We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exquisite decor and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa

Save Saved
You added Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   64 rue Touareg | Ksibt N'Hass, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #448 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“exquisite decor and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We felt so relaxed and at home in this lovely riad filled with exquisite Moroccan features at every twist and turn. The courtyard is lush with palm and orange trees growing out from the ground and there are two beautifully decorated lounges for resting in if you fancy a change from the roof top terrace. We liked the fact that there were plenty of places to perch upstairs. The very friendly and helpful staff of Mohommad and his brother and sister really made us feel relaxed and at home, especially after a bit of a fraught taxi journey to find the place. Once we settled in we found the neighborhood to be safe to wander around in the evening. The riad was in the perfect location for us, just far away enough from the hectic atmosphere of the square and close to attractions like the Saadian tombs, the Bahia palace and the Bab Agnou. The free mint tea whenever you fancied was a really nice touch. Mohommad the manager also offers a tours which possibly offer a little more than the more mainstream equivalents on offer; our trip to the Ourika valley included a very picturesque donkey ride around the atlas mountains! L'etoile is great for relaxing in beautifully decorated surroundings, we'd recommend it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Riad has all the charme of a typical Riad: Arabic decor, beautiful inner courtyard and rooftop terrace. You do not hear anything from the hustle and bustle of street life, but do not expect too much privacy, because you can hear almost everything the other guests are doing and they will probably hear everything you are doing.
So if you are a bit sensitive in this regard, watch out.
A bit annoying was the door bell early in the morning, but this is simply a reminder that the house is actually a private property.
We had asked for a Couscous to be prepared one evening and we enjoyed this in the quaint little dining room together with another couple. Definitely a must-do, because the platter was huge and the taste was great.

The staff is extremely friendly and we had a good time in general.

The bed we had was a queen-size bed and the mattress rather soft. So if you are sensitive here, be careful. It took a bit getting used to sleeping in this smaller size bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My partner and I had a very peaceful and enjoyable stay at Riad Étoile du Sud et Spa, Marrakech. It was only 5 minutes from the Jemaa El Fna Square, but enough of a walk to be away from all the hustle and bustle of it all, a very tranquil place and comfortable, the room had heating and hot water (lovely shower), the breakfast was very good every day, and was lovely out on the roof terrace,
Mohamed and Lahcen were fun and made us feel very welcome they organized two trips for us one in to the Atlas Mountains and At Ben Haddu, and another to a Kasbar, waterfalls and local villages, we had a private people carrier for both trips, meal included, and was a great couple of days out, i would recommend this Riad to anyone whom is looking for an real authentic Moroccan feel and stay in Marrakesh. The rooms were clean and the staff faultless.
When getting a taxi from the airport don't pay any more than 100DM, and watch out for Snake Charmers throwing a snake around your neck then charging you for it, there are supermarkets in the new town for beers and wine as there is not much sold locally inside the Medina, don't be tempted to make too many purchases until you get used to the pricing or bartering only pay about half for gifts and souvenirs, just say i can get it cheaper than Asda price if you want to laugh with sellers, but also learn to say no thanks in Moroccan. Enjoy your experience in Marrakesh, there's lots to do and enjoy your stay in the Riad I'Etoile du Sud et Spa we did, incidentally The Name means Star of the Dessert, good luck
(Glenn and Carole) UK.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. It's very pretty and Mohammed the manager is fun. However we were obliged to move from one of our carefully chosen rooms to a different one because the double bed was needed for other guests so one member of our party got a bed in an annexe attached to a reception room! Another member of our group had to move rooms because someone had specifically booked the one they were in. It's not great to have musical rooms on a three night stay! We were recompensed by a free tour (for one of us, the rest had to pay) into the hills nearby including a visit to a local beauty spot and a trip to a Berber farm.
The hammam was somewhat basic and rather costly (you pay the manager and he gets a woman in) but it was relaxing.
Breakfasts were fine and the roof garden is a pleasant place to sit.
We had tagine cooked by the staff one night instead of going out. It was also fine but the wine they served was undrinkable.
Verdict: Charming but disorganised and I see from another review that this is not an isolated incident.

