We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mille et une Nuits

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Mille et une Nuits to your Saves list
Riad Mille et une Nuits
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   53 derb toudgha | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #720 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great personal touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at the riad on family holiday in Nov 2009. We had a great time in Marrakech and Laurence and her husband as well as Fatima and Fatima made every effort to look after us. In fact on the holiday it was also my birthday. We came back from a walk on our final day to find they had arranged a cake and tea to mark the occasion.

The riad was beautiful with each room individually styled. It wasn't the cheapest riad available and at times we were short of hot water, but on the whole it was a great riad with excellent service!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

After a longish flight and an entertaining (terrifying) taxi ride we arrived to be greeted by staff offering us very tasty mint tea. Our room was not ready when we arrived but the owner got it sorted quickly. The room was really lovely in design, the bed extremely comfortable, the room spacious and with aircon that just about worked. The bathroom was very nice, the shower good, there is always hot water unless you have a very long shower, but the bath is made of concrete with a marble floor, and is suffering with damp and mould. When the curtains are closed the room goes very dark, which with the aircon and comfy bed resulted in much good sleep which is very welcome.

We did pay a little extra for a suite, but in reality we got a normal hotel room with no extra space and with no real extra's at all - in essence a basic hotel room. We should have just booked a normal room as the suite doesn't exactly have chocolate's on your pillow. The Riad in appearance is very well maintained, but after a day or two you do sort of scratch you head and wonder what exactly you are paying for and the price is about as high as it could be before becoming annoying. You're basically paying for a nice bed and a bit of floor space. Still, it does look nice.

One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was that we imagined it may be too hot to do much in the middle of the afternoon's, and this traditional riad could meet our needs with it's sun terrace which included sun loungers. Well, basically, this is a complete mistruth. There is a small terrace but it's still being built (interesting to watch during breakfast actually...) and there are no sun loungers and no space for sun loungers so I don't see that changing soon. It's nice, it's just not a place to sit and relax with a good book when avoiding the madness outside when the temperature is soaring. We spent a bit of time having a siesta in our room but the building work on the terrace interrupted this.

When we left the Riad we came to pay and the cost was higher than we expected, owing to an exchange rate in the favour of the hotel. We booked through a website so read the small print and check that the price in MAD matches the exchange rate for sterling - or book through a well-known agent that you trust. Niaive of us perhaps, but still irritating.

The staff were very nice and attentive, very friendly, tried to use English or communicate with us - our French is poor. They certainly cannot be faulted in their efforts to make us welcome. Breakfast was great, just what we needed, European style with delicious coffee. They offered us excursions and taxi's but they were not open to negotiation on price and so we haggled in the city with great success. The Riad prices were not extortionate but it's worth shopping around.

If you want to find the madness of the main square and souk then this riad is a tem-minute walk from there - easy to reach but just far enough away to feel like you are out of the main hustle and bustle. That is probably its best feature along with the good night's sleep you will get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

After a good deal of research we settled on this Riad for our weeks stay in Marrakech. We chose it because of its location, the description of the accommodation and the ambiance it appeared to portray. Big mistake! We were met at the airport and had a smooth trip into the Medina. The Riad was only a few minutes from the road so it was not far to walk with luggage. On arrival we were greeted by mother and daughter. So up until this point all seemed well. However, once inside,we found the Riad to be very badly lit and dim. We were in the 'Sherazade Suite' which in fact was a small; double. The room was so badly lit that we could not see to work the remote control for the tv. and any chance of refreshing ones make-up was impossible! The bathroom was a good size but there was black mould on the concrete walls. As it was mid evening we decided to go straight out only to find that the square was a good 25 minutes walk. On our return we had to pass several groups of men gathered in doorways which was a bit unnerving The next morning we could not open the curtains on the bedroom window as the window directly overlooked the public area. Breakfast was served on the terrace which was a small tired looking area consisting of a few tables and two sunbeds and the only view was of the neighbouring buildings - really not pleasant. At this point we decided to relocate to a hotel outside the Medina (incidently this was 5 star and cost the same!) When we announced our intention to move, the daughter called in Laurence who spoke perfect english. We had paid for our week in advance through Booking.com and although we did not expect a refund we did feel that an agreement could be reached. Laurence informed us Booking.Com
would not allow cancellations. We did infact ring Bookng.com ourselves who advised that this was not the case. On relaying this information to Laurence she rang the 'owner' who flatly refused to refund us any monies. She did however refund us the commission that Booking.com would have taken. Laurence led us to believe that she was the manager but on reading other reviews on this site, she is described as the owners wife! I will say that she appeared to try really hard to help us but was very conscious that we were going to write a negative review. To sum up - we paid 537 euros for l nights stay in what we would describe as poor accommodation.
On the good side we spent an excellent 6 nights in a hotel just outside the Medina (which was still only 20 minutes walk into the square). There are some lovely restaurants in the new town offering very good Moroccan wines!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We booked the riad trough a booking site, after a few weeks I got an e-mail from Laurence the riad owner with the offer to pick me up at the airport.

