We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, relaxed and look at those stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Arahanta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Arahanta
14 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #825 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friendly, relaxed and look at those stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Riads are such great designs - an open air courtyard with rooms around the perimeter....and a roof terrace. Arahanta had such a wonderful feel. Ross and david, the owners, were very friendly and helpful with lots of local advice (ask them about the nearby restaurant with the vegetarian tagine - insist on preserved lemon being added). They organised for us to be collected before we blindly walked from the taxi into the Medina - even after 4 days in Marrakech the alleys and side alleys remained a maze. Breakfast was served by a local helper who had a beaming smile and produced a wonderful array of fresh food. We took lots of time over breakfast in the courtyard. Tasty coffee and blue skies.....this is the life!! The Medina is a huge bustling bazaar full of locals, tourists and mad people on bikes - I loved it - but it was great to return to the relaxed Arahanta for a lunchtime rest. Everything about the riad was spot-on...clean...homely...clothes lines in the sun...quiet......great breakfasts and a wonderful cheap restaurant jusrt around the corner. Highly highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Never having been to marrakech before, we didnt know what to expect. We needn't have worried. On arriving at Riad Arahanta, we were welcomed by David and Ross who were very friendly and full of all sorts of very useful information. Nothing was too much bother to David or his staff and after tiring days out and about we were glad of the peace and quiet of Arahanta, (especially the rooftop terrace) - despite it being right in the heart of the Medina. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and leisurely and although the riad itself is very traditional, its very clean and represents good value for money. We would definately use it again. Thank you David and Ross, we hope to visit Arahanta again one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed in August for 2 weeks and loved how central the Riad is to the old city . Locals very friendly and not too pushy when buying stuff in the market ,David (Owner) very helpfull and looks after you very well .You are minutes away from the centre of Marrakesh and the daily trip through the various souks is a fantastic adventure and no two days are the same ,All the different colours and smells from the various food/spice stalls plays with your senses and eating out in the Market Square at night is a "MUST ! "
Will i come back ? Yes !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

great location and david really looks out for you and has lots of contacts to help you get whatever you want . riad a great place to stay and explore marrakesh

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Within the rabbit warren that is Marrakech you are fairly central to the action. Lovely sweet shop and eateries near bye. The hosts charming and always happy to help with suggestions tours etc The staff were friendly and breakfast generous. The riad itself is in slight decline and battling rising damp, but there is a lovely roof top and center court garden to counter balance this. Well stocked library too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Boyfriend and I traveled to Marrakesh in April 2009. Stayed at the Riad for 5 nights and it was lovely! A very short walk to the heart of the action but lovely and quiet for sleeping/resting during the day. Ross and David were lovely! We spent a lot of time in the Hivernage but were thankful that we chose to stay within the Medina for our first trip to Marrakesh. While we were there we were the only guests in the entire riad and had the whole place to ourselves! Breakfast was a great way to start out the morning.

Ross and David put up with some of our crazy Western antics (my boyfriends parents kept trying to call the riad from the States, etc) and were very helpful with suggestions for places to go/stuff to do around town. They helped us make reservations and arrange for drivers whenever needed.

On a side note, if you have a little extra money to spend on dinner one evening, spend it at the Comptoir! Also, gromages at Les Bains de Marrakesh were UNBEATABLE - a must do.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

i stayed at Riad arahanta with a friend for 5 nights. We were met at the airport by David, one of the owners who escorted us back to the riad.
David and Ross were more like old friends on our stay, welcoming us into their home and always being ready to help with any questions or give us advice. They are a wealth of knowledge on the country, the people, the history and all the best shopping and lunch/dinner spots!!
We shopped til we dropped and met lots of charming Morrocans in the process. We ate out at lunch every day. I can recommend the Kosybar and cafe Arabe( which is just round the corner from the riad) and at night we went to the square and ate traditional Morrocan cuisine which was always wonderful and served by the friendliest, and best looking young men i've ever set eyes on!!
The riad was comfortable with all our requirements met. Breakfast was filling, fresh and plentiful. The beds warm and comfortable. The showers hot and powerful. I have a cat allergy but at no time did i experience any problems with the cats in the house. David and Ross keep their cats on the 2nd floor of the riad which is not open to guests and the roof cats do not get into the house.
The roof terrace is a delight , providing loungers and sofas, both shaded and for sunbathing. The 2 resident tortoises live up there and Shaggy, the lively one, provided endless entertainment.
I couldnt have wished for a better way to experience my first visit to marrakech than staying at riad arahanta and using it as base to explore and as a retreat when we were all shopped out!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Arahanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Arahanta

Address: 14 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #825 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a traditional riad decorated in the Marrakech family, not French, style. Upgraded facilities are of a modern standard. Personal service is the key here and unlike many other riads this is a family and child friendly establishment. Its location at Dar el Bacha (the safest quartier of the medina) means that the main attractions are nearby and easily accessible. Breakfasts and maid service are provided and guests also have the opportunity to avail themselves of the kitchen facilities. There is a large roof terrace with a pergola for shade. The owners are resident and are always available to offer their advice based on 12 years living in Morocco. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Arahanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Arahanta to your Saves list