We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal The Riad Jonan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Riad Jonan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #73 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Real Deal The Riad Jonan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

On arrival in the Kasbah, As we disembarked from our shuttle transfer bus, We were immediately met and welcomed by Hassan The Riad Manager, The Rue de la Kasbah is a real` moroccan ' old city street / thoroughfare, The Riad Jonan is situated up a side street ( Derb Bzou ) and is truly a traditional old style `local town house' the facilities are authentic and of an exceptionally high standard, The staff are very knowledgeable and appear able to meet the needs of every guest, treating all guests as `individuals' . The plunge pool and roof top terrace, the unique style of the bedrooms and the traditional exceptionally good quality food combined with the attention to detail evident in all dealings with the staff, makes staying at this Riad, a very personalised experience, and cannot be compared to larger hotels. A perfect (traditional ) base, to explore the old city, and further afield such as the Mountains, the Desert or the Coast, Would rate this Riad highly and deffinately recommend it !!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, all ensuite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    86
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
330
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Really stunning place, with beautiful interiors with lots of room downstairs and upstairs to just chill..
Regarding the staff, I really don't know what I could say that would possibly do them justice. Nothing was to difficult, they were just soooo ridiculously lovely, and always making sure we were comfortable and looked after. When we first arrived we were sat down and given mint tea and cakes and then given a map, told where to go, what to do where the main sights are, etc, and had any Qs answered. Really welcoming.
Our room was immaculate, everything you could need inside (minibar, drinking glasses, hairdryer, TV though we didn't use it, etc), super clean, spacious, and really really beautiful. We were upgraded to the luxury suite for the whole of our stay which obviously made it even more enjoyable.
The only thing that was slightly annoying was the fact that a few times when we wanted something off the menu they wouldn't have some of the ingredients and couldn't make it. But being in such a good location meant that there were lots of good places to eat around. It was only annoying if you'd just come back from being out and couldn't be bothered leaving again to eat/have a dessert. Speaking of which, would recommend cafe clock which is quite nearby, slightly too touristy but good food and the mint lemonade was the most refreshing drink I have ever had in my life, awesome in the marrakesh heat.
Overall, would come back again and again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

When the taxi driver first dropped me off, I have to admit I was a little worried. But my fears were short lived. A lovely, well hidden gem of a riad. The decor is lovely, the staff warm welcoming and very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed my 10 day visit to Marrakech, Riad Jonan is in a good quiet location, well run with great staff. I'd stay there again. Need I say more!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I first stayed here six years ago and was more than happy to return. The building and decor are lovely and the location down a quiet lane within walking distance of the main attractions is very good. Staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money and I would have no hesitation in recommending the riad or staying there again myself

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights and found the Riad to be a wonderful place to come back to after the hustle and bustle of Marrrakech itself. On arrival we were greeted and seated in a small room to complete the formalities - with some wonderful mint tea. Then were shown to our room which was exactly what we were looking for in a traditional Riad - very comfortable and clean. The staff were always so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast set us up for the day and was all prepared fresh each morning - including home made yoghurt. On the first night we decided to have dinner here and it was the best meal we had - however you need to let them know in advance if you are going to eat in. I would definitely recommend to friends and would love to go back for another stay.

Room Tip: if you can ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as this makes you feel you are in a traditional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the beginning of July and cannot fault any part of it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and gave us great recommendations for things to do. The room was lovely and the hotel is in a perfect location, A* service

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Bristol
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a lovely place to stay. Marrakech had been recommended to us by several people all of whom said stay in the Old City. Found this hotel via Avios and we wee not disappointed. We had a superior room which was spacious and an equally spacious ensuite. Breakfast was excellent, traditional not western. We had dinner one night and the lamb tangible was lovely as was the local wine. the Staff were superb nd could not have been more helpful. Recommended to all and sundry - just off the Rue de la Kasbah and a short walk to lots and lots"

Room Tip: Go upmarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.