When we arrived in Marrakech the cab driver was welcoming us at the airport. He brought us to the riad where Laurence and his wife welcomed us very friendly!

If you decide to go here I do advice you to take the taxi offer they charge you 200 dirham which is about 18 euro. If you do a lot of bargaining on the airport of course you can get it a bit cheaper but you never know where they take you... It is also pretty hard to find if you come to the Riad for the first time.

Laurence and his wife do talk very good French and English. On our first evening we had a dinner on the roof terace. The dinner was ok... not very spectacular but the quality was good, price a bit high for (24 euro's for tomato salad / chicken tagine / fruit salad)
The breakfast was good with every day freshly squeezed orange juice and pancakes.
The rooms clean and clean towels every day!
Staff very helpfull and freindly

For everybody who decide's to go here...a good stay can be expected

Thanks team of the Mille et une Nuits !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The accommodation was very stylish and interesting. Quite stunning in fact. The owners have put a lot of effort into making it special. Photos don't do it justice. It is a high quality riad. It is off a very busy and pretty scruffy road, but that's Marrakech. Once in the riad it is quiet and serene, spotlessly clean and the bed was comfy. Its a bit nit picking but our room had dark grey walls and floor and wasn't the most cheerful decor..but the other rooms were much more colourful. The staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming. There were a couple of things to advise visitors about that might be helpful. The water heating only provided for one shower in the morning, so expect to share the shower or take it in turns! Also any extras such as meals (which were delicious) had an extra 20% charge for using any plastic card, so use cash. And in the winter, and autumn too I guess, the nights are cold and so was the riad, The air conditioning struggled to warm the room up and the public areas of the riad were uncomfortably cold. There isn't really a residents lounge, so we spent time in our room. (We were glad to have taken a travel kettle so we could brew up!) We wished we had taken warmer clothes, a couple of thick woolies would have helped. Overall though it was a very positive experience and to be recommended...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I have traveled quite a bit, and am not hard to please. However, this riad was a huge disappointment, especially considering the price and target market.

Initially I thought the the riad was lovely. The two women, both named Fatima, were incredibly helpful and kind. The building was open and decorated nicely, and it was in a great location. However, my perception quickly changed. The room was supposed to be a suite and it was not; there were four of us staying in the room, which we confirmed prior to booking. Upon arrival, it was clear the "suite" could not comfortably accommodate four people. Further they charged us an additional 60 Euro per night for the two extra people, even though one of the individuals was on a shabby cot and the other three stuffed in a double bed. We were on a budget, and it was a holiday in Marrakech, so booking an additional room was not possible. There was rarely hot water, the Wifi did not work, the room was cold, and the riad was very noisy. Things got worse when we were given the bill for the room on our last night. We were charged for every amenity offered. This would have been fine, but we were given no notice. For example, we were told that tea was offered on the terrace in the afternoons. They failed to mention there was a charge for the tea. The same happened with our transportation to and from the airport--which was grossly overpriced. Neither issue was a deal-breaker, but certainly annoying. The major frustration came when we attempted to pay the bill. It is common for credit card machines to not work in Marrakech. We discovered this shortly after arrival. When we tried to pay our large bill with a credit card it was impossible to do so and the proprietor was completely UNWILLING TO HELP or ACCOMMODATE our needs. He refused to come the next morning to see if the credit card machine would work at that time (the problem was caused by too many people throughout the city using the internet connection--thus, it probably would have worked in the morning) or take our credit card number and charge the card when his schedule could accommodate the hassle. Further, we could not understand why he didn't forewarn us about the potential issues when we arrived. Trying to find ATM's that worked (they also often don't work in Marrakech) on our final night became a huge frustration especially because we were trying to attend a show that the riad booked for us. All amenities are paid for with cash; so we did not understand why he did not give us the option to pay for the room upon arrival. Overall, I left feeling frustrated and unhappy with the riad, even though I absolutely loved Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidenza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The riad was really nice and super clean! The decor was beautiful, very typical moroccan. It's a small riad with 5 or 6 rooms so you really get a lot of privacy. The breakfast on the roof top terrace was plentiful and quiet but there is no view of the city.
Overall we had a great experience and the staff was super nice!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mille et une Nuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mille et une Nuits

Address: 53 derb toudgha | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mille et une Nuits 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PresentationRiad Thousand and One Nights, a traditional riad in the heart of the medina, the historic center of Marrakech.You will discover a discreet and elegant place, where everything has been designed for you and your well-being. Hospitality and modern comfort await you in this former private home to make your stay surrounded by restfulness and refinement The whole team wishes you the Welcome at our Riad.Staying at Riad Thousand and One Nights, is the beginning of an enchanting journey to the east. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Mille et une Nuits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mille Et Une Nuits Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mille et une Nuits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.