We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order your stay with confidence, you've chosen wisely!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charai

Save Saved
You added Riad Charai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Charai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Diour Jdad | Zaouia Abassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€59 (EUR)
Ranked #225 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Order your stay with confidence, you've chosen wisely!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

As always I chose this Riad with the help of Tripadvisor, we weren't disappointed so much so my wife wishes to celebrate her 50th birthday here. We started our trip with a driver waiting to pick us up at the airport eliminating the stress of finding the location off our own devices.
As others have described being inside the Medina isn't for the faint hearted but we wanted the experiences for our 2 boys (!2,10) as well as ourselves. Yes its true entering the riad from the "easiest" side for the tourists can be off puting but this is the same throughout the Medina.
This is what one wants when trying to imagine what it was like in the medina say 100 yrs ago?? yes??
We ordered the apartment (jasmine) where we had a queen size bed and another bedroom where 2 single bed were placed. Apartment was stylishly decked out and a bathroom to match.Towels changed every day. Breakfast is modest with a basic continental "moroccansk style" with heaps of mint tea and to drink. You won't be bursting at your belt buckle but its adequate :)
We found the staff were pleasant and helpful with our questions we had them to organise our bus tickets to Essaouira as well as transfers around the medina to the new part of Marrakesh.
We never ate at night time but we did have our christmas there and together with their sister riad Charma/Sharma we enjoyed our christmas dinner at riad dharma.
Those who enjoy a quiet wine at the end of a hectic day must realise that there is no alcohol served inside of the Medina , however it is allowed for the riad's guests to consume what they purchase inside the riad.
Our stay wasn't 100% perfect but when we needed to be heard, management addressed our concerns with the professionalism I would expect as a paying customer.
In finishing would I stay here again?? Absolutely!! staying at the riad was a highlight of our trip!!

Room Tip: Jasmine (apartment)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Riad Charai was the highlight of our week stay in Marrakesh and one of the most beautiful places we have stayed in. A stunning and relaxing retreat to chill out in after a busy day sight-seeing and going on excursions. Staff, including the riad driver, were friendly and very helpful.Could not recommend higher to anyone looking for accommodation in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

we have been at Riad Charai, everything has been perfect, clean very located at the old city (Medina), friendly suf, Majid is helpful man speaks very good English always there to greet you and assist you, i highly recommond this place and hope we will be able to go back again in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here (2 adults, 2 children [9&11]) for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. The whole place was beautiful, the service really good and the experience very positive. It was February, so we didn't get to use the pool - although it looked lovely! We didn't use the spa facilities either. We ate in on the last night and it was 'ok' but not one of the highlights of the place. Overall, I would highly recommend it - I'm unlikely to return to Marrakech, but if I did, I would stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the Riad with friends for 4 nights early February, blown away! We were met from the taxi and walked through the Medina to the front door, quite an experience for first time in Marrakech but once we stepped inside it was like a different world- so calm, cool and sophisticated. We were treated to mint tea and nuts/biscuits to relax beside the pool before being shown to our lovely rooms. As we had arrived in the evening we ate in the hotel restaurant, very intimate, very low chairs! atmospheric, lovely food and Morooccan wine. Breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine every morning and sunbathing on other terrace in afternoon- lovely for early February. We all enjoyed the hammam and my friends also had a massage which they recommended, lovely experience. Staff couldn't do enough for us, everytime we came back we were treated to more mint tea, felt as if we were in our own private Riad although there were other guests there. Stay here if you want to feel pampered and special, a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Riad will send a guide with you to show you the way back, always take your map with you! It is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very Moroccan chic. It's a gem. Once you have found the place which is an experience in itself, you'll find a beautiful, typical Moroccan riad. The entrance, the central pool area, the roof-top terrace for a delicious breakfast. My room, no. 4 if I recall, right in front of the pool, was just awesome. Lots of special lighting, woods, ceramics. 16 ft ceiling, fireplace. You can find certain flaws but it is a very old building, but its charms over weigh all that. The hostess and all the personnel were truly welcoming and it was always a pleasure to serve us.
The riad is difficult to find if you haven't been to Marakesh before. When you get a taxi to drive you there for the 1st time, ask the driver to call the riad so they can pick you up at the Bab Takzouk, the closest plaza.
People who say it's not in a nice area don't appreciate the uniqueness of living in the Medina. It's definitely not an american type of neighborhood. But you won't regret it if you' re looking for something different, yet with all your wifi, TV, AC and so on.

Room Tip: I had room 4 which I recommend, right in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We got married at Riad Charai in September. It was perfection!

We took over the riad for 3 nights. The staff, service, food, experience was amazing. We will be back.

Robin and Meriem are so helpful and speak great English. Yousef is wonderful!

I think the location is a good spot for exploring Marrakech. The main taxi rank is a 2 minute walk. You can get a taxi into the Medina or to the new town. It seems a bit scary at first but you get used to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Charai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charai

Address: 54 Diour Jdad | Zaouia Abassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Charai 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Charai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.