We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Arahanta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Arahanta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Arahanta
14 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #801 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riad Arahanta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed in August for 2 weeks and loved how central the Riad is to the old city . Locals very friendly and not too pushy when buying stuff in the market ,David (Owner) very helpfull and looks after you very well .You are minutes away from the centre of Marrakesh and the daily trip through the various souks is a fantastic adventure and no two days are the same ,All the different colours and smells from the various food/spice stalls plays with your senses and eating out in the Market Square at night is a "MUST ! "
Will i come back ? Yes !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

great location and david really looks out for you and has lots of contacts to help you get whatever you want . riad a great place to stay and explore marrakesh

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Within the rabbit warren that is Marrakech you are fairly central to the action. Lovely sweet shop and eateries near bye. The hosts charming and always happy to help with suggestions tours etc The staff were friendly and breakfast generous. The riad itself is in slight decline and battling rising damp, but there is a lovely roof top and center court garden to counter balance this. Well stocked library too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Boyfriend and I traveled to Marrakesh in April 2009. Stayed at the Riad for 5 nights and it was lovely! A very short walk to the heart of the action but lovely and quiet for sleeping/resting during the day. Ross and David were lovely! We spent a lot of time in the Hivernage but were thankful that we chose to stay within the Medina for our first trip to Marrakesh. While we were there we were the only guests in the entire riad and had the whole place to ourselves! Breakfast was a great way to start out the morning.

Ross and David put up with some of our crazy Western antics (my boyfriends parents kept trying to call the riad from the States, etc) and were very helpful with suggestions for places to go/stuff to do around town. They helped us make reservations and arrange for drivers whenever needed.

On a side note, if you have a little extra money to spend on dinner one evening, spend it at the Comptoir! Also, gromages at Les Bains de Marrakesh were UNBEATABLE - a must do.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

i stayed at Riad arahanta with a friend for 5 nights. We were met at the airport by David, one of the owners who escorted us back to the riad.
David and Ross were more like old friends on our stay, welcoming us into their home and always being ready to help with any questions or give us advice. They are a wealth of knowledge on the country, the people, the history and all the best shopping and lunch/dinner spots!!
We shopped til we dropped and met lots of charming Morrocans in the process. We ate out at lunch every day. I can recommend the Kosybar and cafe Arabe( which is just round the corner from the riad) and at night we went to the square and ate traditional Morrocan cuisine which was always wonderful and served by the friendliest, and best looking young men i've ever set eyes on!!
The riad was comfortable with all our requirements met. Breakfast was filling, fresh and plentiful. The beds warm and comfortable. The showers hot and powerful. I have a cat allergy but at no time did i experience any problems with the cats in the house. David and Ross keep their cats on the 2nd floor of the riad which is not open to guests and the roof cats do not get into the house.
The roof terrace is a delight , providing loungers and sofas, both shaded and for sunbathing. The 2 resident tortoises live up there and Shaggy, the lively one, provided endless entertainment.
I couldnt have wished for a better way to experience my first visit to marrakech than staying at riad arahanta and using it as base to explore and as a retreat when we were all shopped out!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

My first trip to Morocco was made very enjoyable by the helpfulness of owners Ross and David.I was immediately made to feel at home with never ending teabags, essential to an English granny abroad.
The Arahanta being in the heart of the Medina, and my wobbly sense of direction,meant that I got lost several times on the first day, even with Ross and David's excellent map so David took me by the hand walked the route to Djemma el Fnaa with me. The Arahanta is not"posh" not 5 star.It's a 400 year old house in traditional style that's homely, comfortable and affordable with good breakfasts comfortable beds and constant supply of hot water in the showers.
The Arahanta has 2 double and 2 single rooms to rent.I would heartily recommend it to travellers of all ages, all sexes all sexual orientations but not necessarily to those allergic to cats. Marrakesh abounds in cats and the Arahanta has house cats in Ross and David's rooms plus the obligatory strays fed on the roof terrace.
I'm certain that I will stay here again and so will members of my family.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

This riad is run by David and Ross, who are friendly and easy going. We arranged a pickup and David met us at the taxi stand and took us to the riad. All the rooms are on the ground floor and the owners live on the first floor. They provided us a little map on arrival which helped us greatly on our first night/day there.

The riad is not far from the main square, about 10 min walk. There are restaurants/cafes nearby. We ate at cafe arabe the first night - great atmosphere, good service and food. The price is reasonable by European standard but actually expensive by Morocco standard. Foor is cheap there and you really don't need to spend more than 10-15 euros for 2 in most cases.

The room is fine - heater is provided, which you will need at night as it gets quite cold. Unfortunately the fuss broke and we were left without heat for one night. However, they were apologetic and did provide us hot water bottles and extra blanket to keep warm. The fuss problem was quickly resolved the next day.

The courtyard is beautiful and a good place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Guests can use the kitchen and we enjoyed sipping mint tea at the courtyard after a day of sighseeing.

The only thing we didn't like/get used to was that there were always some boys playing/hanging around the alley and bothered us when we headed back to the riad. However, they were not threatening - just the usual on-here-are-some-tourists-lets-see-if-we-can-get-some-money-from-them. You get this hassle pretty much everywhere in the medina. Just say no or ignore them. It is safe.

  • Liked — the owners - friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — nothing really - just need time to get used to the alleys
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Arahanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Arahanta

Address: 14 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a traditional riad decorated in the Marrakech family, not French, style. Upgraded facilities are of a modern standard. Personal service is the key here and unlike many other riads this is a family and child friendly establishment. Its location at Dar el Bacha (the safest quartier of the medina) means that the main attractions are nearby and easily accessible. Breakfasts and maid service are provided and guests also have the opportunity to avail themselves of the kitchen facilities. There is a large roof terrace with a pergola for shade. The owners are resident and are always available to offer their advice based on 12 years living in Morocco. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Arahanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Arahanta to your Saves list