We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Riad Jonan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #76 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for three nights at the beginning of July and cannot fault any part of it. The staff were friendly and helpful, and gave us great recommendations for things to do. The room was lovely and the hotel is in a perfect location, A* service

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    83
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
312
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of Bristol
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a lovely place to stay. Marrakech had been recommended to us by several people all of whom said stay in the Old City. Found this hotel via Avios and we wee not disappointed. We had a superior room which was spacious and an equally spacious ensuite. Breakfast was excellent, traditional not western. We had dinner one night and the lamb tangible was lovely as was the local wine. the Staff were superb nd could not have been more helpful. Recommended to all and sundry - just off the Rue de la Kasbah and a short walk to lots and lots"

Room Tip: Go upmarket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Just returned from a lovely, lovely 3 nights at the beautiful Riad Jonan. It was just as the reviews had said - a gorgeous retreat from the hustle and bustle of the crazy and buzzing Marrakech. It's a beautiful little Riad, so peaceful and relaxing, with a brilliant roof terrace which we used daily to sunbathe and enjoy drinks on! Also a fab little plunge pool to cool off after sunbathing or exploring the city. The staff were all brilliant - Syed, Abdul and Hassan were all so friendly and helpful, always with a big smile on their face and made you feel so welcome. It was so much nicer staying in a riad like this rather than a large hotel; it felt like a true Morrocan experience. And the breakfast was amazing! So tasty, and all in all a great value and extremely friendly little Riad. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent five days in riad Jonan. We were welcomed with tea and pastries by the amiable Abdul who later prepared us a tasty dinner as it was late and we were too tired to go out. Hassan and Ann and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and attentive to our needs and helped us with organizing tours, recommendations for restaurants and attractions, and rides. The location is superb and within a short walk to all the main attractions in the medina. The room was a bit small but it has everything you need, and the bathroom is spacious. The decor is very authentic as all the wood work was done by local artists. We would definitely stay here next time we visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kangy73
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a first time visit to Morocco for my husband & I. The excellent reviews of this riad are all correct. The staff were wonderful. It truly is a magical place to return to after a hectic venture into the streets of Marrakech. We stayed in the room, Calif, which I couldn't fault, however didn't see the other rooms. If doing the Atlas Mountain excursion and walk to waterfall wear walking shoes, as this is more than a leisurely walk if you go right up to the falls!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room, Calif, which I couldn't fault, however I didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here recently. We used the reviews on trip advisor to make our choice of riad and we werent dissapointed. We had our room set up as a twin over looking the plunge pool...the quieter side of the riad as it was also an inward looking room, so no noice from the alley way outside.
It was a standard room and although small did the job with air con and a good size bathroom. When we arrived we were offered peppermint tea and sweet cakes. It was lovely and gave us a chance to settle after the journey.
The staff are fabulous, all friendly and so so helpful. Each day they gave us tips and pointers, maps etc and booked a traditional Hamam on our last day, which was certainly an experience.
Breakfast was lovely, my fav was eggs and grilled tomatoe, my friend loved the prunes in orange flower and yoghurt, orange juice was fresh too.
Roof terrace was nice to chill on after a long day and before going out in the evening...the staff brought up drinks for us whenever we wanted something.
This Riad is a perfect location for sight seeing and only 15mins from the main square and some nice places to eat.
I would recommend riad jonan as it was great value for money, it isnt top quality luxury, but it was just a lovely place to stay location wise and for the team who work there are just brilliant.
Thank you :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our first riad and we enjoyed our visit thoroughly. When we arrived we were a little unsure because we had to walk down a little corridor between some buildings but once we got inside we were greated with tea and cookies. It was an excellent greeting and we really appreciated it.

Our room was on the second floor and because of the way the place is constructed we could hear what was going on in the dining room below in the mornings. And in the afternoon it was difficult to have a relaxing nap. The room itself was very comfortable and we'll decorated.

The location is quite good too. This place is a good option for travellers

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jonan 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.