We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility amidst the crazy Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Save Saved
You added Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Derb Derdouba | Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility amidst the crazy Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took advice from friends to stay out of the heart of the Medina. It's a crazy place and a lot to take in. This place was super well located on a quiet street and really provided the necessary tranquility you need after being in the middle of it all. Awesome location for all the sights in and out of the medina. Jacques, the owner and proprietor is the man! Arranged pick up to and from airport, sat down with me for 20 mins when I arrived to walk me thru the map, give me sightseeing tips, restaurant tips and a good lesson in street smarts to handle Marrakech. The staff could not have been friendlier if they tried. Upon arrival I was offered mint tea and snacks and they always offered to and water upon request. The roof terrace was awesome. Great place to sit and relax and eat breakfast. Be sure to have an omelette at breakfast...was excellent. Even better, I took advantage of having dinner at the riad my first night. You MUST do this, it was amazing! Fabulous and very large home cooked meal...Moroccan specialties of your choice. I had the couscous with lamb nd chicken. So good. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor....windows out onto side street, front door out to courtyard. Room was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
53
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olhao, Portugal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very beautiful Riad with helpful and friendly staff. Beautifully decorated in Marocan style, even in the smallest details. The owner, manager and all personnel are really helpful and friendly. They make you feel like your coming back home instead of returning to your hotel.
I can recommend this Riad to everybody going to Marrakech.

Room Tip: It does not really matter which room you choose. They are all excellent (we slept in two different o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wonderful house, beautifully decorated. About ten minutes walk to the main square and all the souks. Excellent staff, friendly and helpful without ever being in your face. Breakfast on the terrace is just idyllic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October for our stay in Marrakech. From the minute we arrived, we were thrilled with our choice. Our room was beautiful (we stayed in the "Safa" room), and everyone who works there was wonderful. I was sick with the flu the first night we arrived, and Renaud (the owner) was so helpful and gave me some fresh fruit and bread for supper so we didn't have to go out. We ate dinner in the riad on our last night, and couldn't have asked for a better meal.

I would definitely recommend this riad, and if we ever return to Marrakech, we will stay here! We made several stops on our travels through Morocco and this riad was by far our favourite!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Marrakech, a magnificent, teeming city, can batter a tourist with its wild bustle, noise, and frantic traffic. Coming "home" to Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers is bliss! The staff make the visitor believe that nothing is too much trouble, and that the guest's comfort and pleasure are their only goals in life. The rooms are large and comfortable, the decor deliciously Moroccan, and the staff gracious at all times.

Breakfasts on the rooftop balcony are luscious and relaxing and dinners in the Riad are delicious and beautifully served by Braham, whose 100-watt smile never fades. Malika is cooks like a dream and Jacques, who speaks six languages, is so talented and experienced that he can make anything happen! When we wanted a quiet evening of TV and privacy he managed to have a delicious pizza delivered via scooter to our room, a first in the Riad and a miracle in Marrakech. Three other evenings we enjoyed lovely dinners on the terrace under the stars right in the Riad.

The owner, Renaud, is involved in every aspect of the place and runs a very tight ship. The location is perfect for experiencing the city.

We recommend this Riad with enthusiasm to anyone who wants to experience fabulous Marrakech as if they were staying with dear friends.

Room Tip: HIgher floors offer more light, but if stairs are a problem, the lower rooms are just fine, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Riad is a real joy. Lovely rooms, very atmospheric, fantastic service, delicious food served for dinner and very good breakfasts. The staff are great, friendly and very approachable - nothing is too much trouble. The pick-up from the airport was much appreciated. The location of the Riad makes walking around the Medina very easy. Also the Jardin Majorelle is within easy walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay here and are already planning our return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

rooms and breakfast are decent in line with other riads in this price range. tea and water are free of charge and there's two ipads in the common areas for use by the guests (very practical). what sets this place apart is the friendly and warm welcome by the owner and manager who take plenty of time to introduce guests to marrakech and share their tips for dinner etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Also Known As:
Riad La Terrasse Des Oliviers Hotel
Riad La Terrasse Des Oliviers Hotel Marrakech
Address: 79, Derb Derdouba | Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#107 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#230 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech, in the vibrant neighbourhood of Bab Doukkala and easily accessible by taxi, nearby the fabulous Majorelle Gardens and 15 minutes away from the main square Jamaa el Fna, Eric and Olivier invite you to enjoy the treasures of their riad. All the Moroccan craftworks are represented: from the sculpted plaster ceilings, over the various coloured tadelakts to the intricate zouak paintings and finely carved zelige... all this assuring you an authentic and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.