We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Save Saved
You added Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Derb Derdouba | Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Easter break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Jacques and his team are fantastic. Their friendliness and helpfulness was second to none, and the riad is wonderful. A great location with a 10-15minute walk into the souks / centre and with lots going on around it. Comes very well recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A friend has recommended me this Riad and i have to say it was a good choice to stay here. It is a beautifull spot in the Medina of Marrakesch.The rooms are really nice detailed and with nice colors. The Rooftop is fantastic and you can enjoy here the delicious breakfast or enjoy a mint tea with local sweets in the afternoon after a shopping tour along the souks.It is just 20 minutes walking distance from the Jemaa el Fna. The staff is always helpfull and really friendly. If we come back we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at this riad for a week and the experience was exceptional. From the breakfast, to the surrounds, to the friendly and accommodating staff, every aspect of the service provided has been meticulously thought through to ensure a first rate presentation. It was a pleasure to stay at Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers, and would do so again without hesitation - a home away from home.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and we had the luxury of spreading our stay across 2 rooms, which almost made t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are frequent travellers and spent a few days in Marrakech around Easter (our first visit to Morocco). The Riad is easy to reach and perfectly located. It is very tastefully decorated, with care to details. It felt warm and very genuine. And a real oasis of peace. We were very impressed by the airy, luxurious simplicity of our room (Safa). We were even more impressed by the kindness and warm professionality of Jacques and its staff. Upon arrival Jacques gave us plenty of great advice that got our exploration of Marrakech started in the best way (it can be quite confusing to make sense of where things are and how to reach them if you've never visited before). We had dinner twice in the Terrasse overlooking the roofs on top of the Riad (Malika's cooking is really really amazing - it would have been a shame to have missed it out). Breakfast was tasty and we really appreciated the fact that it gave us a chance to taste different types of Moroccan breads. Jacques, Malika, Youseff, Rachida and the others make a fantastic, friendly team. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I only stayed in the Riad for a night but instantly felt at home - Jacques and all the staff are so lovely, helpful and welcoming. The Riad is perfectly located, within the Medina but not right in the thick of it so you have a nice but short walk to get to the souks/square etc. Tucked away down a little alleyway you wouldn't give it a second glance but once you go through the door a beautiful, tranquil house opens up. The rooms are all individually decorated, tasteful and immaculate and the terrace on the roof is amazing, especially for breakfast in the sun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Riad La Terrasse des Olivers for 4 nights the end of January we were welcomed by Ruschida who served us mint tea whilst we waited to be introduced to the manager Jacques, he was so helpful and instructed us about getting about the Medina and the Souk. We had dinner twice on the terrace which had been cooked with fresh vegetabes fruit & meat, absolutely delicious and the breakfast was excellent. Jacques and his staff Ruschida, Malika, Youseff & Brahim could not do enough for us whilst we were there, we loved Marrakech but after a busy day sightseeing it was a pleasure to return to the Riad with its tranquil and peaceful atmosphere..... the room was beautifully decorated very clean and comfortable. Hopefully will get back to Marrakech and would most definitely stay at this Riad..... P.S. we arranged with Jacques to be dollected at the airport on our arrival and it was most convenient.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Riad des terrase des oliviers from 1st-8th December 2012 and we had the most wonderful time in the Riad. Jacques, Youseff, Malachi (sp?) and another member of staff whose name I forget, could not have been more helpful and hospitable. Jacques took the time to inform us of many interesting places to visit at the beginning of our stay, and his help and advice continued throughout the holiday, whenever we needed it. Likewise, Youseff and Malachi were so helpful too, serving a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace or serving mint tea and keeping us supplied with bottles of water and clemetines! As "foodies" we sampled many tagines in Marrakesh and Essaouira, however the tagines in the riad, cooked by Malachi were by far the best we had in Morocco; freshly cooked with fresh, local ingredients - also complete with delicious fresh salad starters and fruit deserts with a twist! (Pomegranate with the juice of an orange and mint. Yum!)
As an extra bonus, it was my Birthday on our arrival, so my husband asked for a bottle of sparkling wine to be ready upon arrival - this was also no problem to arrange.
If you do want to take any excursions, Jacques will happily organise these for you. I would recommend that you ask for Mustafa - we traveled to Essaouira and Cascade D'ouzoud (both an absolute must) with him. While you will pay a little bit more with Mustafa (not much more I must add) you will travel in a very comfortable car with a guaranteed seatbelt and he is also a very safe driver (most Moroccan taxis don't have seatbelts and their driving can be 'interesting' to say the very least). Taking an excursion this way also means that you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn and head down to the bus station to barter for a taxi.
Marrakesh is a wonderful yet very hectic city, and it's easy to get tired here, so having a Riad such as this to come back and relax in was fantastic - we called it our haven in Marrakesh!
One final thing I must say, rest assured that Marrakesh is a safe city. For a westerner, it can sometimes be a little daunting being in such a hectic place, in a Muslim country, but you will get on just fine, providing that you respect their values and also dress appropriately (you will see quite a few westerners showing shoulders/arms above elbows and above the knee shorts or skirts - this is not appropriate, and by doing this, you will only bring more attention to yourself)

I would highly recommend both this Riad and Morocco to anyone - enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Address: 79, Derb Derdouba | Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech, in the vibrant neighbourhood of Bab Doukkala and easily accessible by taxi, nearby the fabulous Majorelle Gardens and 15 minutes away from the main square Jamaa el Fna, Eric and Olivier invite you to enjoy the treasures of their riad. All the Moroccan craftworks are represented: from the sculpted plaster ceilings, over the various coloured tadelakts to the intricate zouak paintings and finely carved zelige... all this assuring you an authentic and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Terrasse Des Oliviers Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.