We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad in a great location with a very welcoming staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Riad Jonan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #77 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great riad in a great location with a very welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent five days in riad Jonan. We were welcomed with tea and pastries by the amiable Abdul who later prepared us a tasty dinner as it was late and we were too tired to go out. Hassan and Ann and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and attentive to our needs and helped us with organizing tours, recommendations for restaurants and attractions, and rides. The location is superb and within a short walk to all the main attractions in the medina. The room was a bit small but it has everything you need, and the bathroom is spacious. The decor is very authentic as all the wood work was done by local artists. We would definitely stay here next time we visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    86
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
326
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kangy73
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a first time visit to Morocco for my husband & I. The excellent reviews of this riad are all correct. The staff were wonderful. It truly is a magical place to return to after a hectic venture into the streets of Marrakech. We stayed in the room, Calif, which I couldn't fault, however didn't see the other rooms. If doing the Atlas Mountain excursion and walk to waterfall wear walking shoes, as this is more than a leisurely walk if you go right up to the falls!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room, Calif, which I couldn't fault, however I didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here recently. We used the reviews on trip advisor to make our choice of riad and we werent dissapointed. We had our room set up as a twin over looking the plunge pool...the quieter side of the riad as it was also an inward looking room, so no noice from the alley way outside.
It was a standard room and although small did the job with air con and a good size bathroom. When we arrived we were offered peppermint tea and sweet cakes. It was lovely and gave us a chance to settle after the journey.
The staff are fabulous, all friendly and so so helpful. Each day they gave us tips and pointers, maps etc and booked a traditional Hamam on our last day, which was certainly an experience.
Breakfast was lovely, my fav was eggs and grilled tomatoe, my friend loved the prunes in orange flower and yoghurt, orange juice was fresh too.
Roof terrace was nice to chill on after a long day and before going out in the evening...the staff brought up drinks for us whenever we wanted something.
This Riad is a perfect location for sight seeing and only 15mins from the main square and some nice places to eat.
I would recommend riad jonan as it was great value for money, it isnt top quality luxury, but it was just a lovely place to stay location wise and for the team who work there are just brilliant.
Thank you :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our first riad and we enjoyed our visit thoroughly. When we arrived we were a little unsure because we had to walk down a little corridor between some buildings but once we got inside we were greated with tea and cookies. It was an excellent greeting and we really appreciated it.

Our room was on the second floor and because of the way the place is constructed we could hear what was going on in the dining room below in the mornings. And in the afternoon it was difficult to have a relaxing nap. The room itself was very comfortable and we'll decorated.

The location is quite good too. This place is a good option for travellers

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hi

I recently stayed at the Riad Jonan for 3 nights and had a great stay. From the moment I checked in I was greeted by Hassan who made me feel very welcome. There was also another Hassan, Abdul and one more person who's name has slipped my mind.

The riad is a 1min walk from the Sadian Tombs and is about a 10-15min walk to the main square which was nice as you was not in the middle of everything.

I had a spacious room along with a spacious bathroom. The guys was helpful, re-assuring and great to talk too.

Thanks guys.
Kelly

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We chose Riad Jonan because of all the great reviews, we were not disappointed.
Situated in the Kasbah area it's a short walk to the main square.
Hassan and the staff were very helpful and really seemed to enjoy their jobs.
Breakfast was great, loved the pancakes and the fresh yogurt.
Lovely roof terrace to relax on after a hot day pounding the streets in search of bargains to take home.
Added thrill for me was spotting Robert Plant in the souks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I travelled to Marrakech over the Easter holidays and decided to stay at Riad Jonan. We chose Riad Jonan because of its reasonable prices, location (away from Djemaa El Fna square but close enough to walk there in a matter of minutes) and the rave reviews about its staff and hospitality. Upon arriving, I could tell that we had made the right choice. The riad was conveniently located within walking distance of the Saadien Tombs, in a very safe area of the medina called Kasbah. We had never stayed in a riad before and found the rooms a little stuffy (particularly for asthma sufferers), but found the space to be clean, cozy and nicely decorated in the Moroccan style.

The staff at Riad Jonan can only be described in the sincerest terms - they are genuinely accommodating, attentive and have the right approach to customer service. Abdul, the night manager greeted us when we checked in and graciously served us traditional mint tea. Without any rush, he helped us get settled in our room, drew us a map and made sure we felt comfortable navigating the medina to reach the restaurant we had chosen for dinner. As new guests, we listened carefully to his advice and felt reassured that we were in good hands. Tip: arrange your transport through the riad as they only use reputable and trustworthy companies. When I left my phone in the taxi, they were able to retrieve it without hassle. During our stay, other members of the staff were just as helpful and welcoming: Hassan, the day manager who helped arrange our day trip to Essaoiura (a must-see!!), yet another Hassan who served us an absolutely delicious cooked breakfast each morning (included in the price!!) and another gentlemen named Sayid.

In this lovely, traditional riad, you will get a truly authentic experience - expect overall comfort, clean rooms, fantastic value for money, a great breakfast, a nice roof terrace and excellent service from staff.

Thank you Riad Jonan, we had a truly memorable stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms might be more airy than bottom floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jonan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.