We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Azzar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Azzar to your Saves list
Riad Azzar
94, derb Moulay Abdelkader - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Owners - knowledgeable, helpful, charming
Other staff - simply lovely and completely trustworthy
Rooms- stunning, chic and comfortable
Food - absolutely gorgeous, possibly the nicest dinner I have ever had (no menu, just ask for what you want and they will cook it for you!)
Location - perfect, a stones through from the main square

All in all an absolutely incredible place to stay I genuinely can not rate this hotel high enough!

Room Tip: Marmoucha - lovely (definitely get a room with ac if you're travelling in the summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BenjaminItchyFeet
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in Azzar for 4 nights in the summer. It's a prefect and evocative Riad with period features and brilliant, personal service. The Dutch owners are extremely helpful and sociable. The breakfast is completely insane (I still dream about it) and if you choose to eat there, the food is marvellous. Overall, it's a touch on the pricey side but makes up for it with beautiful rooms and a great atmosphere. Just the place to escape the Souks.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a fantastic Riad in the Medina of Marrakech. The tranquil and luxury surroundings of this Hotel is in stark contrast to the madness that you will experience in Medina. Just what you need if you are spending a few days tackling Marrakech's streets. As you step through the small traditional door of the Riad, it's like stepping in to a different world from the busy Medina streets.

Our room was on the ground floor. The room was fairly small but full of character and quality fittings. The room looked out to the courtyard and the bathing pool - nice views. At night, you can pull over the shutters and get a good night's sleep.

There is a rooftop terrace at the top - again, the peace and quiet there is hard to believe considering you are in the Medina. My wife and I loved the Moroccan tea on the rooftop at night - great way to end a busy day. We didn't eat in Azzar but I probably would if I could do it again. The food looked fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend and rented the complete riad which is located in the medina. The riad is beautifully decorated, with nice different sitting areas and has a very friendly staff and truely hepful owners with fantastic ideas how to spend your day.
But there wa a bit of a downside too: the riad had to be reached through a relatively dirty alley (but I think this was temporarely broken up). The rooms are def. not sound proof. In addtion to that the riad is next to a speaker that calls early in the morning for a prayer. Furthermore we had some giant cockroaches in the room, which thankfully disappeared when the staff repaired a grate and which seems to be a temporarely problem. Internet was free but not great.
If this sounds horrible to you, you better go to a five star hotel. But if you love a true maroccan experience you should choose this venue! The personal atmosphere brought in by the owners could never be beated by any hotel chain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Well .....We didn't get to stay in this Riad due to a serious family Illness.. but I just wanted to say...We WILL go in September because of the Compassion Care and Kindness Maryk the owner showed through emails and telephone calls over a 4 week period as I went through a traumatic time... changing my mind on 4 different occasions! and finally the decision not to visit at the last minute..So Thank you and we will see you soon...

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

One of the joys of staying at a riad in Morocco is that you wander down a series of alley ways, knock on a front door not knowing what awaits you and then you enter into the most tranquil and welcoming of places. This was our experience of the Riad Azzar and Maryk and Cees are knowledgeable and friendly hosts with considerable flair for Moroccan style and for making you feel at home. It's in a good location within a minute's walk to the Medina and pretty quiet, part from the regular calls to prayer which are part of the charm of being in Morocco. We stayed on the ground floor which got a little noisy with other guests chatting outside our room, so choose a room on one of the upper floors if you can. The rooftop terrace was lovely and breakfasts on the terrace were a real highlight. If you want a true riad experience in Marrakesh, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Marrakech is one busy, noisy city.. and so we were pleasantly surprised at just how quiet Riad Azzar was despite only being minutes from the main square in the city. From the moment you step through the door and away, you instantly relax.

There are only 4 rooms in the hotel, and so you get a very personal service as well. All of the staff were very friendly, and the Dutch owners were also extremely helpful in giving tips and advice for what to do & see in Marrakech.

The only one drawback was the access to the hotel - you have to go down a side alley which, if you don't know where you're going in the dark, is a bit intimidating (but once you get used to Marrakech, you realise its not that bad in the grand scheme of things!) and we had one night where we couldn't get to sleep because of kids playing football outside, but other than that is was perfect. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Azzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azzar

Address: 94, derb Moulay Abdelkader - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Riad Azzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Azzar Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Azzar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.