Room Tip: Somehow make sure that you get the room you want and do not agree to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Riad l'Etoile du Sud was without a doubt the best place we stayed in Morocco. The staff were fantastic, the rooms were immaculately clean and the breakfasts were delicious! We stayed here one night passing through Marrakesh but came back for the end of our trip. (We had actually planned to stay in an expensive hotel at the end of our holiday but we felt that Etoile du Sud was so good, there was no need!)

The riad is in a great location and easier to find than alot of others. Very quiet despite being a 5minutes walk from the main square. The roof terrace was great and the hot tub was extremely clean. The staff were excellent and despite our lack of French they made a real effort and were extremely attentive. I cannot recommend Etoile du Sud enough!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Unfortunately our stay at Riad l'Etoile du Sud got off to a shaky start; on arrival we were not given the room we'd booked well in advance (Jean-Pierre). When we spoke to the owner about it, he said that there had been a misunderstanding and that if we went on a mountain trek for a day or two then it would be sorted on our return. We had planned a trek in the Atlas mountains anyway so we didn't make a fuss and after one night in the wrong room we made tracks for the Mountains in the morning (slightly bizarre but well worth the trip by the way). We returned to the Riad in the afternoon the following day, in dire need of hot water and a lie down! Alas, it was not to be, instead we were told that we were to stay in a different Riad for the night, they had taken our bags and other effects out of the room we had been in and given it to someone else. Mohammed; the manager of the Riad, had made good his escape to the mountains himself! so the subsequent discussions took place in broken English with the staff at the Riad, and over a dodgy telephone line with Mohammed. Eventually we got the right room (after living out of our suitcases for thee nights), but all of this moving around rather took the edge off our enjoyment of the holiday and when we spoke to other travellers at the Riad, it was apparent that we were not the only ones to have suffered this treatment. So be warned, moving Riads is obviously not uncommon practice when they haven't been organised enough and have over-booked the accommodation!

Having said all that, this is a lovely Riad; the rooms are pretty, the French influence it quite obvious here, the breakfast is delicious, and the terrace is a splendid place. But, and it's a big but... there are hundreds of beautiful Riads in the medina at this price point (not least the one we were transferred to - the Villa Harmonie) so I would recommend searching elsewhere. And if you do end up staying here, for the love of god DON'T waste your money on the frankly laughable in-house hammam; the only reason the experience didn't tip me over the edge with rage was because it was so utterly hilarious! For a few Dirham more treat yourself to an authentic, relaxing and truly luxurious experience down the road (Les Bains de L'alhambre).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I am usually used to staying in large hotels so this was a break from the norm. It is a tradditional Maroccan residence 10 mins walk from the main square. We picked up a taxi from the airport - a mistake, we were overcharged and the hotel owners would have arranged a cheaper (and more comfortable!) pick up which we used to go back to the airport. The accommodation was clean, cool and quiet - which was amazing considering the hustle and bustle outside! It was very tradditional which is great if you are looking for a more realistic Marrakesh. But beware. as a result it is tucked away down a side street and wouldn't be too easy to find if you had just stepped off a plane - another reason for using a transfer!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa

Address: 64 rue Touareg | Ksibt N'Hass, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etoile du Sud combines a traditional Moroccan riad with modern amenities near the famous Djemma El Fnâa Square. The rooms are air-conditioned and surround the interior patio.Riad Étoile du Sud’s rooms are equipped with a private bathroom and sitting area. Some rooms provide free Wi-Fi. The authentic Moroccan details are combined with Andalusian art to create a unique setting.Etoile du Sud’s restaurant serves Moroccan specialties. The riad has a lounge where guests can relax.Riad Étoile du Sud’s spa has a hammam and provides a variety of relaxation and beauty treatments.Riad: 5 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad l`Etoile Du Sud Et Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Etoile du Sud et Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.