We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly staff in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Save Saved
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #81 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely friendly staff in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Friendly little riad in the Kasbah area of Marrakech. It's about a 20 minute walk from the main square and the souks, but we enjoyed wandering round the Kasbah too, and thought it a good location - calmer than the area round the main square but easy enough to walk there for restaurants etc. The staff and owners were always welcoming and helpful. They organised a taxi transfer from the airport for us - recommended as it is along a small alleyway off the main street - and we were welcomed with a mint tea and given a good recommendation for a restaurant in the centre of town. The only downside was that the room was a little small, and the en-suite not especially private to the bedroom (wall finished a couple of feet below the ceiling!). Although it wasn't especially warm the week we visited, we did spend some time lounging round the roof terrace: there's a tented seating area as well as the sun loungers. Breakfasts were really good - we never made an attempt to finish the huge basket of bread/croissants that came with it. All in all, a good place to stay,

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    79
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
297
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Chilterns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

My wife and I were very comfortable at the Riad Jonan. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts gave you a great start for the day, and gave you the chance to swap stories with other guests.As the Riad is situated right in the heart of the Kasbah, you get a wonderful feel for Moroccan life, in all its raw glory, yet it is a little oasis of calm when you step through the door. It's near enough to the main square to be easily accessable, but far enough away from the frenetic pace of life that many Moroccans lead. Howard (and Kiko the dog) were very friendly hosts and helped us with our bearings on our first day.
The Riad was charmingly decorated with contemporary and modern Arab designs, but there was room enough to socialise in the evenings, which we did as it was half term and the hotel was full of teachers. We slept very well in our Deluxe room, and would have no hesitation in staying there again should we return to Marrakech. Great place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I and DH stayed at Riad Jonan for two nights in February. The riad is rather conveniently located in the Kasbah area, a walking distance from the Jemaa el Fna square and the souks. The riad is nicely decorated, the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts adequate. There was also a cute little dog running around. But we would have enjoyed our stay more if it hadn't been so noisy in our room. We didn't quite get the peace and quiet feeling we were looking for after a busy day in Marrakech. Our room (Jadida) had a glass door (lovely looking though) and when people were having a after dinner chat in the TV room or outside our room we could hear everything inside. So if you want to go to bead early, this might not be the best place for you. Bathroom was also rather cold and the towels didn't dry in there. But I'm sure it will be better when summer comes. Appreciated the wine in the minibar when the weather was rather chilly one evening.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

Excellent riad to stay in to experience the flavour of marrakesh set right in the heart of the Kasbah within walking distance of most of the major sights.
We stayed for 10 nights (a bit too long for Marrakesh ) and the basic rooms we found to be too small and had to upgrade. However Howard and Martin the owners made every effort to find us better rooms.
Wonderful breakfasts to set you up for the day and lots of help in organising trips out and things to see and do.
Staff are very helpful and speak excellent English.

  • Liked — Staff, Location,
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Beautifully decorated and friendly Riad in the Kasbah area of the old town. Room lovely, shower good and breakfast great. Very helpful staff are English speaking and give accurate non-biased advice. Kindly posted a key that we left behind in the safe! Would go again and recommend Riad Jonan to friends.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

The Riad Jonan is an attractive boutique hotel in the heart of the Medina. You will feel safe and looked after, as you relax away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Centrally located and easy to walk or get a taxi anywhere. Our party of 5 stayed over New Year and we were given loads of advice about good local restaurants etc.

Your hosts will look after you and the staff couldnt be more helpful. The food was delicious and when we were stranded by our airline for 2 extra days, the riad took us back for 2 more nights and helped us get over the stress of it all!

Good value, great hospitality, super location and ideal if you do not fancy a faceless international style hotel but somewhere with personality!

Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Having never been to Morocco before, really did not know what to expect - but Riad Jonan was a perfect start. Yes, the weather was a tad unlucky, but the Road more then made up for it. Perfect location in the old town with easy walking access to a host of sites, great facilities and wonderful staff, help make this a perfect retreat whether you are looking for a weekend break or maybe a bit longer.

All the staff we excellent, and they even helped arrange collection and delivery from the airport. Help like this, coupled with a great menu make this an ideal place to stay!

  • Liked — Great location, comfortable, great staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.