We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the center of Medina!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Charai to your Saves list
Riad Charai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Diour Jdad | Zaouia Abassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An oasis in the center of Medina!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved the whole experience of the Riad. The aesthetics, the service, the food and the people!! The entrance was so beautiful with the soft light, water fountain and the beautiful scent of fleur d'oranger!! Relaxation and care I felt instantly as soon as I walked in. Entering the courtyard with the swimming pool and walking through to our room which was magnificent with all the luxury I ever need!! Candles burning in the bathroom feeling like I had my own private spa. I loved the breakfast which was served next to the swimming pool and it included everything I could ask for and more!! An amazing way to start the day and a delightful place to return to after all the action of the Medina. The staff was very friendly, polite and helpful and made us feel so cared for. My absolute favorite place to stay, my idea of aesthetics and luxury!!!

Room Tip: They are all stunning! There are only 8 which I love and I thought all the rooms I saw were equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    28
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Romantic, idilic, chic, decor,.... For what you pay you get so much more! The rooms are magnificent, the staff is friendly. The roof terras is not crowded and has a beautiful view. The food is great. I Recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: I think any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Riad Charai was a charming accommodation place in the old Medina, quite easily accessible after initial difficulties, 10-15 minutes to the famous Djemaa el-Fna square. A shuttle service is also available. Riad Charai has a roof sun terrace with a view over the Medina. We enjoyed sufficiently abundant breakfasts along the pool in the patio with palm trees. Charai has a spa, but the hammam was quite small, and we suffered lack of oxygen there (although as Finns we are used to very hot saunas). Hair brushing left a lot to be desired. The staff of the reception and the restaurant was helpful and friendly. Charai is rather affordable; the total of EUR 640 for 3 nights for 4 persons in a two-room apartment.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We spent 3 nights on our Moroccan tour in this lovely Riad.

Plusses:
- authentic Riad feel
- good friendly service
- affordable luxury

Minuses:
- location a bit off the main Medina area, half an hour´s walk to the main square
- a bit rough area in the nights - kids hassling on tourists, so it would be advisable to have the hotel staff to escort you (which they gladly will do)
- pool not really meant for swimming, water was freezing

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We visited Marrakesh in October 2014 and stayed 4 nights in Riad Charai. It was truly a wonderful experience. The staff was incredibly hospitable. Hammam and massages were brilliant. Location is not so central. It was a bit long walk (about 40 minutes) to all the attractions, so we ended up taking taxis everywhere. At night Taxis would drop you at a certain place and we had to walk for about 10 minutes from a local neighborhood.

Room Tip: Its an oasis for people looking for a relaxing break with occassional trip to market. Otherwise too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights in January. We were met at the airport and taken to the Riad. Majid welcomed us and was a wonderful host throughout our stay. He organised anything we wanted without being pushy. We went on the garden tour and had a day in the Ourika valley. The breakfast is adequate but I would have liked some fruit and would prefer a buffet where you can take what you fancy rather than what you are given. Our Plein Lune suite was lovely and the roof terraces very sunny even in January. We relaxed their in the afternoons. Marrakesh is challenging in the Medina and finding your way not easy especially as the local delight in sending you the wrong way and always wanting money! However, we got taxis and could get back to Bab Tajhout and walk from there to the Riad. Everyone knows Bab Tajhout.
Only eat in the Riad if you are desperate.

Room Tip: Book Paprika or Saffron room if not having a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Beautiful Riad with exceptionally friendly staff. We had a really nice few days at this riad, everyone was very friendly and the food was quite good. Our only slight issue was the distance into town, since we got quite a lot of hassle walking home late we ended up staying in a lot and if we had been more central we might have felt able to go out in the evenings. Not the road's fault, just a tip for travellers that we were not aware of when we booked.

We had a beautiful room at the end of the pool, however this did back onto the restaurant which meant some noisy evenings and cigarette smoke wafting through which was unfortunate.

Overall this is a lovely place which offers a nice break from the medina and is really good value.

Room Tip: A higher up room than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Charai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charai

Address: 54 Diour Jdad | Zaouia Abassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charai 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Charai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.