival, it was clear the "suite" could not comfortably accommodate four people. Further they charged us an additional 60 Euro per night for the two extra people, even though one of the individuals was on a shabby cot and the other three stuffed in a double bed. We were on a budget, and it was a holiday in Marrakech, so booking an additional room was not possible. There was rarely hot water, the Wifi did not work, the room was cold, and the riad was very noisy. Things got worse when we were given the bill for the room on our last night. We were charged for every amenity offered. This would have been fine, but we were given no notice. For example, we were told that tea was offered on the terrace in the afternoons. They failed to mention there was a charge for the tea. The same happened with our transportation to and from the airport--which was grossly overpriced. Neither issue was a deal-breaker, but certainly annoying. The major frustration came when we attempted to pay the bill. It is common for credit card machines to not work in Marrakech. We discovered this shortly after arrival. When we tried to pay our large bill with a credit card it was impossible to do so and the proprietor was completely UNWILLING TO HELP or ACCOMMODATE our needs. He refused to come the next morning to see if the credit card machine would work at that time (the problem was caused by too many people throughout the city using the internet connection--thus, it probably would have worked in the morning) or take our credit card number and charge the card when his schedule could accommodate the hassle. Further, we could not understand why he didn't forewarn us about the potential issues when we arrived. Trying to find ATM's that worked (they also often don't work in Marrakech) on our final night became a huge frustration especially because we were trying to attend a show that the riad booked for us. All amenities are paid for with cash; so we did not understand why he did not give us the option to pay for the room upon arrival. Overall, I left feeling frustrated and unhappy with the riad, even though I absolutely loved Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessicabraun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidenza, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The riad was really nice and super clean! The decor was beautiful, very typical moroccan. It's a small riad with 5 or 6 rooms so you really get a lot of privacy. The breakfast on the roof top terrace was plentiful and quiet but there is no view of the city.
Overall we had a great experience and the staff was super nice!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina_tutino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lija
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Laurence runs this riad as her home and treats her guests as her friends who need the extra attention. It was a great pleasure to spend two nights at this place where the personnel treat you with so much care. The rooms are spacious and clean. Great value !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefdoeuvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Wonderful riad hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the main square. It was about 10 minutes walk to the main square. The rooms were decorated in a traditional style with a modern twist. Staff and owners were very welcoming and helpful. We only ate breakfast there and ate mainly in the square in the evenings - but perhaps next time! Breakfast is served on a small roof terrace with views out over the city .This Excellent hotel offers everything you could want in Marrakech at a very resonable price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I would recommend this Riad , location is close to everything , rooms are beautifully decorated , breakfast is fantastic , the two fatimas are smiley and lovely and Mark is very helpful and charming .
Unfortunately for us our timing was wrong as the wife of the owner was away so we could hear their toddler cry whilst strapped in its buggy in the guest lounge area most afternoons -not quite the peaceful experience we expected .Also we chose it for its hamman but unfortunately it wasn't working and you only get mins of hot water through your tap in the bathroom .Despite these negatives I would still recommend this Riad as everything else makes up for it and I don't think these things were a one off .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secretme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Staff were very friendly and welcoming - such warm people. Beautifully decorated, fabulous rooms, excellent location, breakfast very good, great value for money. You really feel as though it's a haven in the hustle of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjtManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#117 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#163 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#31 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mille et une Nuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mille et une Nuits

Address: 53 derb toudgha | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mille et une Nuits 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PresentationRiad Thousand and One Nights, a traditional riad in the heart of the medina, the historic center of Marrakech.You will discover a discreet and elegant place, where everything has been designed for you and your well-being. Hospitality and modern comfort await you in this former private home to make your stay surrounded by restfulness and refinement The whole team wishes you the Welcome at our Riad.Staying at Riad Thousand and One Nights, is the beginning of an enchanting journey to the east. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Mille et une Nuits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mille Et Une Nuits Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing