We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mille et une Nuits

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mille et une Nuits to your Saves list
Riad Mille et une Nuits
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   53 derb toudgha | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #687 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

This perfectly located riad (100m from the souqs) that is run by a young French-Maroccan couple is the perfect place to stay when you're in Marrakech. After a dazzling day in the city you can relax in this beautiful place with great staff that makes you feel at home right away.
The rooms are well decorated, truly in the ambiance of 1001 nights. Most hotels put pics on the internet that are nothing like reality, but this riad is just as nice as it looks. The bathrooms are nice and large and the beds super comfortable. We stayed in different rooms at different nights, so we know we got a pretty good insight on how the hotel is run. The breakfast on the terrace is the best. Nothing to complain!
Did I mension the hospitality of the staff and owners yet?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
American living in Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

so let me begin by stating that i have never taken the time to write a review for any hotels...but i know how difficult it is to find a decent riad in marrakech and if you make the wrong choice it can really just ruin your trip! i think that staying at a riad is better than staying at a western hotel because you feel like you get more of the true moroccan experience. i will admit that when i first pulled up i was a bit concerned (you have to walk through this little alley to get to the riad) but now i see that that is typical of marrakech.

the thing that really sets this place apart from others is the fact that the staff here are just amazing, and really make you feel so safe and comfortable. they go above and beyond to make sure that all of your needs are met. from letting us use their personal lap top computers to send emails, to giving great restaurant suggestions, to just talking with us and making us feel welcome. they also arrange your pick up to and from the airport if you request in advance, which is very helpful because catching a taxi in marrakech can be very difficult and scary at times (one taxi we caught by ourselves lead us into an extremely shady, impoverished area, far away from our destination, and told us to get out and have some little kids direct us the rest of the way).

i went with my cousins, young professional females all in our 20's and early 30's....we went out at night to restaurants and clubs and came in very late and it was not a problem, nor was it unsafe to walk the streets in that area. there was also a young family staying there, with 2 little kids under the age of 5, and they seemed to have a really great time as well. it would also be perfect for a couples get-a-way, as the rooms and decorations were quite romantic....the place is just really versatile. the riad is also a 10 minute walk or so from the main markets "the souks," and main tourist attractions.

depending upon how much you have travelled, marrakech can be quite an overwhelming experience (fast paced, aggressive, etc) and its important that you are in a safe place where you feel comfortable. i have friends who stayed at other riads, and had horrible experiences, so i felt really lucky. i plan to return to marrakech and will stay in this riad for sure.

take the time to talk to the staff (maids, cooks, owners, etc) they really are exceptionally sweet and caring people.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Please do not stay at this Riad. I made a reservation with this Riad and canceled it nearly two weeks in advance. Not only did the riad charge me for the room, they tried to prevent the refund of my money by claiming that I reserved two rooms instead of one. Therefore, one room was not canceled.

Please, traveling already can be stressful. Do not make the situation worse for yourselves by booking this Riad.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — lies
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

I m referring to the very negative critics posted on the Riad 1001 nuits.

This is absolutely nonsense. I stayed there a few days, a couple of weeks ago and I can tell you that those cristics are not thrue. The staff there is absolutely charming and they do their outmost so that your stay is a deligth and for you to feel welcome. The rooms are very cosy and charming and no problem of hot water or whatever...I stayed in 3 of the rooms.

One as to be aware of those people who neglect certain Riad with no reason just for competition purpose. No need to say such things and try to disgust people when it is not deserved.

Thanks,

Caroline

  • Liked — Quality of the reception and the place
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

From the street, it doesn't look like much, but when you go inside you find a really charming, cosy riad.
if you're looking for the ultimate in luxury... this is not it. There are many other over-the-top luxury hotels around marrakech.
This one feels like the real deal. It's good value for money... has excellent service, it's beautifully decorated and it's down to earth.

The staff really went the extra mile... they even went as far as to carry buckets of hot water up the stairs to heat up the rooftop jacuzzi (which by the way, is a lovely thing to do under a starry sky).

There are only 5 or 6 rooms, so it's very quiet. (which could also be a downside actually).

they take great pains in adding a few personal touches. (not sure i like all the rose petals everywhere, however!)

all in all... i would say, there are lots of amazing riads in marrakech... better ones than this also. (I also stayed at la maison arabe... which was gorgeous, and better than this one... but also 3 times the price. ) But with this hotel, you will get the beautiful marrakechian riad experience without breaking the bank.

  • Liked — it's cute and cosy atmosphere
  • Disliked — it was a bit quiet...
  • Tips/Secrets — try to get the room with the big bed, and lounge and stone bath
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

I was lucky enough to stay here recently and was treated almost like royalty. The staff were ever so friendly and helpful - they arranged for me to visit a local Hammam, did not get annoyed when I was an hour late for dinner and arranged for an early breakfast when I had to catch my flight. They went beyond what was expected. Little touches that really made it a memorable stay like rose petals on my bed and candles lit in the room at night (they even put rose petals in the toilet) I will never forget. The room I stayed in was really interesting - the bed was almost a stage! It might not be the most luxurious place I have ever stayed at but definitely very good value for money and very easy to explore Marrakech from.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

Having already stayed for three nights in the wonderful Riad Malika, we spent our last night in Marrakech at the Riad 1001 nights. It was a disaster. What could have been the most romantic and relaxing location was completely ruined by the staff who made us feel like we were constantly being hounded.

The minute you open the door to your room to come out, they are staring at you to see what you want. When you come back, they tell you they've left your passports in your room with the door left wide open. We chose our room on the basis of the lovely marble bath covered in rose petals, but the hot water tank in the room was only big enough to fill it to one inch deep - it's impossible to use the bath, which was the feature of the room! The lights were always switched off, to save electricity probably, so they run around after you turning them on. At the end of the evening we returned to find out they had decorated the bed with rose petals and lit all the candles, but 5 minutes later, they were knocking on our door demanding payment in cash because we were leaving early the next morning.

Disaster. There are so many nice riads to choose from - choose another one!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mille et une Nuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mille et une Nuits

Address: 53 derb toudgha | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #687 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mille et une Nuits 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PresentationRiad Thousand and One Nights, a traditional riad in the heart of the medina, the historic center of Marrakech.You will discover a discreet and elegant place, where everything has been designed for you and your well-being. Hospitality and modern comfort await you in this former private home to make your stay surrounded by restfulness and refinement The whole team wishes you the Welcome at our Riad.Staying at Riad Thousand and One Nights, is the beginning of an enchanting journey to the east. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Mille et une Nuits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mille Et Une Nuits Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mille et une Nuits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.