We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Peaceful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Soleil to your Saves list
Riad Soleil
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   64 rue Touareg | Arset el Maach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly L'étoile du Sud Marrakech)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #444 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely Peaceful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My partner and I had a very peaceful and enjoyable stay at Riad Étoile du Sud et Spa, Marrakech. It was only 5 minutes from the Jemaa El Fna Square, but enough of a walk to be away from all the hustle and bustle of it all, a very tranquil place and comfortable, the room had heating and hot water (lovely shower), the breakfast was very good every day, and was lovely out on the roof terrace,
Mohamed and Lahcen were fun and made us feel very welcome they organized two trips for us one in to the Atlas Mountains and At Ben Haddu, and another to a Kasbar, waterfalls and local villages, we had a private people carrier for both trips, meal included, and was a great couple of days out, i would recommend this Riad to anyone whom is looking for an real authentic Moroccan feel and stay in Marrakesh. The rooms were clean and the staff faultless.
When getting a taxi from the airport don't pay any more than 100DM, and watch out for Snake Charmers throwing a snake around your neck then charging you for it, there are supermarkets in the new town for beers and wine as there is not much sold locally inside the Medina, don't be tempted to make too many purchases until you get used to the pricing or bartering only pay about half for gifts and souvenirs, just say i can get it cheaper than Asda price if you want to laugh with sellers, but also learn to say no thanks in Moroccan. Enjoy your experience in Marrakesh, there's lots to do and enjoy your stay in the Riad I'Etoile du Sud et Spa we did, incidentally The Name means Star of the Dessert, good luck
(Glenn and Carole) UK.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cambridge
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. It's very pretty and Mohammed the manager is fun. However we were obliged to move from one of our carefully chosen rooms to a different one because the double bed was needed for other guests so one member of our party got a bed in an annexe attached to a reception room! Another member of our group had to move rooms because someone had specifically booked the one they were in. It's not great to have musical rooms on a three night stay! We were recompensed by a free tour (for one of us, the rest had to pay) into the hills nearby including a visit to a local beauty spot and a trip to a Berber farm.
The hammam was somewhat basic and rather costly (you pay the manager and he gets a woman in) but it was relaxing.
Breakfasts were fine and the roof garden is a pleasant place to sit.
We had tagine cooked by the staff one night instead of going out. It was also fine but the wine they served was undrinkable.
Verdict: Charming but disorganised and I see from another review that this is not an isolated incident.

Room Tip: Somehow make sure that you get the room you want and do not agree to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilypad_hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Riad l'Etoile du Sud was without a doubt the best place we stayed in Morocco. The staff were fantastic, the rooms were immaculately clean and the breakfasts were delicious! We stayed here one night passing through Marrakesh but came back for the end of our trip. (We had actually planned to stay in an expensive hotel at the end of our holiday but we felt that Etoile du Sud was so good, there was no need!)

The riad is in a great location and easier to find than alot of others. Very quiet despite being a 5minutes walk from the main square. The roof terrace was great and the hot tub was extremely clean. The staff were excellent and despite our lack of French they made a real effort and were extremely attentive. I cannot recommend Etoile du Sud enough!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_Watson_Ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Unfortunately our stay at Riad l'Etoile du Sud got off to a shaky start; on arrival we were not given the room we'd booked well in advance (Jean-Pierre). When we spoke to the owner about it, he said that there had been a misunderstanding and that if we went on a mountain trek for a day or two then it would be sorted on our return. We had planned a trek in the Atlas mountains anyway so we didn't make a fuss and after one night in the wrong room we made tracks for the Mountains in the morning (slightly bizarre but well worth the trip by the way). We returned to the Riad in the afternoon the following day, in dire need of hot water and a lie down! Alas, it was not to be, instead we were told that we were to stay in a different Riad for the night, they had taken our bags and other effects out of the room we had been in and given it to someone else. Mohammed; the manager of the Riad, had made good his escape to the mountains himself! so the subsequent discussions took place in broken English with the staff at the Riad, and over a dodgy telephone line with Mohammed. Eventually we got the right room (after living out of our suitcases for thee nights), but all of this moving around rather took the edge off our enjoyment of the holiday and when we spoke to other travellers at the Riad, it was apparent that we were not the only ones to have suffered this treatment. So be warned, moving Riads is obviously not uncommon practice when they haven't been organised enough and have over-booked the accommodation!

Having said all that, this is a lovely Riad; the rooms are pretty, the French influence it quite obvious here, the breakfast is delicious, and the terrace is a splendid place. But, and it's a big but... there are hundreds of beautiful Riads in the medina at this price point (not least the one we were transferred to - the Villa Harmonie) so I would recommend searching elsewhere. And if you do end up staying here, for the love of god DON'T waste your money on the frankly laughable in-house hammam; the only reason the experience didn't tip me over the edge with rage was because it was so utterly hilarious! For a few Dirham more treat yourself to an authentic, relaxing and truly luxurious experience down the road (Les Bains de L'alhambre).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RootMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I am usually used to staying in large hotels so this was a break from the norm. It is a tradditional Maroccan residence 10 mins walk from the main square. We picked up a taxi from the airport - a mistake, we were overcharged and the hotel owners would have arranged a cheaper (and more comfortable!) pick up which we used to go back to the airport. The accommodation was clean, cool and quiet - which was amazing considering the hustle and bustle outside! It was very tradditional which is great if you are looking for a more realistic Marrakesh. But beware. as a result it is tucked away down a side street and wouldn't be too easy to find if you had just stepped off a plane - another reason for using a transfer!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombarral, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Overall, we had a wonderful experience here. In fact, it was our second time visiting this riad.

* They arranged a great transportation for us from the airport to the riad.
* We were served mint tea and given a tour of the grounds.
* The riad is conveniently located in the medina, near the main attractions
* Breakfast on the rooftop was great.
* Mhmd, the manager was very hands on with our needs and was great with our kids.
* He personally booked us bus tickets to Essaouira.
* The riad was a beautiful arrangement and the rooms were big with cool showers.

The only downside is that the baby cot that they offered was a decorative wood cot with a mattress. That would be fine, except that the cot's walls were too short and our toddler climbed out 2-3 times.

I'd recommend Riad l'Etoile du Sud for a good mid-range riad option in Marrakech, just bring your own infant cot!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mam1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#42 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#182 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Villa Harmonie
Riad Villa Harmonie
#201 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#124 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#114 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Soleil

Address: 64 rue Touareg | Arset el Maach, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly L'étoile du Sud Marrakech)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #444 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Soleil combines a traditional Moroccan riad with modern amenities near the famous Djemma El Fnaa Square. The rooms are air-conditioned and surround the interior patio. Riad Soleil rooms are equipped with a private bathroom and sitting area. Some rooms provide free Wi-Fi. The authentic Moroccan details are combined with Andalusian art to create a unique setting. Riad Soleil restaurant serves Moroccan specialities. The riad has a lounge where guests can relax. Riad Soleil spa has a hammam and provides a variety of relaxation and beauty treatments. Riad: 5 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad l`Etoile Du Sud Et Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing