We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Charai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Charai to your Saves list
Riad Charai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Diour Jdad | Zaouia Abassia, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€49 (EUR)
Ranked #207 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful place in the medina of Marrakech, an oasis of rest in the busy city, chill out. We were very lucky to be there all alone, nice contact with the crew, good service, good food, good vibe. We will return for sure. J&G.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Great accomodation and service, however be prepared for adventure outside the walls

Room Tip: don't worry when your taxi drops you off in the middle of the square and you get surrounded with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights, including a couple of nights with friends for their wedding. Right in the heart of the northern medina, you experience all the local sights, sounds and smells and may need a bit of help from the riad staff to find your way through the alleyways at first. Entering the riad takes your breath away. It is absolutely beautiful with garden courtyard, small pool and fleur d'orange. Quiet, stylish and clean with lovely rooms, crisp white sheets and luxurious bath towels. At night the place is lit by candles and you can watch the sun go down from the rooftop terrace looking out across the city towards the hills. The staff are great. Zahira helps you plan trips and organises activities (we had a super cooking workshop in the riad kitchen one afternoon) and the rest of the staff are incredibly helpful. Special mention for Mustafa who was a star. A real bonus - the kids loved it too!

Room Tip: Upper rooms with terrace are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

We stayed there for our honeymoon. Everything was wonderful - room, food, service, atmosphere, location.

The riad is tucked away in the northern part of the medina, well away from the tourist crowds, but we felt that that added to the charm.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

We stayed in suite Khamssa at this riad recently and we absolutely loved it. The decor is very simple, with dark wooden furniture, Moroccan rugs and plain, white-washed walls. In the suite there's a lobby with storage and a safe; a double bedroom with a seating area and fireplace, and a second twin bedroom leading off it. The bathroom is small, but nice, in cream taledakt and scattered with rose petals. There's a shower but no bath. The windows are small and shuttered - so the suite can be a bit dark, but there are plenty of lamps. I imagine it's big enough for a family.

The big highlight of the riad for us was its beautiful candle-lit courtyard. It has loads of nooks and crannies filled with seats and cushions, a fountain filled with rose petals and a small plunge pool surrounded with sun loungers. It's also filled with trees - banana palms, lime trees and jasmine, which gives off a wonderful scent in the evenings.

We did try to ascertani what time breakfast starts/finishes, but it seems that breakfast is ready whenever you get up! When we came down in the morning a table was always ready waiting by the pool under the trees, and cakes, bread and pastries were whisked out discreetly as soon as we sat down. We did have an evening meal at the riad one evening and the food was good - comparable to the mid-priced restaurants in the city centre. We ate at a solitary rose-petal strewn table under the trees in the candlelit courtyard which was a very romantic setting.

The staff were wonderful - discreet, polite and friendly. Most speak French but no English. A smattering of French is definitely helpful (this applies across Morocco).

The riad is located in the extreme north of the medina, in a pedestrian side-street with no direct vehicle access, around a 15-20 minute walk from the Jmaa el-Fnaa. The nearest taxi rank is a short 5 minute walk away. Taxis are cheap and it's a 5 minute drive to the Jmaa el-Fnaa. We'd pre-booked a taxi with the riad to collect us from the airport which turned out well as the driver escorted us to the front door. The location turned out to be a bonus, however, because it's so peaceful. (Other tourists we met on the train to Tangiers told us that, staying closer to the Jmaa el-Fnaa, they were disturbed by noise from the square until the small hours, and woken by the traffic early in the morning.) Our suite (Khamssa) was close to a school and sometimes we heard the kids singing briefly in the mornings but it didn't disturb us much.

Overall we found it a lovely place for a romantic short break, and strongly recommend it.

  • Liked — peaceful courtyard, small number of rooms
  • Disliked — distance from tourist sites
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Charai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charai

Address: 54 Diour Jdad | Zaouia Abassia, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Charai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Charai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Charai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.