We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azzar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Azzar
Save
You added Riad Azzar to your Saves list
94, derb Moulay Abdelkader - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Fantastic location, minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Souks and Jemaa el Fnaa. Cees and Maryk are excellent hosts; the staff are friendly and efficient and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Not one detail has been overlooked in this exquisite Riad. After a long day's travel and maneuvering through the chaos of Marrakech, Riad Azzar could not have been a more perfect place to land. Apart from the magnificent surroundings, the staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive. The food is also impeccable. I almost didn't want to leave the riad as it is so magnificent! What stands out most though, is the care that the proprietors take in assuring their guests feel at home. I would in fact say that if it weren't for the guidance and suggestions given by the Lady of the riad, my trip to Morocco would not have been what it turned out to be. It was definitely among the best travel experiences I've ever had. When in Marrakech, don't dream of going anywhere else - let Riad Azzar be your oasis...

Room Tip: Email for more information and you will be promptly and attentively responded to. Just let them kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in November. The staff were attentive; anything we wanted was taken care of, and done with a smile. Breakfasts were great, as was the lunch, the one time we ate in. The Riad itself is beautiful and well maintained, the decor is stunning as well as feeling homely.

I had emailed the owners before our arrival for advice on things to do and they responded quickly and helpfully. The location is great, just around the corner from the main square and almost in the Souks itself, so easy to get everywhere.

A charming stay, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

A lovely quiet oasis in the middle of a hectic hectic city. All of the team are lovely - it helps if you speak a little french but you can easily get by with english. Contact the riad before you travel and ask them to arrange transport from the airport. A guide is very very useful to find the riad. Breakfast on the roof terrace is lovely and we had a couple of lunches and dinners during our stay which were also gorgeous. Well located for all of the sites - the best place we went to was the ben youssef koran school - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful Riad in October. If you want to be near the Medina this is a perfect haven. The owners and staff are lovely, intelligent and helpful people, who went over and beyond to make us comfortable, informed and welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Owners - knowledgeable, helpful, charming
Other staff - simply lovely and completely trustworthy
Rooms- stunning, chic and comfortable
Food - absolutely gorgeous, possibly the nicest dinner I have ever had (no menu, just ask for what you want and they will cook it for you!)
Location - perfect, a stones through from the main square

All in all an absolutely incredible place to stay I genuinely can not rate this hotel high enough!

Room Tip: Marmoucha - lovely (definitely get a room with ac if you're travelling in the summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminItchyFeet
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed in Azzar for 4 nights in the summer. It's a prefect and evocative Riad with period features and brilliant, personal service. The Dutch owners are extremely helpful and sociable. The breakfast is completely insane (I still dream about it) and if you choose to eat there, the food is marvellous. Overall, it's a touch on the pricey side but makes up for it with beautiful rooms and a great atmosphere. Just the place to escape the Souks.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,305 reviews
7.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#29 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#178 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
7.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#32 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
6.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azzar

Address: 94, derb Moulay Abdelkader - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Riad Azzar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azzar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.